Security in Debian.

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Security in Debian.

Postby noviceDebian » 2018-12-18 03:43

I'm a novice user of Linux. I'm presently on Fedora and I'm noticing suspicious behaviour since I started using. I haven't downloaded any suspicious software. All these symptoms seem to point to a malware infection.

I'm thinking of switching to Debian, is Debian more secure than most Linux distros like, Mint, SUSE, Fedora, Ubuntu, etc?

What precautions can I take while using Debian to protect it against malware infections?

Thanks
noviceDebian

Re: Security in Debian.

Postby Hallvor » 2018-12-18 05:42

Are you sure you are infected? What symptoms?
Lenovo Thinkpad T440S, Intel Core i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, Debian Buster (KDE)
Hallvor

Postby None1975 » 2018-12-18 14:13

Hello. Check this and this.
None1975

Postby noviceDebian » 2018-12-19 02:34

Hallvor wrote:Are you sure you are infected? What symptoms?

Like allusions to what I typed in my off-line documents. Similar knowledge of activities on my computer, which were not related to internet or social media.
noviceDebian

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2018-12-19 05:30

“Security” is a process that has more to do with the user than the OS, so you’ll likely find Debian pretty similar to Fedora in that regard.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
dilberts_left_nut

Postby noviceDebian » 2018-12-19 06:08

I understand what you are saying. But as I explained in my OP, I haven't installed any suspicious software, all the software I have installed, either came with the installation or through official or RPM Fusion repositories.

Either someone has hacked my Fedora, or by default it is transmitting data to someone else.

Does Debian have any built-in backdoors, etc?
noviceDebian

Postby Hallvor » 2018-12-19 08:59

If you are sure your computer is being tapped, take it offline. Then check your system for intrusion with Tripwire or similar.