Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050

#1 Post by dirkme »

I just bought that laptop and it seems to have 2 Graphic Cards where Debian detected the Intel Graphics Card HD 630

But how do I get the Nvidia Card GeForce GTX 1050 to be the main graphic adapter?

By the way it is Debian Stretch non free.

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H LPC Controller (rev 31)
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PMC (rev 31)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device a171 (rev 31)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H SMBus (rev 31)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1c8d (rev a1)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 7265 (rev 59)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
04:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5229 PCI Express Card Reader (rev 01)

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#2 Post by stevepusser »

It's an Optimus laptop, so it's normal for it to only see the Intel GPU at first. If you want to hand off the heavy 3D rendering to the Nvidia GPU for programs like games, then you can install and use Bumblebee to make that happen--check the Debian wiki for instructions.

There are a few extra things you need to do for 32-bit 3D programs on 64-bit Debian, such as for Steam and Wine, and to run a Windows program in Wine with the Nvidia GPU, you need to use "primusrun" instead of "optirun".
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#3 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:It's an Optimus laptop, so it's normal for it to only see the Intel GPU at first. If you want to hand off the heavy 3D rendering to the Nvidia GPU for programs like games, then you can install and use Bumblebee to make that happen--check the Debian wiki for instructions.

There are a few extra things you need to do for 32-bit 3D programs on 64-bit Debian, such as for Steam and Wine, and to run a Windows program in Wine with the Nvidia GPU, you need to use "primusrun" instead of "optirun".

Thanks a lot for your reply, glad you did.

Will right away tomorrow morning start doing all this, it is 23:00 now, time to go to bed, will update my (hopefully) success.

Dirk

Update: sorry, can't get to it before Tuesday 23. May

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#4 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:It's an Optimus laptop, so it's normal for it to only see the Intel GPU at first. If you want to hand off the heavy 3D rendering to the Nvidia GPU for programs like games, then you can install and use Bumblebee to make that happen--check the Debian wiki for instructions.

There are a few extra things you need to do for 32-bit 3D programs on 64-bit Debian, such as for Steam and Wine, and to run a Windows program in Wine with the Nvidia GPU, you need to use "primusrun" instead of "optirun".
Did the install like that:

Code: Select all

apt-get install bumblebee-nvidia primus primus-libs:i386
and after reboot my comnputer get stuck and freezes up at boot after telling me it couldn't get firmware for i915 installed, I guess that is the intel chip?

Any ideas how to go from here?


Update: uninstalled and re-installed now working.

How do i get world of tanks running through through

Code: Select all

optirun
Last edited by dirkme on 2017-05-21 00:41, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#5 Post by stevepusser »

Yes, for SkyLake and Kaby Lake GPUs like your 630, some non-free firmware is required...this can be a pain, since standard Debian doesn't include it. You can either add the non-free section to your software sources, or just download and install the deb file:

https://packages.debian.org/stretch/fir ... sc-nonfree

Did you also install your linux-headers package and build-essential, which are necessary to build the Nvidia non-free driver? The easy way to make sure is to install module-assistant and run as sysadmin

Code: Select all

m-a prepare
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#6 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:Yes, for SkyLake and Kaby Lake GPUs like your 630, some non-free firmware is required...this can be a pain, since standard Debian doesn't include it. You can either add the non-free section to your software sources, or just download and install the deb file:

https://packages.debian.org/stretch/fir ... sc-nonfree

Did you also install your linux-headers package and build-essential, which are necessary to build the Nvidia non-free driver? The easy way to make sure is to install module-assistant and run as sysadmin

Code: Select all

m-a prepare
I installed from a non official firmware non-free install medium.

Update: optirun is working fine now tested with

Code: Select all

optirun glxgears -info
and my world of tanks has a different problem, will post when I am done ;-)
Last edited by dirkme on 2017-05-21 01:12, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#7 Post by stevepusser »

The Intel driver can call out for some firmware files that were placeholders in the Intel development process, so it may be that it's an annoying red herring.

OK, what is World of Tanks? Is it a Steam game, native 64-bit, a 32-bit Wine type of game, or what?

You can also install inxi and make sure that optirun is working with

Code: Select all

inxi -G

optirun inxi -G
You should see the GLX renderer switch over to the Nvidia card.
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#8 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:The Intel driver can call out for some firmware files that were placeholders in the Intel development process, so it may be that it's an annoying red herring.

OK, what is World of Tanks? Is it a Steam game, native 64-bit, a 32-bit Wine type of game, or what?

You can also install inxi and make sure that optirun is working with

Code: Select all

inxi -G

optirun inxi -G
You should see the GLX renderer switch over to the Nvidia card.
World of Tanks is a wine 32 bit game and I discovered i have a different problem now it it and will post when i got it running again under wine and tested it again with

Code: Select all

optirun
.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#9 Post by stevepusser »

I only have one 32-bit program I run under Wine on my 64-bit system, it's Space Engine, and it requires "primusrun" instead of "optirun". It won't run correctly at all with just the Intel card--it's just black. I found out where the launcher .desktop file was living in my $(HOME)/.local/share/applications folder (/.local/share/applications/wine/Programs/SpaceEngine/) and edited the Exec line to include primusrun. I think the alternate method is

Code: Select all

optirun primus -b <command>
Have you set up Wine to use 32-bit or the 64-bit wine configuration?
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#10 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:I only have one 32-bit program I run under Wine on my 64-bit system, it's Space Engine, and it requires "primusrun" instead of "optirun". It won't run correctly at all with just the Intel card--it's just black. I found out where the launcher .desktop file was living in my $(HOME)/.local/share/applications folder (/.local/share/applications/wine/Programs/SpaceEngine/) and edited the Exec line to include primusrun. I think the alternate method is

Code: Select all

optirun primus -b <command>
Have you set up Wine to use 32-bit or the 64-bit wine configuration?
Yes, wine is setup to run world of tanks (32bit) and did so fine before I started to install bumblebee etc. And I do believe we get it running.

Gotta go, and when I am back, I will try your command line and update you of my (hopefully) success.

I still have windows 10 as dual boot, but it is so dreadful to run, Micro$oft software is sluggish and a nightmare as well as a malware and spyware too.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#11 Post by stevepusser »

Yes, I still have win10 as dual boot, too, but mostly use it to test Linux Live USB creator tools on the Windows side to help with MX Linux development. Every big Win10 update moves my Linux efi boot file to the bottom of the list, so the machine boots straight to Windows again instead of to GRUB. Funny how that works. :roll:
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#12 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:I only have one 32-bit program I run under Wine on my 64-bit system, it's Space Engine, and it requires "primusrun" instead of "optirun". It won't run correctly at all with just the Intel card--it's just black. I found out where the launcher .desktop file was living in my $(HOME)/.local/share/applications folder (/.local/share/applications/wine/Programs/SpaceEngine/) and edited the Exec line to include primusrun. I think the alternate method is

Code: Select all

optirun primus -b <command>
Have you set up Wine to use 32-bit or the 64-bit wine configuration?
I added multiarch i386 to my 64 bit install.

The bigger problem I have now is, when I install it optirun runs a few programs and I could trouble shoot from there, except, when I reboot, my computer stops at boot up complaining it can't fine intel i950 driver and freezes the laptop.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#13 Post by stevepusser »

Can you still boot to the older 3.16 kernel, or to a command line?

If so, let us know what this reports

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-intel firmware-misc-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#14 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:Can you still boot to the older 3.16 kernel, or to a command line?

If so, let us know what this reports

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-intel firmware-misc-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri
4.9.0.3 is whatI booted in right now (bumblebee uninstalled) and at advanced I can get into 4.9.0.2

I will install bumblebee again and see if i can get to the termi nal running your commands.

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#15 Post by dirkme »

dirkme wrote:
stevepusser wrote:Can you still boot to the older 3.16 kernel, or to a command line?

If so, let us know what this reports

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-intel firmware-misc-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri
4.9.0.3 is whatI booted in right now (bumblebee uninstalled) and at advanced I can get into 4.9.0.2

I will install bumblebee again and see if i can get to the termi nal running your commands.
After install but no reboot I got this:

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-intel firmware-misc-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri
xserver-xorg-video-intel:
Installed: 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1
Candidate: 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1
Version table:
*** 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1 500
500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
firmware-misc-nonfree:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: 20161130-2
Version table:
20161130-2 500
500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/non-free amd64 Packages
500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/non-free i386 Packages
libgl1-mesa-dri:
Installed: 13.0.6-1+b2
Candidate: 13.0.6-1+b2
Version table:
*** 13.0.6-1+b2 500
500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


I also installed bumblebee-nvidia


Update: rebooted and somehow made it to my desktop, running your command gave me this:

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-intel firmware-misc-nonfree libgl1-mesa-dri
xserver-xorg-video-intel:
  Installed: 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1
  Candidate: 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1
  Version table:
 *** 2:2.99.917+git20161206-1 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
firmware-misc-nonfree:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 20161130-2
  Version table:
     20161130-2 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/non-free amd64 Packages
        500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/non-free i386 Packages
libgl1-mesa-dri:
  Installed: 13.0.6-1+b2
  Candidate: 13.0.6-1+b2
  Version table:
 *** 13.0.6-1+b2 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.rafal.ca/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Running OBS on optirun provides this:

