Wifi not working for some reason :/

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-13 05:36

Hey guys, I recently compiled a new kernel (3.8.2), previously I was using 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 (installed w/aptitude). Now both of the times I installed the images this would come up

Code: Select all
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168g-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8411-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8402-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-2.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-1.fw for module r8169
ldconfig: /lib/libuuid.so.1 is not a symbolic link


^ I doubt that is my issue

Now, my machine is Debian squeeze, and the out of the box kernel 2.6.x did not support wifi out of the box, only bluetooth, however the 3.2 enabled wifi, and disabled bluetooth, when using 3.8.x wifi is once again 'disabled' and bluetooth is back. I'd like to know if there's a way I can enabled wifi again (atheros card), or if I have to go back to 3.2.

Code: Select all
happy@campa:~$ lspci -v

blah blah

01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 09)
   Subsystem: Samsung Electronics Co Ltd Device c0d8
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 41
   I/O ports at 2000 [size=256]
   Memory at c0104000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Memory at c0100000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: r8169

02:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. Device 0032 (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Samsung Electronics Co Ltd Device 4105
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 3
   Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
   Expansion ROM at c0080000 [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>


If anyone could help me out/perhaps point me to the driver downloads for my card that would be awesome and greatly appreciated, thanks!
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby kedaha » 2013-03-13 09:59

Hi, looks like the same issue as in viewtopic.php?f=5&t=85431; however, that topic was not properly "solved" because Meguli simply resorted to installing the driver directly from testing which is inadvisable for the reasons detailed there.
I think the proper way to install the driver is to backport it from sid following the procedure described in SimpleBackportCreation, so you might like to try it. These are the basic steps, but check please consult the previous link for further details:
Code: Select all
$ su -c "apt-get install devscripts build-essential"

Now, as normal user:
Code: Select all
$ dget -u http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/r/r8168/r8168_8.035.00-1.dsc
$ cd r8168-8.035.00
$ dpkg-buildpackage -us -uc

Now install the deb from home directory with:
Code: Select all
$ su -c "dpkg -i r8168-dkms_8.035.00-1_all.deb"
Mate DE & OSSv4.
FreedomBox in Debian
ispmail
Debian Stable

Words, as is well known, are the great foes of reality. Joseph Conrad.
Kedaha's Conjecture
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-13 10:14

Thanks, I don't think this will help my wifi situation, but I guess we will find out!

However, here's the output..

Code: Select all
su -c "dpkg -i r8168-dkms_8.035.00-1_all.deb"
Selecting previously deselected package r8168-dkms.
(Reading database ... 221699 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking r8168-dkms (from r8168-dkms_8.035.00-1_all.deb) ...
Setting up r8168-dkms (8.035.00-1) ...
Loading new r8168-8.035.00 DKMS files...
First Installation: checking all kernels...
Building for 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 and 3.8.2-iced
Building initial module for 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64
Done.

r8168.ko:
Running module version sanity check.
 - Original module
   - No original module exists within this kernel
 - Installation
   - Installing to /lib/modules/3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64/updates/dkms/

depmod........

Updating initrd
Making new initrd as /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64
(If next boot fails, revert to the .bak initrd image)
update-initramfs....

DKMS: install Completed.
Module build for the currently running kernel was skipped since the
kernel source for this kernel does not seem to be installed.
Processing triggers for initramfs-tools ...
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-3.8.2-iced
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168g-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8411-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8402-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-2.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-1.fw for module r8169
ldconfig: /lib/libuuid.so.1 is not a symbolic link
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby cynwulf » 2013-03-13 13:31

The 3.2 kernel should get the Atheros wifi working - no idea about the bluetooth. The 2.6.x kernel is too old.

Kedaha's advice refers to the wired interface. If you do have access to wired connection, getting that working force would be advisable.
cynwulf
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: 2008-09-25 08:49

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby kedaha » 2013-03-13 16:30

For the wireless interface maybe you need to install firmware-atheros available from the backports non-free repository.
To enable backports, please see: Debian Backports
Mate DE & OSSv4.
FreedomBox in Debian
ispmail
Debian Stable

Words, as is well known, are the great foes of reality. Joseph Conrad.
Kedaha's Conjecture
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby sgcb » 2013-03-13 16:52

happycampa wrote:
Code: Select all
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168g-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8411-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8402-1.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-2.fw for module r8169
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168f-1.fw for module r8169
ldconfig: /lib/libuuid.so.1 is not a symbolic link


^ I doubt that is my issue
To silence the warnings, install firmware-realtek. Though you are right: it won't affect the atheros.

happycampa wrote:I'd like to know if there's a way I can enabled wifi again (atheros card), or if I have to go back to 3.2.
It looks like the latter. No firmware is required by the ath9k module but according to the debian wiki the AR9485 is not supported in squeeze (kernel 2.6.32)
sgcb
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2013-01-02 02:14

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-13 17:13

My issue is not 2.6, it's my 3.8 kernel, I want to know if I can make the wifi work w/3.8 or if I have to go back to 3.2. Also, firmware realtek is installed, still drops me those warning (I don't care much about those).
Last edited by happycampa on 2013-03-13 17:19, edited 1 time in total.
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-13 17:17

kedaha wrote:For the wireless interface maybe you need to install firmware-atheros available from the backports non-free repository.
To enable backports, please see: Debian Backports


I already had backports enabled last time I checked, and firmware-atheros is indeed (already installed). 0.28+squeeze1
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby sgcb » 2013-03-13 17:33

happycampa wrote:My issue is not 2.6, it's my 3.8 kernel, I want to know if I can make the wifi work w/3.8 or if I have to go back to 3.2.
Yes, that should be possible. It should only be a matter of enabling the requisite kernel modules at compile time. (ath9k)
No firmware required by ath9k:
Code: Select all
# modinfo -F firmware ath9k | wc -l
0


Also, firmware realtek is installed, still drops me those warning (I don't care much about those).
This might be due to firmware caching within the generated debian packages. Recompiling/generating the packages again will probably resolve this... Though I haven't rolled my own kernel in a while
Last edited by sgcb on 2013-03-13 18:34, edited 1 time in total.
sgcb
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2013-01-02 02:14

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby kedaha » 2013-03-13 17:35

I think you may get it working with network-manager as in viewtopic.php?f=10&t=96807.
Mate DE & OSSv4.
FreedomBox in Debian
ispmail
Debian Stable

Words, as is well known, are the great foes of reality. Joseph Conrad.
Kedaha's Conjecture
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-14 00:23

sgcb wrote:
happycampa wrote:My issue is not 2.6, it's my 3.8 kernel, I want to know if I can make the wifi work w/3.8 or if I have to go back to 3.2.
Yes, that should be possible. It should only be a matter of enabling the requisite kernel modules at compile time. (ath9k)
No firmware required by ath9k:
Code: Select all
# modinfo -F firmware ath9k | wc -l
0


Also, firmware realtek is installed, still drops me those warning (I don't care much about those).
This might be due to firmware caching within the generated debian packages. Recompiling/generating the packages again will probably resolve this... Though I haven't rolled my own kernel in a while


Well...ERROR: modinfo: could not find module ath9k
0

I tried the network manager things suggested, still no dice, it still just has "no network devices blah avaliable". Why is it then that wifi works just fine on my 3.2 kernel?
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby sgcb » 2013-03-14 01:19

happycampa wrote:Well...ERROR: modinfo: could not find module ath9k
0
meaning not even modinfo can find the ath9k module... You need to be sure it is being built with your kernel (Device Drivers -> Network device support -> Wireless LAN -> Atheros Wireless Cards)
sgcb
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2013-01-02 02:14

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby stevepusser » 2013-03-14 01:50

This appears to be the crux of the problem:

I already had backports enabled last time I checked, and firmware-atheros is indeed (already installed). 0.28+squeeze1


That's the old squeeze version for the 2.6.32 kernel. Try installing the 0.36 squeeze-backports updated version:

http://packages.debian.org/squeeze-back ... re-atheros

To clear up some confusion: many atheros devices do need non-free firmware. The driver is built along with the kernel if configured to do so, but still needs the correct firmware. And it's OK to install upstream firmware packages, since they just put binary blobs into /lib/firmware.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Calibre 3.48.0, QMPlay2 19.09.03, wine-staging 4.16, Telegram-desktop 1.8.8, Pale Moon 28.7.1, Waterfox 56.2.14
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11097
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby sgcb » 2013-03-14 02:39

stevepusser wrote:many atheros devices do need non-free firmware.
Right but AFAICT not in this case. Reasoning:
  • it's been mentioned that wifi works with kernel 3.2
  • interface is AR9485 which is supported by ath9k which requires no firmware regardless of supported hardware (modinfo command above)
  • firmware-atheros package description mentions the contained firmware is for hardware driven by ar9170, ath3k, or ath9k_htc modules (ath9k_htc != ath9k)

You may install it if it makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside. I'm fairly certain though that it will not help
Last edited by sgcb on 2013-03-14 11:01, edited 2 times in total.
sgcb
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2013-01-02 02:14

Re: Wifi not working for some reason :/

Postby happycampa » 2013-03-14 07:35

sgcb wrote:
stevepusser wrote:many atheros devices do need non-free firmware.
Right but AFAICT not in this case. Reasoning:
  • it's been mentioned that wifi works with kernel 3.2
  • interface is AR9485 which is supported by ath9k which requires no firmware regardless of supported hardware (modinfo command above)
  • firmware-atheros package description mentions the contained firmware is for hardware driven by ar9170, ath3k, or ath9k_htc modules (ath9k_htc != ath9k)



Well, when I go to http://packages.debian.org/squeeze-back ... s/download

"Download Page for firmware-atheros_0.36+wheezy.1~bpo60+1_all.deb"

I assume that is the one you speak of?

I added deb http://ftp.at.debian.org/debian-backports/ squeeze-backports main non-free, apt-get update, yadayada, however the update backport package isn't showing up..
happycampa
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2013-03-13 05:27

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable