Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Linux-headers issues

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Lost_in_Debian
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-03-14 11:23

Linux-headers issues

#1 Post by Lost_in_Debian »

Hi everyone, i'm nearly new with Debian, and i come here because after 2 days of research i don't know what to do anymore. I suppose i'm in the good section of this forum. So here 's my problem :

I have on dual boot Windows 10 and Debian 9.4.

I try to install Virtualbox on Debian 9.4 because i need it to use Vagrant.

When i tried to use it, they said it needs linux-headers.

After i installed it everything works, but when i want to restart my computer screen freezes after a moment, and i can't go on debian anymore.

I tried to install different versions of Virtualbox, (like 5.2 or 5.1 with extensions pack) and another vm but it seems linux-headers is mandatory to use a vm.

Every time i have to purge linux-headers and install another kernel if i want to boot again. Reinstalling the kernel don't work.

Code: Select all

 sudo apt install --reinstall linux-image-4.9.0-6-amd64
(for example).

Here's a list of kernel i tried :

-linux-image-amd64 (to got the latest version)
-linux-image-4.9.0-4-amd64
-linux-image-4.9.0-5-amd64
-linux-image-4.9.0-6-amd64

And here's some examples of what i did (in recovery mode) :

Code: Select all

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install --reinstall build-essential dkms
/sbin/shutdown -r now
then :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install --reinstall linux-headers-amd64
sudo update-initramfs -u
sudo update-grub
/sbin/shutdown -r now
It's only when i install linux-headers for my current version (of kernel) that debian can't boot. I can install VirtualBox (even if it doesn't work after), or Vagrant.


My sources.list

Code: Select all

# FR
deb http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
# deb-src http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free

deb http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free
# deb-src http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
# deb-src http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free

# Debian stretch depot principal

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
# deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free

#Autres sources

deb http://apt.postgresql.org/pub/repos/apt/ stretch-pgdg main
deb http://https://ftp.igh.cnrs.fr/pub/CRAN//bin/linux/debian stretch-cran34/
deb http://qgis.org/debian-ltr stretch main
# deb-src http://qgis.org/debian-ltr stretch main

#VirtualBox
deb https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian stretch contrib
deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian stretch contrib
# deb-src http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian stretch contrib
(And i'm sorry for my english, used to read but not write :) )

milomak
Posts: 2158
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Linux-headers issues

#2 Post by milomak »

so yu say it freezes?

does that mean the screen stays showing the last view?

it goes blank and you have to wait?

if you move the mouse it stays in the same position?

and if you remove virtualbox and linux-headers your computer reboots without any of these problems?
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: hp 250 G8 i3 11th Gen - Sid
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Linux-headers issues

#3 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

I won't support VirtualBox but the best way to get the correct headers is

Code: Select all

# apt install module-assistant
# m-a prepare
And you need the kernel metapackage, running an outdated kernel is not a good idea.
deadbang

Post Reply