Code: Select all

optirun obs
Attempted path: share/obs/obs-studio/locale/en-US.ini
Attempted path: /usr/share/obs/obs-studio/locale/en-US.ini
Attempted path: share/obs/obs-studio/locale.ini
Attempted path: /usr/share/obs/obs-studio/locale.ini
Attempted path: share/obs/obs-studio/themes/Default.qss
Attempted path: /usr/share/obs/obs-studio/themes/Default.qss
info: Processor: 8 logical cores
info: Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ CPU @ 2.80GHz
info: Physical Memory: 15932MB Total
info: Kernel Version: Linux 4.9.0-3-amd64
info: Distribution: "Debian GNU/Linux" "9"
QObject::connect: invalid null parameter
info: OBS 0.0.1 (linux)
info: ---------------------------------
info: ---------------------------------
info: audio settings reset:
	samples per sec: 44100
	speakers:        2
info: OpenGL version: 3.2.0 NVIDIA 375.39

info: ---------------------------------
info: video settings reset:
	base resolution:   1920x1080
	output resolution: 1280x720
	fps:               30/1
	format:            NV12
info: ---------------------------------
libDeckLinkAPI.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
info: No blackmagic support
error: os_dlopen(libnvidia-encode.so.1->libnvidia-encode.so.1): libnvidia-encode.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

info: VLC found, VLC video source enabled
info: ---------------------------------
info:   Loaded Modules:
info:     vlc-video.so
info:     text-freetype2.so
info:     rtmp-services.so
info:     obs-x264.so
info:     obs-transitions.so
info:     obs-outputs.so
info:     obs-filters.so
info:     obs-ffmpeg.so
info:     linux-v4l2.so
info:     linux-pulseaudio.so
info:     linux-jack.so
info:     linux-decklink.so
info:     linux-capture.so
info:     linux-alsa.so
info:     image-source.so
info: ==== Startup complete ===============================================
error: Service '' not found
info: All scene data cleared
info: ------------------------------------------------
info: pulse-input: Server name: 'pulseaudio 10.0'
error: pulse-input: Sample spec is not valid
error: Failed to create source 'Desktop Audio'!
info: pulse-input: Server name: 'pulseaudio 10.0'
error: pulse-input: Sample spec is not valid
error: Failed to create source 'Mic/Aux'!
info: Switched to scene 'Scene'
info: ------------------------------------------------
info: Loaded scenes:
info: - scene 'Scene':
info: ------------------------------------------------

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#16 Post by dirkme »

Right now it seems to be OK, I guess the last re-installl must have fixed it.

I just have to figure out how to get world of tanks running.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#17 Post by stevepusser »

Have you tried starting it from the command line--anything weird happen with primusrun?
MX Linux packager and developer

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#18 Post by dirkme »

stevepusser wrote:Have you tried starting it from the command line--anything weird happen with primusrun?
Debian ran nice, but after installing bumblebee I had often a freezing start.

After that, I thought I try Arch and it nuked my winw.dows 10 mall and spyware OS, which I only use for gaming, for those games not working on Linux.

However, Windows 10 is sluggish and Micro$oft does what they want with your computer and data, so it can not hold any data except games, not even internet browsing.

Back to Debian, I would still love to get my Debian back on, but bumblebee is giving me a hard time and even though I activated mutli arch i386, Playonlinux still installs Wine 64bit and world of tanks doesn't want to start, even though you create a wine prefix of 32 bit.

But... I reinstalled the mall and spyware OS, and will reinstall Debian stretch again, and will see how it goes this time.

dirkme
Posts: 43
Joined: 2016-10-16 03:15

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#19 Post by dirkme »

After many installations and tests, I can confirm that bumblebee does not work as intended on Debian stretch and it is incapable of running the Nvidia Graphic card.

Also, unlike in xubuntu, I can not install just the Nvidia driver on Debian stretch as it doesn't recognize the Nvidia Card.

What a shame, i really loved Debian and specially Stretch.

csabix
Posts: 194
Joined: 2007-09-23 21:15
Location: Sf Gheorghe
Contact:

Re: STRIX Gaming laptop Intel HD 630 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 10

#20 Post by csabix »

Looks like I'm not the only one who failed with dual graphics.
My issue is with Debian Jessie. Neither did the official nVidia driver install correctly.
Regarding Stretch, after installing it with KDE, it dies at login. It happens with Asus F550VX laptop.

Post Reply