Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian freeze

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
DeafFatalBruno

Debian freeze

#1 Post by DeafFatalBruno »

Hi

I have installed Debian today. (B365 - intel i3 - 4ghz, 16gb ddr4).
I have used Linux in the past, but I am not very experienced with Linux.

I do have a severe problem with Debian, as it freezes after a minute or so of use (under Gnome). It varies. If I start Firefox it freezes on starting of that.
I am just very surprised that is gets this stuck. No error, no feedback, just 100% frozen .

The GUI remains up, but nothing works suddenly. Mouse is frozen, keyboard does not work. I can't switch to console with CRTL +ATL + F2 or sim. No key command shows any response.
There is no error or anything else shown. It just freezes.
After a hard reboot, it works fine for a few min until it freezes again.

I have no clue on how to trace this issue down.
The system was running FreeNAS before without any issues.

I don't know why it freezes and what to do about it.

I have updated the bios. ( no change)
If it is a hardware issue, I suspect ram, Mobo or CPU, ..

Is there any way under debian to check what happens and trace this down.
Or am I left with swapping components out?

kind regards

Bulkley

Re: Debian freeze

#2 Post by Bulkley »

The GUI remains up, but nothing works suddenly. Mouse is frozen, keyboard does not work. I can't switch to console with CRTL +ATL + F2 or sim. No key command shows any response. There is no error or anything else shown. It just freezes.
That points to a graphical problem. Considering that you just installed I wonder if you also installed the appropriate non-free package that goes with your video card.