[solved] Issue: primus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[solved] Issue: primus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby @ttila » 2017-12-15 19:32

Hi!!!!!
This is my first post, i use Debian "Buster" on a PC with a Geforce 1050ti and a laptop Lenovo g580 (Geforce 635M).
On both of them i play with Filghtgear and Urbanterror but I get only troubles with the Lenovo, everything goes smooth with the PC.
When i launch flightgear with (antialiasing 2x, nothing else):
Code: Select all
optirun -b primus fgfs --prop:/sim/rendering/multi-sample-buffers=true --prop:/sim/rendering/multi-samples=2 --log-level=debug


........
Using stock OSG implementation of GraphicsWindow
StatsHandler::StatsHandler() Setting up GL2 compatible shaders
initializing cloud layers
Using initial window size: 1024 x 768
Error: Not able to create requested visual.

getDefaultWindow: failed to create GraphicsContext
Error: Not able to create requested visual.

getDefaultWindow: failed to create GraphicsContext
CameraGroup::buildGUICamera: failed to build a window
Enabling ATI/AMD viewport hack
.........


If antialiasing is disable, Flightgear starts
Code: Select all
optirun fgfs

Using the intel video card and anti aliasing on, it fails
Code: Select all
fgfs --prop:/sim/rendering/...


Now with urban terror:

Code: Select all
primusrun /UrbanTerror43/Quake3-UrT.x86_64


........
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1:
Calling SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO)...
SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) passed.
Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 13: 1366 768
Received signal 11, exiting...
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
Errore di segmentazione
...........


Again it runs with the integrated Intel video card.
i repeat no problems with the Geforce 1050ti, so is it a primus or a libGl.so.1 issue?

Primus requires the libgl1-nvidia-glx package, instead of the libgl1-nvidia-glvnd-glx variant used by my Geforce 1050ti.
The bumblebee.conf file seems well configured.
Regards
Last edited by @ttila on 2018-02-09 21:19, edited 1 time in total.
@ttila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby Capitain_Jack » 2017-12-17 03:11

Even that this is not directly related to Debian itself, take a look at the own game forum about that mobile video card:
https://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=31186
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha
User avatar
Capitain_Jack
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby @ttila » 2017-12-17 19:30

it is my post, i solved it whit those suggestions but now i get it again. i think it is a issue of OS not of the sim,
Thanks anyway :wink:
@ttila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby Capitain_Jack » 2017-12-17 19:42

@ttila wrote:it is my post, i solved it whit those suggestions but now i get it again. i think it is a issue of OS not of the sim,
Thanks anyway :wink:

I may suggest a good direct derivation distro (that uses Debian as main repository, offering only software in addition) that have a gaming aimed version:
https://sparkylinux.org/download/rolling/#special

But also have all three flavors of debian, so you can also download the "buster" compatible version, but is intended for people with more knowledge, like Debian unstable is, so I recommend at least the special testing above, or Debian testing with non-free repositories for gaming propouse.
https://sparkylinux.org/download/development/
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha
User avatar
Capitain_Jack
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby Capitain_Jack » 2017-12-17 19:53

Can you please edit the topic and add [SOLVED] Into the begging? Thanks.
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds."
Albert Einstein
"All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?"
Buddha
User avatar
Capitain_Jack
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2017-12-15 12:07
Location: Brazil capital, Brasilia, At the favela.

Re: Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby @ttila » 2017-12-20 19:20

I want to continue using a pure dedian distro, i think there is a bug i'll send a mail to the debian mailing list. And it isn't solved :(
@ttila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57

[Solved] Issue: prmus, libGl.so.1 or something else??

Postby @ttila » 2018-02-01 19:17

Finally from the mailing list a holy man :wink: gives to me a workaround:

What happens if you install the "mesa-utils" package and run:

optirun glxinfo | grep OpenGL

does it say Nvidia as the vendor?

Primus is in a broken state in Sid, has been for a while, so it is probably the same in Testing now. If you can't get it to work (I gave up) because the "non-glvnd" and "glvnd" Nvidia variant conflict, you can use virtualGL as a workaround.

If you need to go that way just uninstall primus (but keep bumblebee), make sure the "glvnd" (not "non-glvnd") variant of the Nvidia packages are installed, and download the .deb packages for virtualGL here:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/virtualgl/files/

If I presume you are on 64bits (amd64) system you need both "virtualgl-[version]-amd64.deb" and "virtualgl32-[version]-amd64.deb" if you are running 32bits programs and have Nvidia 32bits compatibility packages installed.
After installing the virtualgl packages, and maybe a reboot, the "optirun glxinfo" command above should report Nvidia as OpenGL vendor, and your programs should work properly.


Simply install the virtualgl package and use the virtualgl bridge with:
Code: Select all
optirun -b virtualgl
followed by the app name. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
@ttila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable