No internet

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: No internet

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-02-24 17:33

What does the following tell us:
Code: Select all
lsmod | grep ssb
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 04:05

I tried the Installation guide at https://wiki.debian.org/wl, then followed the Configuration instructions for Gnome at https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse. One problem with that is that my Debian install didn't include the System Tray, so I had to install that. After that, I couldn't find the applet, but a check with ip addr shows I now have 3 interfaces - but the apparent wireless (2) still doesn't ping yahoo.com and 8.8.8.8 with the ethernet cord disconnected.

ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: wlp12s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast
state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether 00:1f:3a:a1:9d:42 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.1.13/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic
noprefixroute wlp12s0
valid_lft 83239sec preferred_lft 83239sec
inet6 fe80::bd5:90ad:c065:bcd3/64 scope link noprefixroute
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast
state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether 00:1d:09:cf:f2:51 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.1.10/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic
noprefixroute eth0
valid_lft 86044sec preferred_lft 86044sec
inet6 fe80::21d:9ff:fecf:f251/64 scope link noprefixroute
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

So it looks like I now have a wireless connection that doesn't work by itself. Even commenting out B43 and b43legacy in /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf blackmails didn't help, which is probably logical since wl doesn't use them.

I remain puzzled and wireless-less. Did I miss something?

Blacklist is currently
cat /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
# wl module from Broadcom conflicts with the following modules:
#blacklist b43
#blacklist b43legacy
#blacklist b44
blacklist bcma
blacklist brcm80211
blacklist brcmsmac
blacklist ssb

I'm wondering if my wl package needs updating, but I get:
sudo apt-get --reinstall install bcmwl-kernel-source
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package bcmwl-kernel-source

Apparently I need to add a new location to my sources.list, but I have no idea what.
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 04:14

lsmod | grep ssb
ssb 90112 2 b43,b44
pcmcia 69632 1 ssb
mmc_core 176128 5 b43,sdhci,ssb,cqhci,sdhci_pci
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-02-25 05:45

Winston wrote:Apparently I need to add a new location to my sources.list, but I have no idea what.

See 'add contrib non-free after main':
https://wiki.debian.org/SourcesList#Example_sources.list

Winston wrote:lsmod | grep ssb
ssb 90112 2 b43,b44
pcmcia 69632 1 ssb
mmc_core 176128 5 b43,sdhci,ssb,cqhci,sdhci_pci

the 'ssb' module is conflicting with 'wl'

Try the following as root (the order of commands is important here):
Code: Select all
modprobe -v -r b43 b43legacy b44 ssb brcmsmac bcma
modprobe -v wl
modprobe -v b44

Let us know if this worked.
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

Re: No internet

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-02-25 15:59

Winston wrote:but the apparent wireless (2) still doesn't ping yahoo.com and 8.8.8.8 with the ethernet cord disconnected

Was the routing table updated by NetworkManager after you unplugged the cable?

Check with
Code: Select all
ip r

The "default via" line should show your router's IP address for the wireless interface.

Note that NetworkManager will refuse to control any devices listed in /etc/network/interfaces{,.d/*} so clear any references to wlp12s0 from those files.

Also, you seem to have a traditional interface name for the cable connection but a "predictable" name for the wireless device, which is weird :?

And please edit your posts to enclose all of your terminal output with code tags, it will make the thread more readable.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 16:36

root@Debian:/home/mike# /sbin/modprobe -v -r b43 b43legacy b44 ssb brcmsmac bcmarmmod b44
rmmod libphy
rmmod mii
rmmod ssb
rmmod pcmcia
rmmod pcmcia_core

root@Debian:/home/mike# /sbin/modprobe -v wl

root@Debian:/home/mike# /sbin/modprobe -v b44
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/pcmcia_core.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/pcmcia.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/net/phy/libphy.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/ssb/ssb.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.19.0-8-amd64/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/b44.ko

With ethernet cord connected
root@Debian:/home/mike# ping yahoo.com
PING yahoo.com (98.137.246.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from media-router-fp2.prod1.media.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (98.137.246.8): icmp_seq=1 ttl=48 time=73.8 ms
64 bytes from media-router-fp2.prod1.media.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (98.137.246.8): icmp_seq=3 ttl=48 time=73.10 ms
64 bytes from media-router-fp2.prod1.media.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (98.137.246.8): icmp_seq=4 ttl=48 time=72.0 ms

--- yahoo.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 3 received, 25% packet loss, time 24ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 72.024/73.261/73.982/0.932 ms

Without ethernet cord
root@Debian:/home/mike# ping yahoo.com
^Z
[1]+ Stopped ping yahoo.com

Still no wireless
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 16:43

root@Debian:/home/mike# lp z
lp: Error - unable to access "z" - No such file or directory

root@Debian:/home/mike# cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 16:55

Oops
root@Debian:/home/mike# ip z
Object "z" is unknown, try "ip help".
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-02-25 16:56

Winston wrote:
Code: Select all
root@Debian:/home/mike# ip z
Object "z" is unknown, try "ip help".

Read my post again, carefully this time.

And use code tags for terminal output or I'm out. The quote button will show you how I've edited your post to do that.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 17:26

Sorry, the old eyes ain't what they used to be.
Code: Select all
root@Debian:/home/mike# ip r
default via 192.168.1.1 dev eth0 proto dhcp metric 100
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlp12s0 proto dhcp metric 600
169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0 scope link metric 1000
192.168.1.0/24 dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.13 metric 100
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlp12s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.14 metric 600


root@Debian:/home/mike# ip r
default via 192.168.1.1 dev eth0 proto dhcp metric 100
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlp12s0 proto dhcp metric 600
169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0 scope link metric 1000
192.168.1.0/24 dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.13 metric 100
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlp12s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.14 metric 600


Not sure which you want, so used both code and quote.
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-25 17:50

I don't think interfaces is a problem. Here's the file:

Code: Select all
root@Debian:/etc/network# cat interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


Directory interfaces.d is empty.
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-02-26 10:23

are you able to ping your gateway (without ethernet)
Code: Select all
ping -c 5 192.168.1.1


what's the output of the following commands (without ethernet)
Code: Select all
ip addr
ip r
cat /proc/net/arp
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

Re: No internet

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-02-26 14:15

Winston wrote:
Code: Select all
169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0 scope link metric 1000

That looks strange but I don't use NetworkManager so I don't know what's normal for that.

I would disable NM completely and try connecting manually to narrow down the source of the problem.

Winston wrote:Not sure which you want, so used both code and quote.

Code tags are for code, quote tags are for quotes. It's confusing, I know.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: No internet

Postby Winston » 2020-02-26 17:42

chrisdb: No
With ethernet
Code: Select all
mike@Debian:~$ ping -c 5 192.168.1.1
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.627 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.509 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.457 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.416 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.410 ms

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 88ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.410/0.483/0.627/0.084 ms


Without ethernet
Code: Select all
mike@Debian:~$ ping -c 5 192.168.1.1
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 103ms


The commands without ethernet
Code: Select all
mike@Debian:~$ ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: wlp12s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1f:3a:a1:9d:42 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.13/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute wlp12s0
       valid_lft 84879sec preferred_lft 84879sec
    inet6 fe80::21f:3aff:fea1:9d42/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1d:09:cf:f2:51 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
mike@Debian:~$ ip r
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlp12s0 proto dhcp metric 600
169.254.0.0/16 dev wlp12s0 scope link metric 1000
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlp12s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.13 metric 600
mike@Debian:~$ cat /proc/net/arp
IP address       HW type     Flags       HW address            Mask     Device
192.168.1.1      0x1         0x2         9c:3d:cf:ba:88:f0     *        wlp12s0
Winston
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2020-02-22 03:08

Re: No internet

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-02-26 19:08

It could be an issue with the driver.
Something else you can try as root:
Code: Select all
apt-get purge broadcom-sta-dkms
apt install firmware-b43-installer

Now reboot and try again.

Make sure you check the blacklist (b43 should not be blacklisted).
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable