Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Wifi Drivers Not available on Live CD

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
LechonLover

#1 Post by LechonLover »

Hi,

I am new to linux, being trying many different versions (Ubuntu, Elementary, Kali, Fedora, Mint....) and I have really loved using it and learning about them.

From the beginning I have wanted to try Debian but have struggled to find any solution on how to get Wifi connectivity to work. On the majority of all the other Linux OS i have tried, drivers are available and I can get connectivity, but on Debian Live CD, nothing shows up. I can install it, but don't know how I could find the hardware, and download the driver that would be compatible with Debian.

The version I am using is "debian-live9.9.0-amd64-gnome.iso". My system is an HP-X360 Pavillion laptop, only a couple months old. So it is a newer system, which is why I selected the amd64 version.

Thanks,
Simon

4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin

Re: Wifi Drivers Not available on Live CD

#2 Post by 4D696B65 »

post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci -nn | grep -i network

benreis61

#3 Post by benreis61 »

I took the same version and my laptop is a hp spectre x360.
While Installation he said me what he needed. I downloaded the driver stored them on usb and the installation was successfully. my wlan works super. At the and I switched to Sid. Works wonderfully.

But notice. You have to take non-free version

stevepusser

#4 Post by stevepusser »

Debian considers that a feature, not a bug.

Debian ISOs with the non-free firmware are easily found with even the worst web search engines. Be aware that Debian 9 may not work if your hardware is 2017-2019 vintage.