Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Is that normal?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
DIM992

Is that normal?

#1 Post by DIM992 »

Hello everybody. I am a Debian newb, I regulary use Ubuntu as distro for my job, but I wanted to try to switch from Ubuntu to Debian, since I prefered its concept, the ideal, and I think it is maybe more rational, so I installed Debian 10 i386 on an old PC without internet connection, as a test, but I am having some issues.

I wanted to install some basic software, so I tried to start FreeOffice that I already use with ubuntu and I am ok with.
So I downloaded the 32-bit .deb, and tried to install.

But I get

Code: Select all

dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of softmaker-freeoffice-2018:
 softmaker-freeoffice-2018 depends on libcurl4 | libcurl3; however:
  Package libcurl4 is not installed.
  Package libcurl3 is not installed.
 softmaker-freeoffice-2018 depends on libgl1-mesa-glx; however:
  Package libgl1-mesa-glx:i386 is not configured yet.

dpkg: error processing package softmaker-freeoffice-2018 (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils (0.23-4) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.62) ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 softmaker-freeoffice-2018
So I tried to install the missing packages but I have other problems of dependency like

error processing package libcurl3:i386 (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.28-10) ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libcurl3:i386
and so on with all the packages I tried to install...