[SOLVED]Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[SOLVED]Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby ticojohn » 2017-03-13 16:24

I am currently running Jessie 8.7 with kernel 3.16 on an older processor (Core 2 Duo). If I were to install linux-image-686-pae (4.9+79~bpo8+1) from the jessie-backports, would I then be able to run on a motherboard with a Skylake processor or is a full upgrade to amd64 required?
Last edited by ticojohn on 2017-03-17 13:50, edited 1 time in total.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby prppedro » 2017-03-13 16:35

Don't get it... Is t here any Core 2 Duo processor lacking 64-bit instruction set?
http://tumblr.tadeu.org (Here for English only texts)

In my experience, there's no such thing as Year of Linux...
User avatar
prppedro
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017-03-13 16:09
Location: São Paulo/SP

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby ticojohn » 2017-03-13 17:07

prppedro wrote:Don't get it... Is t here any Core 2 Duo processor lacking 64-bit instruction set?

Everything is fine on my current Core 2 Duo system. Thinking about getting a new motherboard with a Skylake processor which requires kernel 4.5 or newer. So, can I just install the kernel 4.9 linux image metapackage on my existing PAE 686 installation and then be able to run on a new motherboard with Skylake, or do I need to do a full install of amd64?
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby ticojohn » 2017-03-13 17:39

Looks like it might be a bit more complex than just installing the kernel. Apparently I would need to also update all the installed packages from backports as well. Looks like it would be a better solution, as usual, to just install amd64.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby stevepusser » 2017-03-13 19:46

Currently all 64-bit amd64-type processors also support 32-bit. So you have a choice--running 64-bit applications can consume more RAM, up to 30% more, but certain processes are noticeably faster, such as video transcoding. Many containerized programs, such as Appimages, can be only available in 64-bit.

If you're also using the Skylake graphics, you should do the same set of upgrades from backports regardless of whether you have 32 or 64-bit. Upgrading only the kernel won't get the graphics working correctly on either architecture.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-6, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8694
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby Segfault » 2017-03-13 21:00

Ladies and Germs, it is 2017 and computers have more than 1 GB of RAM. It is time to forget 32 bit. What use is this 30% memory saving if the memory really cannot be used?
https://cl4ssic4l.wordpress.com/2011/05 ... about-pae/
Segfault
 
Posts: 467
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby prppedro » 2017-03-13 21:01

It's pretty much what Steve said. We all know, the system software won't break after being transfered to another hardware. But I can't remember any reliable way of "changing architecture". There are several libs and bins specifically compiled for one or another plataform. Putting an 64-bit kernel on top of 32-bit system might break things. So it's a wise move to reinstall the system. In the end, there will be less headache than fighting against a broken system.
http://tumblr.tadeu.org (Here for English only texts)

In my experience, there's no such thing as Year of Linux...
User avatar
prppedro
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017-03-13 16:09
Location: São Paulo/SP

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby ticojohn » 2017-03-16 21:18

stevepusser wrote:Currently all 64-bit amd64-type processors also support 32-bit.


So, I am looking at buying a Gigabyte GA-H81M-H motherboard and installing an Intel i5-4460 processor. If I read correctly what you said then I should be able to boot my current Jessie (8.7) with kernel 3.16.0-4-pae-686 (on an SSD). As this is a Haswell, and not Skylake, processor then I should not have to install any firmware or graphics drivers. Am I correct in that assumption?

As a backup plan, I have Jessie amd64 installed on a HDD drive. It is, however still kernel 3.16. And I have not yet installed all of the things I need (such as NUT and print drivers). Also, the HDD drive is REALLY slow compared to my SSD. So it would be really nice if I could just boot the SSD.

Eventually I intend to get everything upgraded to amd64.

Thanks for the feedback.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby stevepusser » 2017-03-17 00:50

I'm pretty sure it will just work. My old laptop, which used an AMD A4 CPU, fried its motherboard, but I was able to salvage its spinning hard drive and put it in the empty second hard drive bay in my new Skylake laptop. I booted from a live USB in order to remove the AMD fglrx-specific configuration file in etc/X11/xorg.conf.d, and then the new laptop just booted and ran from the old installation without any problems. However, I already was using a recent kernel and backported drivers in the old laptop before it died, so the system was "Skylake-ready". Your use of an older CPU means that your graphics probably won't have issues with the stock Jessie kernel. I was running 64-bit vs. your 32-bit, but that shouldn't make any difference.

I then did a new root system install onto the SSD that came with the laptop, and reused my old home folder on the spinning drive.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-6, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8694
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Jessie 686 on Skylake processor

Postby ticojohn » 2017-03-17 13:49

stevepusser wrote:I'm pretty sure it will just work.

Ok. Thanks for that feedback. Going to give it a whirl.

UPDATE: Just checked on pricing and availability of the parts, ship to or buy here in Costa Rica, and it is a bit pricey (like around US $500).
If I were in the US I could get it all for about $350. But what the heck. It's only money and I can't take it with me, :lol:
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable