Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Security in Debian.

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
noviceDebian

Security in Debian.

#1 Post by noviceDebian »

I'm a novice user of Linux. I'm presently on Fedora and I'm noticing suspicious behaviour since I started using. I haven't downloaded any suspicious software. All these symptoms seem to point to a malware infection.

I'm thinking of switching to Debian, is Debian more secure than most Linux distros like, Mint, SUSE, Fedora, Ubuntu, etc?

What precautions can I take while using Debian to protect it against malware infections?

Thanks

Hallvor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Security in Debian.

#2 Post by Hallvor »

Are you sure you are infected? What symptoms?
[HowTo] Install and configure Debian bookworm
Debian 12 | KDE Plasma | ThinkPad T440s | 4 × Intel® Core™ i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz | 12 GiB RAM | Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4400 | 1 TB SSD

None1975
df -h | participant
df -h | participant

#3 Post by None1975 »

Hello. Check this and this.
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github

noviceDebian

#4 Post by noviceDebian »

Hallvor wrote:Are you sure you are infected? What symptoms?
Like allusions to what I typed in my off-line documents. Similar knowledge of activities on my computer, which were not related to internet or social media.

dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator

#5 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

“Security” is a process that has more to do with the user than the OS, so you’ll likely find Debian pretty similar to Fedora in that regard.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

noviceDebian

#6 Post by noviceDebian »