Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby czeekaj » 2018-01-16 04:52

nah you should be able to just right click on the panel and add anouther at top or bottom and add new items to customize it to your liking. If your deleting parts of it I'd suggest doing a Xfce upgrade/ update to make sure all the files are complete.
czeekaj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-01-09 10:18

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby awachens » 2018-01-16 05:35

Hello, how upgrade and update ??

Normall? Like always?

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get update


Regards !
User avatar
awachens
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby awachens » 2018-01-20 06:06

Can someone help me with xfce panel please... When i open a terminal, web browser, or something it doesn't show me. I should use ALT + TAB to select terminal or browser opened ..

I don't wanna uninstall debian please... I wanna solve this..

Regards !
User avatar
awachens
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby peter_irich » 2018-01-20 10:29

Perhaps, in system something wrong. Try as root:
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get -f install
dpkg --configure -a
apt-get --reinstall install xfce4-panel


Peter.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby awachens » 2018-01-21 08:20

Hi ! I did this and nothing happens.. I think now i have more options when i click to shutdown, restart etc... But my applet keep stay same...

I wanna have a normal applet :( What can i do ?

Normally you open a program and open too in applet... Why not in xfce ?
User avatar
awachens
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2018-01-21 09:00

Because you destroyed the default setup and severely misconfigured your remaining panel.

Do as debiman suggested and remove your configuration so the default is recreated.

Remove ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-panel.xml
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 4767
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby cfb » 2018-01-21 09:13

May I suggest that you try creating a new user account.
The first time you login and start Xfce, you will be asked if you would like to start with an empty panel or a default panel. Select "default" to get a working panel with several different items.
cfb
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2017-01-08 16:39

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby awachens » 2018-01-21 12:23

The first time you login and start Xfce, you will be asked if you would like to start with an empty panel or a default panel. Select "default" to get a working panel with several different items.


I think this is the question. Can i solve this with my user? I think i select empty..
User avatar
awachens
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-01-21 17:02

Can we see your sources.list? Try typing this in the terminal:
Code: Select all
cat /etc/apt/sources.list
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 656
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby czeekaj » 2018-01-22 04:46

You sure you can't access the settings menu?
xfce4-settings-manager
Try that in terminal. and than go to panel and see if you can't add your shortcuts there.
czeekaj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-01-09 10:18

Re: Toolbar in debian 9 xfce4

Postby awachens » 2018-01-22 05:35

Hi good morning !

Code: Select all
# stretch-oficiales
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free

# stretch-actualizaciones-seguridad
deb http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free

# debian-multimedia
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org stretch main non-free


es i can "configure" panel... But for example i can add launchers,... But in others desktops (maybe xfce doesn't do...) when you open a new application, like chrome, terminal etc... That opens too in applet, do you know ? And if you open two terminals these two add to other one, do you know ? You can see in applet if you haver 4 or 3 terminals opened...

And the other question.. I can't add NetworkManager to applet... I want a default applet, do you know ?

Regards !
User avatar
awachens
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Previous

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mike acker and 5 guests

fashionable