Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby CaptAm » 2017-09-10 19:01

Hello,

I'm running Debian on virtual server (paid hosting). When my virtual server was setup, I choose Debian 8 as my OS.
Today I upgraded Debian to version 9, everything went quite smooth, except that after reboot my kernel is still 2.6:

Code: Select all
root@debian:~# cat /etc/debian_version
9.1
root@debian:~# uname -r
2.6.32-042stab123.9

I googled and found advice:
Code: Select all
root@debian:~# apt-cache search linux-image
linux-headers-4.9.0-3-amd64 - Header files for Linux 4.9.0-3-amd64
linux-headers-4.9.0-3-rt-amd64 - Header files for Linux 4.9.0-3-rt-amd64
linux-image-4.9.0-3-amd64 - Linux 4.9 for 64-bit PCs
linux-image-4.9.0-3-amd64-dbg - Debug symbols for linux-image-4.9.0-3-amd64
linux-image-4.9.0-3-rt-amd64 - Linux 4.9 for 64-bit PCs, PREEMPT_RT
linux-image-4.9.0-3-rt-amd64-dbg - Debug symbols for linux-image-4.9.0-3-rt-amd64
linux-image-amd64 - Linux for 64-bit PCs (meta-package)
linux-image-amd64-dbg - Debugging symbols for Linux amd64 configuration (meta-package)
linux-image-rt-amd64 - Linux for 64-bit PCs (meta-package), PREEMPT_RT
linux-image-rt-amd64-dbg - Debugging symbols for Linux rt-amd64 configuration (meta-package)

I installed linux-image-4.9.0-3-amd64 and after reboot I still have kernel 2.6
Then I realised, that kernel I installed is AMD, and my virtual server is on Xeon.
Webmin shows:
Code: Select all
Kernel and CPU    Linux 2.6.32-042stab123.9 on x86_64
Processor information    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v3 @ 2.40GHz, 4 cores

Please advise, how should I install 3.x or 4.x kernel.
I suppose I should not use backports, I'd like to stay on "stable" thread.
As it's virtual server, I have no possibility to see console screen while it boots, only after boot I can connect via SSH.

Thanks,
Marius
CaptAm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-09-10 18:45

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby stevepusser » 2017-09-10 19:08

The 2.6.32 kernel is the default one from Debian 7 Wheezy. How you got it on Debian 8, which should have had 3.2, is another mystery you need to look into.

Intel 64-bit processors use the architecture that AMD developed for their 64-bit chips. Amd64 is the right architecture.

Try running "update-grub" as root to see if that adds your new kernel to the boot menu.
Last edited by stevepusser on 2017-09-10 20:52, edited 1 time in total.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8905
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby CaptAm » 2017-09-10 19:46

Thanks for swift reply, stevepusser!

I tried update-grub without success:
Code: Select all
root@debian:~# update-grub
bash: update-grub: command not found
root@debian:~# update<TAB key>
update-alternatives        update-icon-caches         update-initramfs           update-mime-database       update-rc.d
update-ca-certificates     update-inetd               update-locale              update-mime-database.real  updatedb
update-cracklib            update-info-dir            update-mime                update-passwd              updatedb.mlocate
root@debian:~# grub<TAB key> - nothing pops up.

Seems my machine have no grub at all. I checked /boot directory and it is empty.
How could I get an idea, what I'm using :lol:

Regards,
Marius
CaptAm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-09-10 18:45

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-09-10 20:17

VPS often run custom kernels that can't be upgraded; check with your hosting provider.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby Segfault » 2017-09-10 20:34

Your /boot may seem empty because it is not mounted. It does not need to be mounted for normal operation.
Segfault
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby acewiza » 2017-09-10 21:27

wizard10000 wrote:...check with your hosting provider.

Yes, undoubtedly the only way this gets sorted.
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.
User avatar
acewiza
 
Posts: 267
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: Only amd Linux Kernel available (I'm on Xeon CPU)

Postby CaptAm » 2017-09-11 06:19

Just want to close this question, as hosting provider confirmed they are using "OpenVZ" virtualization, which shares common kernel between virtual machines (containers).
2.6 is last stable thread for it, so they are stick to it. I have no possibility to upgrade it.

Thanks everyone for help,
Marius
CaptAm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-09-10 18:45


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable