Dual Monitor Help.

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Dual Monitor Help.

Postby medicineman » 2010-04-03 06:33

So I'm using Lenny, trying to get dual monitors set up. I'm not sure on the correct steps, but have done some googlin' and wasn't finding what i was looking for. (could be that i just missed it)

lspci:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series]
01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300 Pro] (Secondary)

If someone would be kind enough to help me set this up, I would greatly appreciate it. Let me know if you need the output from any other commands.

Thx,
MedicineMan
medicineman
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-03-15 07:11

Re: Dual Monitor Help.

Postby edbarx » 2010-04-03 07:48

I don't have two monitors myself, but I read that you have to modify the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf. You have to specify that you are using two video adaptors in that file.

This link may help you.

Code: Select all
Section "Device"
  Identifier "ATI Technologies, Inc. Radeon 9200 SE (RV280)"
  Driver "radeon"
  BusID  "PCI:1:0:0"
  Option "RenderAccel" "True"
  Option "SubPixelOrder" "None"
  Option "ColorTiling" "False"
  Option "MergedFB" "True"
  Option "MetaModes" "1024x768-1024x768 1024x768-1024x768"
  Option "MergedDPI" "100 100"
  Option "CRT2Position" "Below"
EndSection


According to my logic, you have to change BusID to match yours and any other relevant item.

I hope that link helps you.

My google search criteria were: xorg.conf "multiple monitors" +debian -ubuntu
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5397
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: Dual Monitor Help.

Postby sjukfan » 2010-04-03 23:41

Personally I think it's easier to get dual monitors to work with xrandr.(Howtos here and here). I used to run 19"+15" with a quite basic xorg.conf (just remember to add virtual to the Screen section)
Code: Select all
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen"
   Device     "Card0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Virtual   2304 1024
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

And then I ran this when I started X
Code: Select all
xrandr --output DVI-1 --off
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_75.00"  138.75  1280 1368 1504 1728  1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode DVI-0 1280x1024_75.00 
xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1280x1024_75.00 --output DVI-1 --mode 1024x768 --pos 1280x0
Buster amd64, Core 2 Quad Q9550
Buster amd64, Intel Xeon E3-1240 v3
Sid ppc, PowerPC 7447a
Sid ppc64, PowerPC 970FX
User avatar
sjukfan
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 2010-03-01 19:39


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

fashionable