Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby manmath » 2017-07-04 05:02

Hi, I am running Debian Stretch on Xanmod kernel. This morning I updated kernel and removed the old one. While removing the old kernel on update-initramfs it shows this error (read the bold text). What does that mean? My system is working fine though.

apt purge linux-image-4.9.34-xanmod41
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
linux-image-4.9.34-xanmod41*
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
After this operation, 219 MB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
(Reading database ... 80505 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing linux-image-4.9.34-xanmod41 (1.170625) ...
update-initramfs: Deleting /boot/initrd.img-4.9.34-xanmod41
Failed to check for container: Input/output error
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background image: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/desktop-grub.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.9.35-xanmod42
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.9.35-xanmod42
done
(Reading database ... 74647 files and directories currently installed.)
Purging configuration files for linux-image-4.9.34-xanmod41 (1.170625) ...
Failed to check for container: Input/output error
manmath
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2009-11-26 07:16

Re: Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby manmath » 2017-07-06 09:57

Surprisingly no response at all. I'm sorry to have posted this question, perhaps desktop issues are ignored here.
manmath
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2009-11-26 07:16

Re: Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-07-06 11:31

My system is working fine though.


So what is the problem ? (issue)
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby manmath » 2017-07-06 13:37

The problem: will it cause any problem in future? Besides, I'm clueless what does that error message mean. Maybe, that's a false positive, but it leaves the user guessing till eternity.
manmath
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2009-11-26 07:16

Re: Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-07-06 14:41

On that, I don't really know, but this might reveal more info:
On Debian Failed to check for container: Input/output error
First hit:
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=771675

I don't know about this: Xanmod kernel, and if it is not Debian, that may be
is why no one else knows what to say. Sorry
Maybe some one else will know more.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Failed to check for container: Input/output error

Postby manmath » 2017-07-06 18:55

Seems like it's related to xanmod kernel.
manmath
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2009-11-26 07:16


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable