Unable to change login screen for gdm3

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby Jekktis » 2011-11-04 17:01

So I can't seem to figure out how to apply gdm login themes from Gnome-look.org. I saw a video that pointed towards going to System > Administration > login screen, and changing it there, but when I go there I don't get a login configuration screen I get this
http://s5.postimage.org/efh02j6t3/Screenshot.png
It may be a mix up between gdm and gdm3. Are gdm themes compatable with gdm3? or will I have to get gdm3 exclusive themes?
Jekktis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2011-10-28 03:57

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby vbrummond » 2011-11-04 18:38

GDM3 is no longer able to use GDM skins. It is possible to change the widgets and background of it though. You can google how as I am only aware of a kind of hacky way to do so. If you are using Debian 6 (Current Stable) just install gdm and remove gdm3. Note though that Debian 7 likely will not have GDM2.
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby Jekktis » 2011-11-04 18:43

it says it'll remove Gnome-Desktop-Environment, isn't that important though?
Jekktis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2011-10-28 03:57

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby vbrummond » 2011-11-04 20:36

It is just a meta-package (an empty package that depends on a group of packages). It itself (gnome or gnome-desktop-environment) is safe to remove. Just ensure it actually does not remove any of Gnome such as gnome-panel, rhythmbox, etc. You can mark packages as not automatically installed in synaptic if it complains about wanting to auto-remove stuff you want to keep. :)
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2011-11-04 20:42

Jekktis wrote:it says it'll remove Gnome-Desktop-Environment, isn't that important though?


+5 points for reading the ouput before saying "OK" :D
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 5077
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby Jekktis » 2011-11-06 01:53

dilberts_left_nut wrote:
Jekktis wrote:it says it'll remove Gnome-Desktop-Environment, isn't that important though?


+5 points for reading the ouput before saying "OK" :D

lol what do most people just press OK without reading anything? (other than ToS of course)
Jekktis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2011-10-28 03:57

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2011-11-06 04:15

Unfortunately, yes.
Then they proceed to start threads pissing and moaning about how apt just removed half their system without warning ... :lol:
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 5077
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby sej7278 » 2011-11-09 23:59

has anyone else notice that since the gnome3 upgrade, the gdm3 login screen no longer shows your username, it just shows "Other..." and then you must enter your username/password.

whilst i actually prefer not to leak my username, it still seems an odd way to do it - could we not have a login button like we used to way back when (ubuntu 9.10 i remember did this) and then a prompt for user/pwd?
sej7278
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby mzilikazi » 2011-11-10 22:05

Using actual GDM themes? I dunno...but..
Change the GTK theme in /etc/gdm3/greeter.gsettings
As for the GDM3 background, it is /usr/share/images/desktop-base/login-background.svg
I'm not sure what proper way to change it is but this works:
mv the original login-background.svg out of the way and simply copy or link to whatever image you really wish to use - be sure to name your preferred image login-background.svg.
Maybe that's the hack mentioned alluded to by vbrummond?
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby vbrummond » 2011-11-10 22:07

Actually mine is to run gnome-appearence-properties as the "gdm" user, and you can change the fonts, theme and background from there, but it has side effects like having accesibility appear in your gnome panel annoyingly.

Your way is safer.
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby mzilikazi » 2011-11-10 22:08

sej7278 wrote:has anyone else notice that since the gnome3 upgrade, the gdm3 login screen no longer shows your username, it just shows "Other..." and then you must enter your username/password.

That's not the case here but I think it was for a time.
Code: Select all
 apt-cache policy gdm3
gdm3:
  Installed: 3.0.4-4
  Candidate: 3.0.4-4
  Version table:
 *** 3.0.4-4 0
        500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages


I've been tracking everything from experimental as well.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby sej7278 » 2011-11-10 23:10

looks like same as my setup:

Code: Select all
apt-cache policy gdm3
gdm3:
  Installed: 3.0.4-4
  Candidate: 3.0.4-4
  Version table:
 *** 3.0.4-4 0
        500 http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ wheezy/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
sej7278
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby vbrummond » 2011-11-10 23:25

I am also using 3.0.4-4 from Testing and it works normally. It shows my users and I simply click to select them.
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby sej7278 » 2011-11-10 23:27

vbrummond wrote:I am also using 3.0.4-4 from Testing and it works normally. It shows my users and I simply click to select them.


well that's odd. maybe its because i only have one user. do you have more than one? maybe its an off-by-one error.

is there any difference between testing/main and wheezy/main in my sources.list - i thought wheezy was testing until it goes stable?
sej7278
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Unable to change login screen for gdm3

Postby vbrummond » 2011-11-10 23:31

I think at the moment Wheezy and Testing are the same thing. The package is the same version obviously. It works with only one user on my laptop.

Perhaps temporarily purge and reinstall it?
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Next

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests

fashionable