How do updated packages get moved to stable?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

How do updated packages get moved to stable?

Postby Annorax » 2021-01-19 13:16

Hello all,

I'm new to Debian but have been using Linux for many years. I'm giving Debian 10 stable a try and really enjoy it. However, I'm finding that "stable" does not always mean working, specifically in the case of xfce4-weather-plugin. It looks like the API and/or weather URL has changed, rendering this package completely broken. Version 0.10.0 is broken but it is fixed in 0.10.1 (which is in testing and I upgraded to and is working).

From searching around, I found the Debian bug below from nearly 2 years ago for the same issue which still has not been resolved. This seems like a very simple thing that should be moved to stable. I would rather use stable but if things are broken there (which this seems to have been broken for years), then one must use testing or sid. I'm sure there are other packages with similar issues but this is one I have encountered. I guess my question is this - why has this not been moved to stable? Is there some way end users like myself can help with this process and submit requests to the Debian team or release manager?

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=925561
Annorax

Re: How do updated packages get moved to stable?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-01-19 15:53

Have you actually read the bug report? It explains how to install a fixed version and indicates that it might be included in the buster-updates repository for a future point release.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
Head_on_a_Stick

Postby Annorax » 2021-01-19 17:08

Thank you for the reply and I'm sorry if I missed something.