Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

SSL cert installation troubleshooting

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
roman

SSL cert installation troubleshooting

#1 Post by roman »

Hi there,

I am new to debian, new to the forum so please bear with me :) I did not give a more specific topic since I am unsure of where the problem actually lies :(
I am working for a non profit organization that had at one point commissioned a web development agency to setup a counselling platform. They set "us" (I wasn't working here yet) up with a root server and started programming. Alas they defaulted and now I was stuck with a half finished platform and a root server I did not have access to until earlier this week when I was enabled by my boss to talk to our IaaS provider regarding a rescue that brought me ssh access, yay. Why bother accessing the server I hear you asking ... well, that's because they didn't install a ssl cert and we can't very well have that given nature and (intended) design of the platform. So even though I have super user access to the CMS and could potentially finish the platform, I had to do something about the ssl. So i created a .key like so https://search.thawte.com/support/ssl-d ... &id=SO2614 . Then i ordered a ssl cert at our IaaS provider got word back from them and here we are :)

Since the IaaS' page I had access to did not even tell me the exact version of Debian I did a

Code: Select all

# uname -a
Linux Debian-85-jessie-64-minimal 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt25-2 (2016-04-08) x86_64 GNU/Linux