Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

How to limit SSH access for one account to only 2 addresses?

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Woefdram

How to limit SSH access for one account to only 2 addresses?

#1 Post by Woefdram »

My monitoring system uses SSH to do its business. I want the managed servers to only accept this login from 2 addresses: the IPv4 and IPv6 address of my monitoring server. Seems simple, but I can't figure out how to make that work.

I've seen several threads about exactly this, such as this one, and I studied the manpage. What I think I should do, is tell SSH to deny this user if he's not coming from either of these 2 addresses.

These are the last lines in my sshd_config:

Code: Select all

Match Address !12.23.45.78
  DenyUsers nagios
Match Address !11:22:44:55::1
  DenyUsers nagios
But it doesn't seem to do a thing, because nagios can still login from any address.

Or it could even be simpler, without any Match element:

DenyUsers nagios@!12.23.45.78 nagios@!11:22:44:55::1
Same result: nagios can login from anywhere. So I tried it the other way around: first denying access and then allowing for the 2 addresses:

DenyUsers nagios

Match Address 12.23.45.78
  AllowUsers nagios

Match Address 11:22:44:55::1
  AllowUsers nagios
But now nagios can't login from any address. Moving the top line to the bottom doesn't change it either. Whatever I try, nagios can either login from anywhere or nowhere at all.

I'm sure it's something small, but I can't figure out how to make this work.

Anyone?

alan stone

Re: How to limit SSH access for one account to only 2 addres

#2 Post by alan stone »