Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-14 06:34

I have been trying various Linux distros for an older system. I found that Debian seems to install and function the best. So, as far as working from the command line, Fedora uses yum and rpm. What is the protocol for Debian?
Dual Booting Lenny/XP HE on an old PIII Asus Board with an Nvidia 256 meg card, .5 gigs of ram, 800mhz processor and an Hp Officejet Pro L7580 all wired to a wireless network hub,
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby milomak » 2009-12-14 06:43

debian uses deb packages and apt or aptitude. it is advised once you choose one of apt or aptitude, you stick with it.
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1981
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-14 07:57

A little more info would be helpful please. I am a newbe you know. :D
I have noticed the Debian system does not like to adjust for dependencies. If it can't figure it out, which seems too often, it just decides to just give up. What's up with that?

For instance, I'm trying to install cups and the thing just quits when it discovers dependies are needed. Do I have to install everything line by line?
Dual Booting Lenny/XP HE on an old PIII Asus Board with an Nvidia 256 meg card, .5 gigs of ram, 800mhz processor and an Hp Officejet Pro L7580 all wired to a wireless network hub,
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby 4D696B65 » 2009-12-14 08:10

To install cups
Code: Select all
aptitude install cups
It may be you sources.list has a problem. Show us the output of
Code: Select all
cat /etc/apt/sources.list
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2426
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-14 08:32

There are dependancies that will not be resolved. What packages do I need to have installed? All I have is the base Debian packages. How where do I look for extra packages and how do I get them on my system?
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby milomak » 2009-12-14 09:24

Post your /etc/apt/sources.list here as suggested above.

if it is configured correctly and you have a working internet connection then you should have no issue with install a package such as cups.
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1981
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby nadir » 2009-12-14 12:38

there has been a link once that mixing aptitude and apt-get ain`t no big deal no more.
as i can`t find it, perhaps someone may confirm that or has got the link?
(i don`t say that it is usefull to mix it, like some do, just that it ain`t written in stone)

synaptic is a graphical tool to install packages, cli is good and honorable, but to search for packages synaptic is cool. imo.
if you ain`t got it installed install it (btw: you allready have got a gui?)

as said by the others: first post your sources.list, something is wrong. usually resolving the dependencies works like a charme. automatically.
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.
User avatar
nadir
 
Posts: 5964
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby smallchange » 2009-12-14 17:45

Have you run
Code: Select all
aptitude update
to update the db of available packages? You might need -f (--fix-missing) or full-upgrade instead of upgrade. It is likely that after updating
Code: Select all
aptitude -f full-upgrade
will fix the problems. It will tell you what it is going to do. Look carefully at that to see if it wants to uninstall something you want.
smallchange
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: 2009-05-04 15:56

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-14 21:50

milomak wrote:Post your /etc/apt/sources.list here as suggested above.

if it is configured correctly and you have a working internet connection then you should have no issue with install a package such as cups.


This is my cat /etc/apt/sources.list run off. Looks pretty skinny to me. This is after I ran the "aptitude -f full-upgrade" and "aptitude install cups".

Code: Select all
eff@dadinator:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
#
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 5.0.3 _Lenny_ - Official i386 kde-CD Binary-1 20090905-09:27]/ lenny main

deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 5.0.3 _Lenny_ - Official i386 kde-CD Binary-1 20090905-09:27]/ lenny main

deb http://security.debian.org/ lenny/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ lenny/updates main

deb http://volatile.debian.org/debian-volatile lenny/volatile main
deb-src http://volatile.debian.org/debian-volatile lenny/volatile main
jeff@dadinator:~$
Dual Booting Lenny/XP HE on an old PIII Asus Board with an Nvidia 256 meg card, .5 gigs of ram, 800mhz processor and an Hp Officejet Pro L7580 all wired to a wireless network hub,
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby 4D696B65 » 2009-12-14 22:16

Add the following line to your list.
Code: Select all
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stable main contrib non-free
then
Code: Select all
aptitude update



edit You can exchange lenny for stable. Also comment out the cd line.
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2426
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-15 04:19

I have tried to get the deb package you suggested be I'm not sure what the correct protocol is. I have tried various ways, but I'm having trouble with finding clear documentation on this.
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby mdevour » 2009-12-15 06:01

Steelaworkn wrote:I have tried to get the deb package you suggested be I'm not sure what the correct protocol is. I have tried various ways, but I'm having trouble with finding clear documentation on this.

Hi Steel,

I can tell you're about as lost as I've felt at times. :lol: No problem, it'll be better soon.

To help you, we'll need a little more information than you've given us yet. Answer the questions and don't make any assumptions about what we know about your setup, okay?

Right now, what do you have? I see from your sources.list that you're trying to install Lenny, the current Debian Stable branch, with the KDE desktop.

How did the install go? Are you logging in to a graphical environment (KDE) or are you stuck at a black screen with white text on it and a command prompt? Big difference with what it's going to take to get you on track... so let us know in your next post, please.

FIRST JOB is to make sure your /etc/apt/sources.list is right. The package management system depends on it. Installing packages should be easy and dependencies dealt with invisibly and completely, and you shouldn't give up until that's what you've got.

We need to get you into an editor to change sources.list. If I knew what your environment is like I could streamline this a little, but for now I'm going with what should work no matter what. You may already know how to do most of what I'm going to talk you through, but until we know more I'm going to be very basic...

If you're in a graphical environment (KDE) you need to open a terminal window. I think it's called Konsole. I don't use KDE, so I don't know the menus or icons. Poke around in the menus until you find it. When it runs you should have a window onto a text-based command line interface. As soon as you're at the command line and see a prompt ( jeff@dadinator:~$ ) we're good.

