SOLVED: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

SOLVED: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-07 13:12

Hello,

I have such problem on loading up a system:
http://imgur.com/a/zyWZF

My graphic is:
Code: Select all
0:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kaveri [
Radeon R6 Graphics] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2234
        Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 45
        Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=8M]
        I/O ports at 5000 [size=256]
        Memory at d6800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
        Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: <access denied>


Code: Select all
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kaveri [Radeon R6 Graphics] [1002:130a]
Last edited by kepler19 on 2017-05-13 21:30, edited 1 time in total.
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby debiman » 2017-05-07 17:43

screenshot: bluetooth.
has nothing to do with your GPU.
please describe your problem fully, in all detail, with code & complete messages.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby phenest » 2017-05-07 17:48

If you check again, there's several screenshots. Scroll down and there's one showing the GPU firmware error.
Dell XPS 17 L702X i7 2860QM 2.5GHz - 32GB RAM - 4G WWAN - Pioneer TD05-BDR
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS P8P67 EVO i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby debiman » 2017-05-07 17:51

^ ah, thanks.
still, the shot cuts out just when it's getting interesting (towards the right screen edge).
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-07 18:02

The free radeon driver requires non-free firmware that Debian does not install by default. Exactly how you do that depends on if you are running a released or development version of Debian, and if your hardware is not too cutting-edge for the ageing stable release.

This is explained in the Debian wiki.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.3.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-4, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8228
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-08 06:30

I installed VGA driver as showned here: https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo
after everything was ok til i update kernel to v4.9,

what should i do? when i tried to install driver again it says u have newest version. Thanks.
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-08 17:08

Any support would appreciated. Thanks.
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby phenest » 2017-05-08 17:46

How come you updated the kernel? What were you on before?
Dell XPS 17 L702X i7 2860QM 2.5GHz - 32GB RAM - 4G WWAN - Pioneer TD05-BDR
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS P8P67 EVO i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-08 18:28

You have to start giving more information, or we'll get tired of having to pry it out of you.

Are you running Debian Stable and upgraded to the backports kernel?

What AMD driver did you follow the guide to install--the proprietary fglrx-driver? If you try and install that with the 4.9 kernel, you received a build error in the installation someplace, since it requires a patched version to build on that, and another patch for any 4.10 kernels, and Debian doesn't have that in the repo (but I do :wink: ).

The free radeon driver with the backports kernel requires firmware from the backports repo to match it--specifically, firmware-amd-graphics.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.3.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-4, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8228
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-09 10:55

Thanks for reply.

When i install Debian Jessi 8.7 x64 KDE kernel version was 3.16, after i installed VGA as shown here: https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo and it was ok.

After i did kernel upgrade as shown here: https://itsfoss.com/kernel-upgrade-debian/ with success but now when my system loads that FAILED titles appears as shown in above attached screenshots. After loads system everything is ok. only when loads there is not something good.
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-09 18:31

What do you get with the command

Code: Select all
apt-cache policy firmware-amd-graphics


And what is your problem with telling us plainly what release of Debian you are running and if you installed the free AMD driver or the proprietary driver? Don't put up a link to the wiki--just say which one! Please!
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.3.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-4, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8228
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-10 14:52

Code: Select all
apt-cache policy firmware-amd-graphics
N: Unable to locate package firmware-amd-graphics


i installed that drivers: i wrote that sources.list
Code: Select all
# Debian 8 "Jessie"
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free


after:
Code: Select all
# apt-get update


and:
Code: Select all
# apt-get install firmware-linux-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-video-ati
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-10 20:56

You must have the non-free packages enabled in jessie-backports to get any non-free firmware from there, the same as for any Debian repository.

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib non-free


Add that, "apt-get update", and check to see if that firmware-amd-graphics package then becomes available.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.3.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-4, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8228
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby kepler19 » 2017-05-11 05:01

Thanks for support, where should add it "apt-get update"?
kepler19
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-10-15 10:52

Re: Firmware: Failed to load Radeon

Postby debiman » 2017-05-11 14:33

kepler19 wrote:Thanks for support, where should add it "apt-get update"?

stevepusser is talking about /etc/apt/sources.list which is a plain text file and has to be edited accordingly.
after that, run apt-get update in a terminal.
both actions require superuser privileges.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable