Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

VMware Fusion NAT-DNS Issue

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
michaelkav

VMware Fusion NAT-DNS Issue

#1 Post by michaelkav »

Hi,

I am a student.

New to Debian trying to get it running on my MacBook Pro as I am doing a course using Debian (Unix Administration) at school starting on thursday as part of my degree.

I installed Debian, as in the Debian manual, into VMware Fusion 3.0.1 on Mac OSX 10.6.2. Then as directed, VMware manual this time, installed the Linux Tools. All the VMware Fusion tools work but the network.

When using NAT I cannot get any DNS resolution...I tried to ping IP's and that works fine as expected (putting an IP into the browser loads the page)...but domain names will not resolve...VMware fusion works fine on windows...and I had it working on openSUSE also. So kinda confused at this point what is wrong.

I suppose I could force Debian to use another DNS or try a reinstall of Debian...I have reinstalled the Linux Tools twice now as directed in manual for uninstalll/install.

I am sure it is something stupid it always is. ;)

Can anyone help with a fix before thursday? :p

Michael

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:b0:e7:71  
          inet addr:192.168.58.143  Bcast:192.168.58.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feb0:e771/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:275 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:612 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:64473 (62.9 KiB)  TX bytes:83483 (81.5 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback