Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Installing a desktop environment?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
logank9

Installing a desktop environment?

#1 Post by logank9 »

I am new to linux. After downloading and installing debian on my laptop, I was staring at a command prompt. How would I go about getting a desktop environment installed?

P.S.: I have no internet on my laptop yet.

Absent Minded

Re: Installing a desktop environment?

#2 Post by Absent Minded »

Hi and welcome to the Forum. Installing the desktop of your choice is fairly easy depending on which CD image you have downloaded. You will need one of the full CD's or DVD's to install your DE(desktop Environment) If you want Gnome then the first disk will serve your purpose. However if you would like to have KDE or LDE then you will need to download the respective disk image. In your situation the net install will not work as you need to have an internet connection to use it to it's full potential.

If you have used one of the full CD's to install then you can install that DE with one of the fallowing commands after logging in as the root user:

Code: Select all

apt-get install gnome xorg
OR
apt-get install kde xorg
OR
apt-get install lde gdm xorg

This question was better served in the Beginners Forum so I have moved it for you.
Serving the community the best way I can.
Spreading the tradition of Community Spirit.
Please read some Basic Forum Philosophy
Give a man a fish, he eats for a day. Teach him how to fish, he eats for life.
Updated Nov. 19, 2012

bugsbunny

#3 Post by bugsbunny »