No bios, help plz!!!!

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby Segfault » 2017-12-21 15:00

It sure looks like you need to hire someone with basic computer skills to fix it for you. You are even not capable to answer questions asked.
Segfault
 
Posts: 664
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-12-21 15:02

nadielaya7 wrote:Do not tell me to type anything at the terminal because i dont have anything but a black screen!!


The key combination to unlock the bios is done when you boot, not from the
terminnal, get sensible, read the search results.

clicked YES
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4872
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby bw123 » 2017-12-21 15:07

Yeah his sounds like you are hitting the wrong key, hitting it too late, or maybe you have multimedia keys enabled and need a fn-f2 instead of f2. In addition to that, you borked grub somehow... two different problems.

Sheesh, just try to stay calm we all get confused now and then.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 15:18

These are the hardware specs

Asus 6gb sata 2008

Amd phenom x4
9650 processor

7gb system memory

750 gb hard drive

Super multi dvd burner
With lightscribe technology

Nvidia geforce 9100 integrated graphics
Last edited by nadielaya7 on 2017-12-21 15:54, edited 3 times in total.
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby bw123 » 2017-12-21 15:27

Hp Pavillion and it says Asus when you boot up, okay that makes sense.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 15:35

bw123 wrote:Hp Pavillion and it says Asus when you boot up, okay that makes sense.


Forgot i had to replace motherboard long time ago.

Its asus sata 6gb
Lemme see if i can find the exact model
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 16:03

It seems its not clear what my issue is. . What a train wreck.. Ihave to admit i was going insane yesterday. So much thanks for your help. Ill now take this,to the hw place to get the hard drive remounted and extract the sensitive data instead of trying to reset bios or remount the hard drive myself as per suggested solution. What a nightmare.

After being able to access BIOS once, I am safe to conclude its just a display configuration issue and that the code is still intact.
Something else, this was such a disaster, so happy that i can tell the software development code that i have produced is safe inside.

Lesson learned, if you happen to mess with any deep configuration of the debian system, first thing to do after you get a working solution and are back on track is to REFORMAT and start again, dont hang around with weird changes youve made thinking it wont be able to haunt you back later!! At least at my level that was a huuge lesson. Sorry for typos, was in mobile going berserk Lol

Thanks all!!
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby pylkko » 2017-12-21 18:37

If your BIOS ever gets completely corrupted so that it does not work, the computer will likely do nothing. I have read many first hand reports from people that have flashed their BIOS chip in some wrong way and usually they always say that they notice it because nothing happens when they put the power on, nothing, no sound, no leds light up and so on.

If your machine does stuff but the screen is black then you should try to interact with it in some manner without a display (for example remote desktop/ ssh).

You can always remove hard disks and attach them to other machines. So it is fairly simple and trivial to recover data from a hard disk by your self without having to pay for some service.
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby steve_v » 2017-12-21 19:03

The lesson to learn from all this is to have a proper backup strategy, so one can make such changes in safety.
Reformat? What? Just restore from backup.
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby Segfault » 2017-12-21 19:10

Computer users fall into two groups:
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Segfault
 
Posts: 664
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby bw123 » 2017-12-21 19:15

nadielaya7 wrote:Lesson learned, if you happen to mess with any deep configuration of the debian system, first thing to do after you get a working solution and are back on track is to REFORMAT and start again, dont hang around with weird changes youve made thinking it wont be able to haunt you back later!!


Deep configuration of the debian system didn't do this. You using the computer like a cat walking around on the keyboard probably didn't help things, it's obviously a 1D10T error, PEBCAK.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 21:24

bw123 wrote:
nadielaya7 wrote:Lesson learned, if you happen to mess with any deep configuration of the debian system, first thing to do after you get a working solution and are back on track is to REFORMAT and start again, dont hang around with weird changes youve made thinking it wont be able to haunt you back later!!


Deep configuration of the debian system didn't do this. You using the computer like a cat walking around on the keyboard probably didn't help things, it's obviously a 1D10T error, PEBCAK.


Nope! Computer problems , hardware or not, happen to everyone at some point in their lives. Does not make them 1D10TS or anything .
Last edited by nadielaya7 on 2017-12-22 00:30, edited 2 times in total.
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 21:42

steve_v wrote:The lesson to learn from all this is to have a proper backup strategy, so one can make such changes in safety.
Reformat? What? Just restore from backup.


After the hardware tech and i went over it, sure, it was not the situation. However, from that point of view, at thst moment in time, posting that was the right thing to do becayse I was trying to help others in my situation.

Proper backup, sure. Backup every day, specially if you are a software developer like i am, or a writer, or anyone whos got thst level of sensitive data. Dont wait for day 2 to backup, do it on the spot because someday, its going to happen and you lose your data. Luckily for me this was not the case, will still now inplement the backup every single day of my life in coding approach.

Am i a complete idiot for trying to help others on a forum? For going through a difficult period of my life? For trying to express myself as best as I can? Hell no. You people are seriously sounding like 12 year olds desperate for a chance to feel better about yourselves by flaming a stranger for asking some questions on an online help forum?? Ill look at the bright side and dismiss that, assume the best, and greet everyone a friendly farewell and thanks for readingm life is too short to spend arguing with strangers on an online forum like this. This ridiculous flame you arw trying to do to me, insult me , etc, what a stupid immature thing.

What about the xfce bug? Should revert to normal after ten seconds if no key is pressed. Period. No talk about it, its all FLAME THE N00BZ guys??

I honestly had this forum on a 10 out of ten high regards. Thanks to this unnecessary animosity and try hard arrogance i gotta give it a 7 now.
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby nadielaya7 » 2017-12-21 21:44

pylkko wrote:If your BIOS ever gets completely corrupted so that it does not work, the computer will likely do nothing. I have read many first hand reports from people that have flashed their BIOS chip in some wrong way and usually they always say that they notice it because nothing happens when they put the power on, nothing, no sound, no leds light up and so on.

If your machine does stuff but the screen is black then you should try to interact with it in some manner without a display (for example remote desktop/ ssh).

You can always remove hard disks and attach them to other machines. So it is fairly simple and trivial to recover data from a hard disk by your self without having to pay for some service.


Sure. When you have never evet done it before and your life depends on it level of sensitive data, i went with the tech =)

Its good thst you inform me the level of ease about it though, so thx for that, and thx for reading me out, it was a complete nightmare my hands were trembling at the keyboard you dont understand
nadielaya7
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2016-10-15 20:43

Re: No bios, help plz!!!!

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-12-21 23:27

If it is solved, just mark is as solved, and stop acting like a 12 year old, posting
rants now, calling people names , etc. Just because their attempts at helping you were not the solution.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4872
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

PreviousNext

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable