[solved] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

[solved] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby FOSS-15-Great » 2020-04-21 18:50

I am following the Debian Wiki trying to get a Grub2 Background image to work (Buster) but Grub2 is not showing the background image. Other settings change over fine (i.e. time out) so I am wondering if the image does not display because my root partition is LUKS encrypted (presumably it needs to be unlocked before Grub2 can load the background image)?

I am grateful for any ideas!
Last edited by FOSS-15-Great on 2020-04-22 09:13, edited 1 time in total.
FOSS-15-Great
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2020-04-18 08:11

Re: [not working] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby cuckooflew » 2020-04-21 23:10

Looking at what the wiki says only,
Code: Select all
configure/add the GRUB_BACKGROUND variable in /etc/default/grub. Ex: GRUB_BACKGROUND="/usr/share/images/grub/Lake_mapourika_NZ.tga"

This should be the path to the image, in /usr/share/images/grub/, and so I am confused by what you mean :
so I am wondering if the image does not display because my root partition

The wiki does not say to put it in a root partition, nor the root directory,.. Maybe show us your partitioning scheme, and /or also , the exact path to where you have put this. On my system I do not have a root partition, only the root directory,.. I do not use this " LUKS encrypted"
my root partition is LUKS encrypted (presumably it needs to be unlocked before Grub2 can load the background image)?

But why do you not try unlocking it and see if it works then ?
Also did you do this ?
make sure that GRUB_TERMINAL=console is commented out.The graphical mode will not be enabled if this is uncommented. By default it's commented, so you shouldn't worry too much.

What version of Debian are you using ?
Please Read What we expect you have already Done
Search Engines know a lot, and
"If God had wanted computers to work all the time, He wouldn't have invented RESET buttons"
and
Just say NO to help vampires!
cuckooflew
 
Posts: 683
Joined: 2018-05-10 19:34
Location: Some where out west

Re: [not working] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby CwF » 2020-04-22 00:05

FOSS-15-Great wrote:presumably it needs to be unlocked

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=142597&hilit=grub#p702170
CwF
 
Posts: 790
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: [not working] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby cuckooflew » 2020-04-22 01:35

Based on that thread, sounds like it should work if it is de-crypted (unlocked) . Good job CwF .
Please Read What we expect you have already Done
Search Engines know a lot, and
"If God had wanted computers to work all the time, He wouldn't have invented RESET buttons"
and
Just say NO to help vampires!
cuckooflew
 
Posts: 683
Joined: 2018-05-10 19:34
Location: Some where out west

Re: [not working] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby FOSS-15-Great » 2020-04-22 09:13

CwF wrote:
FOSS-15-Great wrote:presumably it needs to be unlocked

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=142597&hilit=grub#p702170

moved image to /boot and now displaying correctly. Marking thread as solved. - thank you!
FOSS-15-Great
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2020-04-18 08:11

Re: [solved] Grub2 configure graphical Splashimage

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-04-22 10:45

Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12650
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sunrat and 22 guests

fashionable