Next we're going to elevate your priveleges to that of the root administrator. Type the following command at the prompt and type in your root password when prompted:

Code: Select all
su

You should be back at the prompt, but now the last character, the $, has changed to a #. That's to remind you you're now the root user. Also the stuff before the # will probably be different, too, something like dadinator:/home/jeff#

Now lets navigate to the right directory, make a backup copy of your current sources.list, and then open it in an editor:
Code: Select all
cd /etc/apt/

The prompt should change to reflect that you're in the /etc/apt directory now.

Next:
Code: Select all
cp sources.list sources.list.old
nano /etc/apt/sources.list

Okay, we're now in nano, a "friendly" little text-based editor. You can't use your mouse; you move the blinking block cursor around with the arrow, home, end and pgup/pgdn keys. The menu at the bottom of the page lists the commands, the ^ meaning that you hold down the Ctrl key and then the letter.

So, poke around here until your sources.list looks like the following:
Code: Select all
#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 5.0.3 _Lenny_ - Official i386 kde-CD Binary-1 20090905-09:27]/ lenny main

deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ lenny main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ lenny main contrib non-free

deb http://security.debian.org/ lenny/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ lenny/updates main

deb http://volatile.debian.org/debian-volatile lenny/volatile main
deb-src http://volatile.debian.org/debian-volatile lenny/volatile main

Notice I've made sure you only have one copy of the deb cdrom line, and that it's commented out with the # at the beginning of the line. If your installation is basically complete, there should be no need for anything more that came on the CD, and you will want to always get the most recent versions from the online repositories.

Next, I've added the two lines for the primary Lenny repositories, deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ lenny. The fact that that was missing is probably the sole source of your problem. WHY it was missing would be nice to figure out. You shouldn't have been left in that state by the installer.

Okay, once you've got everything tweaked, hit ctrl-X, then Y, <Enter> to accept the filename to save to, and you should be back at the prompt.

Now that the most important repository is in your sources.list where it's supposed to be, we need to update your local list of packages that are available. To do that, type:
Code: Select all
aptitude update

A bunch of stuff will scroll by, ending with "Reading package lists... Done." If you're doing this in Konsole, you'll be able to use the up and down arrows and pgup/pgdn keys to scroll back through the stuff that went off the top of the window. Read the output carefully. It might give you some warnings or errors, but probably not. If anything looks too scary, let us know.

Next, let's bring your system into synch with the current versions of everything:
Code: Select all
aptitude -f full-upgrade

It will do some thinking, then give you a list of everything it wants to do, and waits for you to tell it to go ahead. Read that output carefully, in case it wants to do strange things like uninstall huge swaths of your system. Old things being replaced by new, a few not needed any more, no problem. The messages can be cryptic but should be understandable.

If it looks good, tell it to go ahead. When it's done, you should be good to go, finally! Now you can get back to trying to install cups. :D

Type exit to leave superuser mode, then exit again to close the terminal window.

Assuming you're in a working KDE environment, you should get familiar with Kpackage, if you aren't already. That's the graphical interface to the package management system. You can continue to use the console and aptitude, if you're more comfortable with that. Me, I'm a pointy-clicky guy by preference. :P

If things don't go as expected, stop and let us know exactly what's happening. Don't forget to give us a clear picture of the situation, including the environment you're operating in, etc.

You shouldn't have run into a problem like this. Package management is one of Debian's best features and normally works fabulously. But, all is not lost. Having to deal with this gives you a chance to get comfortable with fixing things. If you're like me and can't leave stuff alone, that's a pretty valuable ability.

Good luck, Jeff.

Mike D.
mdevour
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 2006-03-05 17:55

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby milomak » 2009-12-15 15:21

That's service with a smile from Mike.
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1981
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-15 17:24

I'll give it a try and get back to you. Right now I have Debian on Virtual Box. My VB specs are:
256mb of ram
64mb of Video (can expand that if needed)
8 gs of Dynamicall expanded hd space

Everything installed right away, but it is reacting the same way physical machine is.

My physical machine is as follows
Asus PIII (don't remember what the board is)
Around 500 mgs of ram
256 Nvidia Geoforce 6500 (I think that's it, pretty close anyway)
800mhz PIII processor
Dual booting to Windows XP Home addition

Windows is on a 20g hd
Debian is on the 40g hd.
These are physical drives

I have a network printer Hp Officjet Pro L7580.

Both Debian 5 systems are using the KDE desktop environment. Both are having the same issues as far as packaging.

Long story short, I'll run the stuff you suggest and see where that leads me.
Dual Booting Lenny/XP HE on an old PIII Asus Board with an Nvidia 256 meg card, .5 gigs of ram, 800mhz processor and an Hp Officejet Pro L7580 all wired to a wireless network hub,
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Re: Newbe mostly familiar with Fedora

Postby Steelaworkn » 2009-12-15 17:50

Thanks Mike. I've finish running it. I some duplicates. I pretty much trashed the whole file, copied and pasted your script, saved, did the update and upgrade and installed cups. Everything ran really smooth and now I'm going over to set up the printer. After your overhall script, Debian handled all the dependencies with out so much as a flinch. Samba even set up.

I'll probably reboot before I do anything else. I'll let you know if the printer sets up smooth.

By the way, is that the best bethod to tell the system what packages to pull from?

Update: I set up the Asus and everything works. I set up hplip from Debian repos. It works.
Last edited by Steelaworkn on 2009-12-16 00:14, edited 1 time in total.
Steelaworkn
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2009-12-12 20:05
Location: Camano Island WA

Next

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable