[SOLVED] Passwords messed up

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[SOLVED] Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 22:02

For some reason, the Synaptic Package Manager is no longer accepting my root password but instead will accept only my user password. What the heck? Where do I look and what do I look for to see what may have happened? To my knowledge I did nothing to cause the problem.

UPDATE: Just to be clear, if I want to open a terminal as root, or use su, the original root password still works.
Last edited by ticojohn on 2017-05-02 20:21, edited 1 time in total.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby Bulkley » 2017-05-01 22:08

Does it work? Does a CLI command such as apt-get update work?
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5097
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 22:15

Bulkley wrote:Does it work? Does a CLI command such as apt-get update work?

Yes. From a root terminal, opened with root password, I can do apt-get update

I just read a post on the Ubuntu forum that may be related. Maybe has something to do with the gconf. They suggest opening gconf-editor but I don't know exactly how to do that and am a bit hesitant as it is not a Debian post.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby Bulkley » 2017-05-01 22:21

I'd be tempted to re-install Synaptic. That might entail doing a complete purge, including any Synaptic configuration scripts. I would suggest looking in the ~/. hidden files but Synaptic doesn't have one that I can find. If you have one, rename it and try again.

Which Debian are you using?

Do you have any sort of sudo set up?
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5097
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 22:29

Bulkley wrote:I'd be tempted to re-install Synaptic. That might entail doing a complete purge, including any Synaptic configuration scripts. I would suggest looking in the ~/. hidden files but Synaptic doesn't have one that I can find. If you have one, rename it and try again.

Which Debian are you using?

Do you have any sort of sudo set up?

I am running Jessie i386. XFCE desktop. gdm3 as the display manager
Yes, I have my user set to use sudo
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 22:46

Okay, if I do
Code: Select all
apt-get purge synaptic

will that remove configuration files, or is there something more that needs to be done? Or is it better to do
Code: Select all
apt-get remove synaptic


Would this be appropriate and do I need to do this after doing the purge / remove ?
Code: Select all
aptitude purge '~c'
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 23:47

I looked at
Code: Select all
aptitude purge '~c'

and don't think that would be the thing to do.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-02 01:44

The problem appears to be more widespread than just synaptic. I tried to open the System Log, from the System menu, and it too will not open with the root password but does open with my user password. What the HECK happened and how do I fix it? Not sure where to look. HELP!
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-05-02 01:50

postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 16:02
For some reason, the Synaptic Package Manager is no longer accepting my root password but instead will accept only my user password.


ticojohn » Yes, I have my user set to use sudo


I do not use "sudo", so I might be wrong, but doing a quick search , I see this:

from: https://linuxacademy.com/blog/linux/linux-commands-for-beginners-sudo/
Note that it is asking for your password, not the root password.


The way I interpret that, it is saying You do NOT use the "root" password, when you are using "sudo", you use your user password.

---- additional ------
As far as this goes:
Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-01 17:47
I looked at

Code: Select all
    aptitude purge '~c'



and don't think that would be the thing to do.


Well it depends if you really want to remove and purge some package,...
is there some reason you do not use the -s option as well ?
Code: Select all
man aptitude

-s, --simulate
In command-line mode, print the actions that would normally be
performed, but don't actually perform them. This does not require
root privileges. In the visual interface, always open the cache in
read-only mode regardless of whether you are root.

This corresponds to the configuration option Aptitude::Simulate.

The -s option allows you to see what exactly will be purged, etc, But the problem is not that you need to re-install synaptic or anything, since you are using sudo, you are supposed to use the user password, ...I guess, like I said I don't use it, but that is what the search results say.
Actually the manual confirms this, I did not read the entire manual for you, since I do not use "sudo", I have no reason to do that, so you might want to try reading it yourself.
Code: Select all
man sudo

OPTIONS
sudo accepts the following command line options:

-A Normally, if sudo requires a password, it will read it from the user's
terminal. If the -A (askpass) option is specified, a (possibly graphical)
helper program is executed to read the user's password and output the password
to the standard output. If the SUDO_ASKPASS environment variable is set, it
specifies the path to the helper program. Otherwise, if /etc/sudo.conf
contains a line specifying the askpass program, that value will be used. For
example:
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2017-05-02 03:07, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby Bulkley » 2017-05-02 01:52

For the moment, hold off on removing Synaptic. Your problem may be in Sudo. Somehow or other you may have given Sudo an extra permission directly or through groups. Try opening Synaptic in a terminal. Try it as a user and also as root. Post any error messages and behaviour.

I see Garry has posted and he is right so try his suggestion first.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5097
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby eor2004 » 2017-05-02 02:07

Like the other users have said, and the way I see it too, is that your system is setup to use "sudo" password, your "user" password as root, I think you should remove yourself from "sudo" by doing an "deluser yourusername sudo" and then try again to open synaptic with your real "root" or "su" password, hope this helps!
Last edited by eor2004 on 2017-05-02 02:13, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Stretch x64, Cinnamon 3.2.7, Kernel Linux 4.9.0-1-amd64, Pentium Dual-Core E5300 @ 2.6Ghz, Gigabyte G41M-ES2L, Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller, 1Tb Caviar Black WD1001FALS.
User avatar
eor2004
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2013-10-01 22:49
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-02 02:13

Bulkley wrote:For the moment, hold off on removing Synaptic. Your problem may be in Sudo. Somehow or other you may have given Sudo an extra permission directly or through groups. Try opening Synaptic in a terminal. Try it as a user and also as root. Post any error messages and behaviour.

I see Garry has posted and he is right so try his suggestion first.

Here is an attempt to open synaptic in a terminal as user. I presume this is what you wanted to see.
Code: Select all
john@JohnBoy:~$ synaptic
bash: synaptic: command not found

As root, I enter synaptic and it opens.

Not sure what Garry's suggestion is. I read the link but don't see what actions I might take. And seeing that other programs, as mentioned previously, are also doing the same I wonder what might be messed up. Hope not to have to reinstall Jessie but will if necessary.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-02 02:15

eor2004 wrote:Like the other users have said, and the way I see it too, is that your system is setup to use "sudo" password, your "user" password as root, I think you should remove yourself from "sudo" by doing an "deluser yourusername sudo" and then try again to open synaptic with your real "root" or "su" password, hope this helps!

Hope that doing as you suggest doesn't make root password nonfunctional.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-02 02:26

Okay. I did as suggested by eor2004 and removed myself from the sudo group. I now appear to have proper operation of Synaptic and System Logs from the System Menu .

Now that is appears to be working correctly, does anybody have ideas as to what may have caused this? I would not think that just adding myself to the sudo group would cause said behavior.

However, after deleting myself from sudo I did this
Code: Select all
root@JohnBoy:/home/john# deluser john sudo
/usr/sbin/deluser: The user `john' is not a member of group `sudo'.

and then this
Code: Select all
john@JohnBoy:~$ sudo apt-get update
Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org jessie InRelease
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org jessie-updates InRelease                         
Hit http://security.debian.org jessie/updates InRel


Somehow I am still able to use sudo . That's kind of crazy.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Passwords messed up

Postby ticojohn » 2017-05-02 02:33

All is okay. I rebooted and, as best I can tell, everything works as it should. Probably all operator error, though I really don't know what I may have done. :oops: Thanks for the help fellas. We can consider this closed.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable