[SOLVED] no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[SOLVED] no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-28 06:27

So i have a strange problem.
I'm running Open Media Vault on top of debian (headless).

the motherboard is an old Atom miniITX with onboard 10/100 NIC and i've plugged a gigabet card into the PCI card and all has been good for many years.

last week we had an extended power cut and brown out.

The BIOS got reset, and i had to install a new BIOS battery.

so here is the wierd part.
The on board network works fine.
The PCI card gigabit card does not work (can't ping)
I thought maybe the card was gone so i swapped it out for a realtek gigabit card, same issue.

Code: Select all
root@mediafiler:~# dmesg | grep eth
[    1.657408] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth0: RTL8169sb/8110sb at 0xf7eb4800, e8:de:27:a8:92:f9, XID 10000000 IRQ 17
[    1.704500] eth1: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xc800, 00:22:68:44:0f:0a, IRQ 19
[    6.517640] udev[357]: renamed network interface eth0 to eth3
[    6.520806] udev[361]: renamed network interface eth1 to eth0
[   10.071544] eth0: link down
[   10.072093] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[   10.139773] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth3: link down
[   10.140387] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth3: link is not ready
[   12.486190] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth3: link up
[   12.486664] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth3: link becomes ready
[  321.414621] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth3: link down
[  324.247128] eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0xC5E1
[  324.247515] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[  505.519527] eth0: link down
[  508.814696] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth3: link up
[ 1490.581826] r8169 0000:01:02.0: eth3: link down
[ 1492.942505] eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0xC5E1


eth0 is the onboard
eth 3 is the realtek gigabit card
(eth2 is the intel card that was working fine until the power cut; not currently installed)

here is my interfaces config

Code: Select all
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface lo inet6 loopback

# eth0 network interface
auto eth0
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.21
    gateway 192.168.1.254
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    post-up /sbin/ifconfig $IFACE mtu 1500
    dns-nameservers 192.168.1.254 192.231.203.3
iface eth0 inet6 manual
    pre-down ip -6 addr flush dev eth0

# eth3 network interface
auto eth3
allow-hotplug eth3
iface eth3 inet static
    address 192.168.1.21
    gateway 192.168.1.254
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    post-up /sbin/ifconfig $IFACE mtu 1500
    dns-nameservers 192.168.1.254 192.231.203.3
iface eth3 inet6 manual
    pre-down ip -6 addr flush dev eth3



and list pci shows

Code: Select all
root@mediafiler:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 01)
01:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
01:06.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


so to recap, using the network card that worked fine before the power cut results in no network connectivity, but also no obvious error message.

any ideas?
Last edited by magnets on 2017-11-30 20:39, edited 1 time in total.
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33

Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-11-28 06:41

Hardware failure, perhaps?
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6787
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

[solved] Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-28 06:49

ok i just tried

/sbin/ifconfig eth3 up

and it's working.

i've shutdown, restarted. still working.

If anyone knows why it behaved like that i'd be really interested!
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33

Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-28 06:52

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Hardware failure, perhaps?


thats what i thought too.

i replaced the nic with a known good.

same error. I thought maybe the pci lanes had failed, but everything was happy.
I think maybe the power outage lost a config file or something and i had to switch it back on with ifconfig eth3 up.

weird.
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33

Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-28 07:11

i spoke to soon.
as soon as i picked the server up and put it back in the garage it didn't work.

doing eth3 up gave no errors but it didin't come up.

plugging the cable into the slower on board device works perfectly.
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33

Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby Bulkley » 2017-11-28 15:21

Any little fuses on that mobo? Try swapping out the power supply, even temporarily.

Edited to add: You may have been hit with a power surge as the electrical grid came back on.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5365
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-30 19:25

no, no fuses.
and lspci is happy with the card.
I think it is something to do with the power cut though.
I think the power cut has corrupted a config file, i'm better on windows and in windows i'd just remove all networking components and then readd.
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33

Re: [SOLVED] no network after power cut (but eth3: Link up)

Postby magnets » 2017-11-30 20:42

so, doing a bit more reading...

i had two nics
both with the same ip settings (same ip address)
turns out when i had restarted the computer just decides who the winner is. most often it was the onboard.

when i changed the onboard to a different address, the gigabit card worked ok. even after reboot.

so all fixed.

the moral of the story is:

with a basic configuration, you can't have to nics on the same machine with the same ip settings; even if one is unplugged.
magnets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-11-28 05:33


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable