Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby luiznetto » 2017-05-12 17:01

Good morning all

I installed Android emulator following the instructions shown here:
http://www.2daygeek.com/install-sdk-android-emulator-on-ubuntu-centos-debian-fedora-rhel-opensuse-arch-linux-mint/
They warn us from the beginning that we must install ia32-libs, or we will get an error message when trying to launch the device. This package is not available in the repository; but they tell us then to install the alternative libgl1-mesa-dev which I did. Regardless, even though the installation was apparently sucessful, every time I try to launch the device, I get the same error message:
Code: Select all
Starting emulator for AVD 'device1'
/home/luiz/android/android-sdk-linux/tools/emulator: 1: /home/luiz/android/android-sdk-linux/tools/emulator: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

and the emulator will not launch.
Any suggestions? I thank you in advance.
luiznetto
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2013-11-26 18:40

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-12 17:10

What is the minimum version of Java that the emulator requires, and what do you have installed?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.3.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-4, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8223
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby phenest » 2017-05-12 17:14

Dell XPS 17 L702X i7 2860QM 2.5GHz - 32GB RAM - 4G WWAN - Pioneer TD05-BDR
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS P8P67 EVO i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby luiznetto » 2017-05-13 01:34

stevepusser wrote:What is the minimum version of Java that the emulator requires, and what do you have installed?

The closest thing I could find to an answer to the first part of your question is this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12305344/android-runs-on-what-java-sdk-version
as to the second part of your question, here is the answer:
Code: Select all
luiz@debian-luiz-computer:~/test$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_38"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.13.10) (6b38-1.13.10-1~deb7u1)
OpenJDK Client VM (build 23.25-b01, mixed mode, sharing)
luiznetto
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2013-11-26 18:40

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby luiznetto » 2017-05-14 00:03

After trying unsuccessfully run the official Android SDK (I tried several versions, they all failed to launch with the same error message), I decided to try something new. I read about Genymotion, but that requires Virtualbox. So I installed Virtualbox 4.1.42-dfsg-1+deb7u1, the one available in the repository. During installation, I got this alarming error message:
Code: Select all
[FAIL] Starting VirtualBox kernel modules[....] No suitable module for running kernel found ... failed!
 failed!
with the word "failed" written in red on the black screen.
Regardless, the installation seems to have been successful. Now I need to download the Genymotion binary file and try it.
luiznetto
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2013-11-26 18:40

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby luiznetto » 2017-05-14 02:50

I have a 32-bit operating system sitting on a 64-bit machine. Maybe that is the source of my troubles?
luiznetto
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2013-11-26 18:40

Re: Android emulator in Wheezy, launch error message

Postby debiman » 2017-05-14 09:34

luiznetto wrote:I have a 32-bit operating system sitting on a 64-bit machine. Maybe that is the source of my troubles?

no.

but using debian oldstable which is seriously dated, to emulate android, an operating system that churns out new versions all the time, it just doesn't compute.
i tried genymotion once and it was definitely buggy. the wheezy version probably even more so.

try to get virtualbox working FIRST (that's a fairly common error, search, here or on virtualbox wiki/docs/forums), maybe then genymotion will work. maybe.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: unf0rg0tt3n and 5 guests

fashionable