Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

How to display a conky configuration variable

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
jaja
Posts: 53
Joined: 2016-01-25 00:20
Has thanked: 1 time

How to display a conky configuration variable

#1 Post by jaja »

Hello and thanks for the help.
I've got conky running, showing various parameters, except for one type.
I'm unable to display a conky configuration variable; example: "update_interval".
I've set this configuration variable with:

Code: Select all

update_interval        = 1.0,         --Update every 1.0 second
I've attempted to display this configuration variable with:

Code: Select all

${update_interval}
$update_interval
The display should show: "1".
Unfortunately, the display just shows these strings, not their values.
Display shows:

Code: Select all

${update_interval}
$update_interval
I've searched the online documentation, but failed to find an answer.
What am I doing wrong?
I would appreciate any help in fixing my mistake.
Thank you.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Please post the full .conkyrc, and perhaps also a link to a screenshot of the conky to show the problem.
deadbang

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#3 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

update_interval is a configuration parameter, not a variable.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

jaja
Posts: 53
Joined: 2016-01-25 00:20
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#4 Post by jaja »

Hello Head_on_a_Stick & dilberts_left_nut.

Here is the ".conkyrc" file:

Code: Select all

conky.config = {
-- Conky Settings
background             = false,       --Fork conky to background? no
out_to_console         = false,       --Print text to stdout? no
out_to_stderr          = false,       --Print text to stderr? no
double_buffer          = true,        --Flicker-free? yes
update_interval        = 1.0,         --Update every 1.0 second(s)

-- Windows Settings
own_window             = true,        --Create own window to draw? yes
own_window_class       = 'Conky',     --Manually set the WM_CLASS name.  Defaults to "Conky".
own_window_type        = 'normal',
own_window_transparent = true,        --If ARGB visual is enabled, sets background opacity to 0%
own_window_hints       = 'undecorated,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,below',
own_window_argb_visual = true,        --Boolean, use ARGB visual? yes
own_window_argb_value  = 128,         --Valid range is 0-255, where 0 is 0% opacity, and 255 is 100% opacity.

---- Graphics Settings
alignment              = 'top_right',

-- Text Settings (uniformly spaced font where the columns of text align)
use_xft                = true,                        --Use Xft (anti-aliased font)
font                   = 'DejaVu Sans Mono: size=12', --Xft font, uniformly spaced, align text columns
};

conky.text = [[
# BEGIN PRINTING TO SCREEN
Kernel:      $kernel
CPU Arch.:   $machine

Show update_interval (FAILS)
${update_interval}
$update_interval
update_interval
]];
Unfortunately, I don't know how to post an image. So, using text, here is what the output looks like:

Code: Select all

    Kernel:     4.18.0-2-amd64
    CPU Arch.:  x86_64

    Show update_interval (FAILS)
    ${update_interval}
    ${update_interval}
    update_interval
(The 2nd to the last line above has an extra set of brackets {} which are added by conky. I missed them in my original post.)

Thank you for the help.

TonyT
Posts: 575
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#5 Post by TonyT »

update interval is not a thing that gets displayed, it is a setting for how often conky refreshes the specified items to be displayed.

jaja
Posts: 53
Joined: 2016-01-25 00:20
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#6 Post by jaja »

Hello dilberts_left_nut & TonyT.
How does one display a configuration parameter/setting?
Thanks for the help.

TonyT
Posts: 575
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#7 Post by TonyT »

jaja wrote:Hello dilberts_left_nut & TonyT.
How does one display a configuration parameter/setting?
Thanks for the help.
You don't display parameters or settings, you display the value of a variable. Read the conky manuals to learn how to use it. Don't worry about changing the parameters. You can open a terminal to start conky by using the command: conky. You can close it out by using the command: killall conky. Back and forth as you test different settings.

pa·ram·e·ter
a numerical or other measurable factor forming one of a set that defines a system or sets the conditions of its operation.

var·i·a·ble
a symbolic name associated with a value and whose associated value may be changed.

My conky:

Code: Select all

conky.config = {
    alignment = 'top_right',
    background = true,
    border_width = 0,
	default_color = 'white',
    default_outline_color = 'white',
    default_shade_color = 'white',
    draw_borders = false,
    draw_graph_borders = true,
    draw_outline = false,
    draw_shades = false,
	double_buffer = true,
    use_xft = true,
    font = 'trebuc:size=9',
    gap_x = 12,
    gap_y = 50,
	minimum_width = 250,
    net_avg_samples = 2,
    no_buffers = true,
    out_to_console = false,
    out_to_stderr = false,
    extra_newline = false,
    own_window = true,
	own_window_transparent = true,
    own_window_class = 'Conky',
    own_window_type = 'dock',
	own_window_hints = 'undecorated,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,below',
    update_interval = 1.0,
    uppercase = false,
    use_spacer = 'none',
}

conky.text = [[
${time %A}$alignr${time %EY-%m-%d}
$sysname$alignr$kernel
Uptime:$alignr$uptime

Hostname:$alignr$nodename
LAN IP:$alignr${addr wls1}
WAN IP:$alignr${execi 7200 wget -q -O - checkip.dyndns.org|sed -e 's/.*Current IP Address: //' -e 's/<.*$//'}
SSID:$alignr${wireless_essid wls1}
Quality: ${wireless_link_qual_perc wls1} ${color lightgray}${wireless_link_bar wls1}$color

GPU Temp:$alignr${execi 300 sensors radeon-pci-0100 | grep temp1 | cut -c16-21}
MB Temp:$alignr${execi 300 sensors acpitz-virtual-0 | grep temp1 | cut -c16-21}
CPU Core 0 Temp:$alignr${execi 300 sensors | grep 'Core 0' | cut -c16-21}
CPU Core 2 Temp:$alignr${execi 300 sensors | grep 'Core 2' | cut -c16-21}

CPU0 ${cpu cpu1}% ${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu1}$color
CPU1 ${cpu cpu2}% ${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu2}$color
CPU2 ${cpu cpu3}% ${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu3}$color
CPU3 ${cpu cpu4}% ${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu4}$color
RAM (used/total): $alignr$mem/$memmax

sda1: ${fs_used_perc /media/Win7}% ${color lightgray}${fs_bar /media/Win7}$color
sda2: ${fs_used_perc /media/Files}% ${color lightgray}${fs_bar /media/Files}$color
sda3: ${fs_used_perc /}% ${color lightgray}${fs_bar /}$color
]]
Image

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: How to display a conky configuration variable

#8 Post by Bulkley »

jaja, users tend to love posting their .conkyrc so they are all over the Internet. When I have a problem with Conky I search to see how others have handled. Over several years I have copied dozens of .conkyrc and tried them on my machine. When I find one I like I edit to my needs. It's a good way to learn.

Post Reply