Crunchbang user welcome?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Crunchbang user welcome?

Postby sgamao » 2012-06-16 12:07

Hallo everyone here, i'm a the newest, until this moment at least.
I'd like to know if any Crunchbang user is also welcome here. I hope so considering that the distro it's totally based upon Debian (and proudly).
I'm not an expert at all, and that's why it was much easier for me to install Crunchbang on my machine.

Well, regards and speak to you soon.
sgamao

Re: Crunchbang user welcome?

Postby craigevil » 2012-06-16 12:26

Crunchbang is that way >>>>>>> CrunchBang Linux Forums : http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/

Based on Debian is not the same as Debian.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil

Postby saulgoode » 2012-06-16 14:09

If you have an interest in the Debian project then you are welcome.
Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it. -- Brian Kernighan
saulgoode

Postby hhh » 2012-06-16 14:27

Crunchbang has it's own forums and the #! forums in general have more helpful answers given out by more helpful, friendlier, more patient, more mature members, with this forum's vbrummond being a notable exception.

Crunchbang is either just Debian stable (Statler) or Debian testing (Waldorf) preconfigured, via the Debian Live Project, with Openbox, tint2 and some packages from the non-free repositories and deb-multimedia.org like wireless drivers, flash and libdvdcss2. The only non-Debian packages added to it for ease of use or prettiness that I can think of are xcompmgr-dana and cairo-compmgr in statler, compton in waldorf, and volume-icon and the cb-welcome script in both.