Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[solved] Issue: primus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
@ttila
Posts: 151
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 15 times

[solved] Issue: primus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#1 Post by @ttila »

Hi!!!!!
This is my first post, i use Debian "Buster" on a PC with a Geforce 1050ti and a laptop Lenovo g580 (Geforce 635M).
On both of them i play with Filghtgear and Urbanterror but I get only troubles with the Lenovo, everything goes smooth with the PC.
When i launch flightgear with (antialiasing 2x, nothing else):

Code: Select all

optirun -b primus fgfs --prop:/sim/rendering/multi-sample-buffers=true --prop:/sim/rendering/multi-samples=2 --log-level=debug
........
Using stock OSG implementation of GraphicsWindow
StatsHandler::StatsHandler() Setting up GL2 compatible shaders
initializing cloud layers
Using initial window size: 1024 x 768
Error: Not able to create requested visual.

getDefaultWindow: failed to create GraphicsContext
Error: Not able to create requested visual.

getDefaultWindow: failed to create GraphicsContext
CameraGroup::buildGUICamera: failed to build a window
Enabling ATI/AMD viewport hack
.........
If antialiasing is disable, Flightgear starts

Code: Select all

optirun fgfs
Using the intel video card and anti aliasing on, it fails

Code: Select all

fgfs --prop:/sim/rendering/...
Now with urban terror:

Code: Select all

primusrun /UrbanTerror43/Quake3-UrT.x86_64
........
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1:
Calling SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO)...
SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) passed.
Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 13: 1366 768
Received signal 11, exiting...
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
Errore di segmentazione
...........
Again it runs with the integrated Intel video card.
i repeat no problems with the Geforce 1050ti, so is it a primus or a libGl.so.1 issue?

Primus requires the libgl1-nvidia-glx package, instead of the libgl1-nvidia-glvnd-glx variant used by my Geforce 1050ti.
The bumblebee.conf file seems well configured.
Regards
Last edited by @ttila on 2018-02-09 21:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Capitain_Jack
Posts: 153
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#2 Post by Capitain_Jack »

Even that this is not directly related to Debian itself, take a look at the own game forum about that mobile video card:
https://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=31186
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha

User avatar
@ttila
Posts: 151
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#3 Post by @ttila »

it is my post, i solved it whit those suggestions but now i get it again. i think it is a issue of OS not of the sim,
Thanks anyway :wink:

User avatar
Capitain_Jack
Posts: 153
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#4 Post by Capitain_Jack »

@ttila wrote:it is my post, i solved it whit those suggestions but now i get it again. i think it is a issue of OS not of the sim,
Thanks anyway :wink:
I may suggest a good direct derivation distro (that uses Debian as main repository, offering only software in addition) that have a gaming aimed version:
https://sparkylinux.org/download/rolling/#special

But also have all three flavors of debian, so you can also download the "buster" compatible version, but is intended for people with more knowledge, like Debian unstable is, so I recommend at least the special testing above, or Debian testing with non-free repositories for gaming propouse.
https://sparkylinux.org/download/development/
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha

User avatar
Capitain_Jack
Posts: 153
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#5 Post by Capitain_Jack »

Can you please edit the topic and add [SOLVED] Into the begging? Thanks.
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha

User avatar
@ttila
Posts: 151
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#6 Post by @ttila »

I want to continue using a pure dedian distro, i think there is a bug i'll send a mail to the debian mailing list. And it isn't solved :(

User avatar
@ttila
Posts: 151
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 15 times

[Solved] Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

#7 Post by @ttila »

Finally from the mailing list a holy man :wink: gives to me a workaround:
What happens if you install the "mesa-utils" package and run:

optirun glxinfo | grep OpenGL

does it say Nvidia as the vendor?

Primus is in a broken state in Sid, has been for a while, so it is probably the same in Testing now. If you can't get it to work (I gave up) because the "non-glvnd" and "glvnd" Nvidia variant conflict, you can use virtualGL as a workaround.

If you need to go that way just uninstall primus (but keep bumblebee), make sure the "glvnd" (not "non-glvnd") variant of the Nvidia packages are installed, and download the .deb packages for virtualGL here:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/virtualgl/files/

If I presume you are on 64bits (amd64) system you need both "virtualgl-[version]-amd64.deb" and "virtualgl32-[version]-amd64.deb" if you are running 32bits programs and have Nvidia 32bits compatibility packages installed.
After installing the virtualgl packages, and maybe a reboot, the "optirun glxinfo" command above should report Nvidia as OpenGL vendor, and your programs should work properly.
Simply install the virtualgl package and use the virtualgl bridge with:

Code: Select all

optirun -b virtualgl 
followed by the app name. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Post Reply