Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

disabled suspend targets = high cpu usage

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
k9us

disabled suspend targets = high cpu usage

#1 Post by k9us »

Hello, Debian noob here. I installed Debian 8.5 on an old Pentium 3 laptop a couple of days ago. Used the netinstall iso and selected only the OpenSSH server in tasksel during install, i.e. no desktop environment, no "standard system utilities", etc. The laptop is up-to-date acording to apt-get. I've only installed two more items: UFW and a Teamspeak 3 server (the latter of which is the actual purpose for this laptop "server"). The Teamspeak server is automatically started at boot via an init.d script.

I'm having trouble with the proper configuration of the automatic suspend options. I want the laptop to be up and running 24/7 since it is basically a "server". With the default configurations, the laptop suspends a couple of minutes after boot, so naturally I ran the following, as per the documentation at https://wiki.debian.org/Suspend:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl mask sleep.target suspend.target hibernate.target hybrid-sleep.target
This keeps the laptop from suspending allright, but it has the side effect of increasing CPU usage to somewhere between 70% and 100% at all times. The offending processes are systemd, dbus-daemon, systemd-journal, and systemd-logind.

I've checked journalctl -f. Every 30 seconds it spews out hundreds of these:

systemd-logind[520]: Suspending...
systemd-logind[520]: Failed to execute operation: Unit suspend.target is masked.
I've tried to circumvent this by playing around with the various options in /etc/systemd/logind.conf. Currently the following options are set: