Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-03-26 15:01

bremington wrote:I have tried to disable wol

Does your motherboard firmware ("BIOS") have an option for that? I think that should be preferred over software solutions.

Otherwise add a file at /etc/pm/power.d/disable_wol to override /usr/lib/pm-utils/power.d/disable_wol. Or just remove pm-utils.

bremington wrote:Some odd quirk in the BIOS or possibly with the NIC is where my thinking is going

Yes, perhaps. See also https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wa ... nel_quirks

tl;dr: add the xhci_hcd.quirks=270336 kernel parameter.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby bremington » 2020-03-26 16:23

Deb-fan:

Thanks for your understanding of my boneheaded, OCD, nitpicking perfectionism:-) In reality, it isn't bad just shutting down and booting up again, but tell my stubborn head that.

I'm running a very recent SSD and, I have to say that I consider the performance of this old boat anchor w/ Deb10 to be practically miraculous. Running "free -h" shows very little swap usage. The responsiveness of the system tells this former SunOS/Solaris admin (OK, only a few boxes at work years ago) that I'm definitely not running into swap hell. I know all too well that draggy feeling of a system with RAM cram:-)
bremington
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2020-03-21 01:47

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby bremington » 2020-03-26 22:53

Disabled in BIOS:

WOL
PCI Wakeup
Wake 0n Alarm
PCI Modem Ring Detection
Preboot Execution Envitronment (PXE).

Wasn't XHCI introduced in USB 3.0? My USB ports are only 2.0. No references to XHCI in BIOS.

I tried the xhci_hcd.quirks boot param (which I guess makes no sense if XHCI was introduced in USB 3.0) and it made -- tada! -- no difference.

I uninstalled pm_utils and ... no difference.

And, thanks again.
bremington
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2020-03-21 01:47

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby bremington » 2020-03-29 20:46

I noticed some error messages (first messages in the boot sequence):

Code: Select all
3/29/20 3:51 PM   brian-deb10   kernel   [    0.418184] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Failure creating [\_SB.PCI0._OSC.CAPB], AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20180810/dsfield-183)
3/29/20 3:51 PM   brian-deb10   kernel   [    0.418227] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed \_SB.PCI0._OSC, AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20180810/psparse-516)
                                    [    0.423376]psparse-516 platform INT0800:00: failed to claim resource 0:[mem 0xff800000-0xffffffff]
3/29/20 3:51 PM   brian-deb10   kernel   [    0.423413] acpi INT0800:00: platform device creation failed: -16


They've been there all along on every distro, I guess I got so used to seeing them that I forgot about them, yeesh.

I've tried searching on the "\_SB.PCI0._OSC.CAPB", but haven't been able to find anything relevant. The second message is about some kind of memory conflict (I think).
bremington
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2020-03-21 01:47

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-03-30 10:25

So did you try the acpi=off kernel paramater? Or any of the other acpi= options listed in the link I provided in this post?
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby bremington » 2020-03-30 19:28

So did you try the acpi=off kernel parameter? Or any of the other acpi= options listed in the link I provided in this post?


acpi = off: won't suspend (freezes part way to suspend); weird graphics in cinnamon

acpi = noirq: immediate resume (IR)

acpi = rsdt: IR

acpi = copy_dsdt: IR

acpi_apic_instance = 2: IR

acpi_force_32bit_addr: IR

acpi_os_name = "Microsoft Windows": IR

acpi_enforce_resources = lax: IR

At least the result is pretty consistent:-)

Thanks.
bremington
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2020-03-21 01:47

Re: Immediate resume from suspend on Thinkstation

Postby bremington » 2020-03-30 20:04

acpi_sci = low: IR

acpi_skip_timer_override: IR

reboot, reboot, reboot...
bremington
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2020-03-21 01:47

Previous

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevepusser and 24 guests

fashionable