Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby krjames » 2018-03-14 08:13

Hi,
I presume this is something simple but I can't get a connection.
I tried the debian 'unofficial' netinstall cd but it didn't connect to the internet either.

I have installed a basic Debian 9.3 stretch but still cannot get anything with the internet.
I've installed the Debian Qualcom firmware package.
Entered the details from my previous computer in /etc/network/interfaces.
Yes, I have plugged in the cable... it's a standard wired connection.
Firefox comes up with server not found when I try www.google.com

Any suggestions are most welcome.
Thanks.
James
krjames
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-06-19 00:16
Location: South Korea

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby bw123 » 2018-03-14 09:34

Just in general, because you haven't provided any details:

make sure the firmware is loading with no errors
# dmesg | grep firmware

Make sure the device name is correct in interfaces file, and that it has an address
$ ip a

If you have to edit the interfaces file, bring the network down first
# ifdown -a
# nano /etc/network/interfaces
# ifup -a <assuming auto>

If you have an address, check connectivity to yourself, the router, then the net with/without dns
$ ping -c1 <for example>192.168.0.2
$ ping -c1 <for example>192.168.0.1
$ ping -c1 8.8.8.8
$ ping -c1 google.com
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2931
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby debiman » 2018-03-14 16:21

krjames wrote:Entered the details from my previous computer in /etc/network/interfaces.

maybe i'm missing something, but does this make sense?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2127
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby sunrat » 2018-03-14 20:43

This may have something to do with "predictable network interface names". Your interface may not have the same name as your old system. Look it up.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby krjames » 2018-03-15 01:03

Hi
I thought I had lots of info... Thanks for your patience :)
I had done lspci | grep Ethernet to confirm I have the Qualcom Atheros AR8132

doing dmesg | grep firmware doesn't show the atheros firmware at all!

I tried installing it again, I use: dpkg -i (file) but it didn't show up, even after a reboot.

dpkg seems to be happy with installing the file though;
preparing to unpack etc..
unpacking firmware-atheros...
setting up firmware-atheros...

I have installed the amd firmware using the same method and that shows up with the above dmesg command.

All a bit strange.

More hints welcome :)
krjames
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-06-19 00:16
Location: South Korea

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby sunrat » 2018-03-15 06:10

Post the output from these 2 commands:
Code: Select all
ip a
lshw -c network


firmware-atheros is for wireless and bluetooth chips, won't help with ethernet.
I found a really old page for Ubuntu Trusty that says this chip uses the alx driver. Does that show in lsmod? Could be out-of-date info though.
Last edited by sunrat on 2018-03-20 21:01, edited 1 time in total.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby bw123 » 2018-03-15 10:01

krjames wrote:Hi
I thought I had lots of info... Thanks for your patience :)
I had done lspci | grep Ethernet to confirm I have the Qualcom Atheros AR8132


If lshw isn't available, try getting the vendor id it is a bracketed 8 digit hex separated by a colon. You can get it with lcpci -nn or something like lspci -nn | grep Ethernet. Once you get that ID you can look it up easier, or maybe compare it to the aliases found in different drivers?

# modinfo atl1c lists some support for Qualcomm Atheros 100/1000M Ethernet Network Driver by pci id.

What did your searches on the internet find out about it? It either needs firmware, or it doesn't, so you should know.

krjames wrote:All a bit strange.


Not really strange at all, people post questions like this all the time without doing any research.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2931
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby debiman » 2018-03-17 08:17

krjames wrote:Entered the details from my previous computer in /etc/network/interfaces.

are you eventualy going to show us that file?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2127
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby krjames » 2018-03-20 08:40

Here's the file:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 210.110.83.32
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 210.110.83.0
broadcast 210.110.83.255
gateway 210.110.83.1

dns-nameservers 202.30.44.11

I got no result for the ip - a , and lshw isn't on the system (command not found)

On start up I do get "you are now connected to wired connection 1"

I'll get a bit of internet time tomorrow...

Cheers
James
krjames
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-06-19 00:16
Location: South Korea

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby shep » 2018-03-20 12:58

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 210.110.83.32
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 210.110.83.0
broadcast 210.110.83.255
gateway 210.110.83.1

dns-nameservers 202.30.44.11


Network interface naming changed with the full implementation of systemd in Debian 9.

From this Arch wiki:https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Network_configuration

Network interfaces

For computers with multiple NICs, it is important to have fixed interface names. Many configuration problems are caused by interface name changing.

udev is responsible for assigning names to each device. Systemd uses Predictable Network Interface Names, which automatically assigns static names to network devices. Interfaces are now prefixed with en (wired/Ethernet), wl (wireless/WLAN), or ww (WWAN) followed by an automatically generated identifier, creating an entry such as enp0s25.
Get current interface names

Both wired and wireless interface names can be found via ls /sys/class/net or ip link
shep
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby stevepusser » 2018-03-20 17:07

Modern kernels seem to use the atl1c driver for that device. See if that driver is being loaded with the lsmod command.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Notepadqq 1.2.0, Pale Moon 27.9.0, KeePassXC 2.3.1, Calligra 3.1, VLC 3.0.1, Firefox 59.0.2, Shotwell 28.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9460
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby sunrat » 2018-03-20 21:20

krjames wrote:I got no result for the ip - a , and lshw isn't on the system (command not found)


Sorry, that should be
Code: Select all
ip a


You still haven't returned the info requested by bw123 in the first reply in this thread. It's impossible to solve your issue without information requested.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby krjames » 2018-03-21 08:42

Everything seems to be here. Sorry with the "ip a", mea culpa.
Obviously I don't know the questions to ask, so feel free to make suggestions. I have plenty of internet time on Friday :)
Cheers
James

root@stretch:/home/james# ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: ens34: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether 10:78:d2:2e:5f:1e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 169.254.0.21/24 brd 169.254.0.255 scope link dynamic ens34
valid_lft 6679sec preferred_lft 6679sec
inet6 fe80::1278:d2ff:fe2e:5f1e/64 scope link
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


root@stretch:/home/james# lspci -nn | grep Ethernet
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet [1969:1062] (rev c0)


Result from lsmod;

atl1c 40960 0
krjames
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-06-19 00:16
Location: South Korea

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby bw123 » 2018-03-21 11:33

It's okay, everybody on here knows that it's hard to look up things on the internet if you don't know the right terms or words to describe things.

If you only have one wired ethernet device, then ens34 would be it's name, not eth0, so that needs to be corrected if you want to use interfaces file to manage the network. You probably have another app like networkmanager trying to get an address for the device with dhcp, and it fails. That's why it has a 169.xxx address. Maybe your router is setup without dhcp?

https://duckduckgo.com/html/?q=ip+address+169

Either turn on the dhcp in the router, or set thing up with the right interface name and static addressing.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2931
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Internet not working, Qualcom Atheros

Postby krjames » 2018-04-02 08:25

Sorry to have disappeared like that...

I decided to re-install the system and start again.
The basic installs have never worked with the dhcp with the current internet connections. Been here 10 years and would have liked to do a net install.
Anyway from what I have learnt I collected the following and will get onto it as time allows...

Cheers


/etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

check for internet connectivity
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 0ms

03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)

modprobe atl1c produces no output
krjames
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-06-19 00:16
Location: South Korea

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable