Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Broken Pkg-Config-Hook-Config File

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
CoolDude2

Broken Pkg-Config-Hook-Config File

#1 Post by CoolDude2 »

Hello, I recently ran a sudo sh -c "echo 'foreign architecture i386' > 'etc//dpkg/dpkg.cfg.d/pkg-config-hook-config" command in an attempt to install steam on a amd64 architecture platform. However due to recent studies its seems it wasn't necessary to do that because 32-bit processing is already available in 64-bit architecture. The only reason I did it originally was because all the package manager could find was steam-devices. Yes, I am a total newb. Now, I'm trying to fix the configuration file and I don't know how to do that. I'll keep looking though. All in all its a Dpkg configuration error.

dpkg: error: configuration error: /etc/dpkg/dpkg.cfg.d/pkg-config-hook-config:1: unknown option '(it now states "amd64" in random unknowing attempts) E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

Head_on_a_Stick

Re: Broken Pkg-Config-Hook-Config File

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Here are the original file contents:

Code: Select all

post-invoke=if { test "$DPKG_HOOK_ACTION" = add-architecture || test "$DPKG_HOOK_ACTION" = remove-architecture; } && test -x /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook; then /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook update; fi
If you ever do something this stupid again and are stuck without an internet connection then check /var/cache/apt/archives/ for a copy of the dpkg .deb file and use this to unpack it so you can restore any files:

ar x dpkg*.deb
tar xf data.tar.xz
deadbang

CoolDude2

#3 Post by CoolDude2 »