Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

How to auto backup specific files to specific flash dr?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
loganmac

How to auto backup specific files to specific flash dr?

#1 Post by loganmac »

Okay, I'm a bit of a noob, so forgive me but I don't know what I'm doing here. I blundered and lost some data, and so now I'm looking at an easy way to back up the important stuff.

I have a bunch of pictures and music files on my system, but those don't require as frequent backups. I have a 2GB flash drive that has plenty of room to hold everything. Here is what I'd like to do, if it is possible:

1. Any user plugs in a specific 2GB flash.thumb drive. (I don't want any flash drive initiating this event, just the specific one.)
2. The device is mounted
3. The device gets a copy of everything in the /home directory that is not a picture or music file, overwriting any previous backup
4. The device us unmounted
5. A message showing the backup is complete pops onto the screen.

Is there a way to do this, or something similar? If I could do this, I could plug in the flash every day to make sure the important stuff was backed up, doing a more extensive backup periodically.

fsmithred

Re: How to auto backup specific files to specific flash dr?

#2 Post by fsmithred »

On item #3, is there some reason why it has to overwrite, or would you be happy with just writing the changes? You can do incremental and highly selective backups with rsync. There are gui frontends that you could use, like lucky backup or another whose name I can't remember. (I think there were several named in a recent thread about backups.)