Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Kate and dolphin as root

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
djevil1
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-04-10 10:53

Kate and dolphin as root

#1 Post by djevil1 »

Hi,
I want to use kate and dolphin as root.

I know it may be insecure.

But it is not a productive system.

I need it to write and test scripts, that will be copied later on a productive system.

How can I bypass that restrictions?

User avatar
Hallvor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2029
Joined: 2009-04-16 18:35
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 206 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#2 Post by Hallvor »

I haven't done that in a long time, but I did run a few GUI applications with kdesu, e.g. kdesu dolphin in the past. I don't know if it still works. Do not run GUI applications with su.
[HowTo] Install and configure Debian bookworm
Debian 12 | KDE Plasma | ThinkPad T440s | 4 × Intel® Core™ i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz | 12 GiB RAM | Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4400 | 1 TB SSD

kopper
Posts: 137
Joined: 2016-09-30 14:30

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#3 Post by kopper »

Code: Select all

apt show kdesudo
You could just execute your script with sudo. I don't get why you have to run your development environment and file manger as root. Maybe I'm ignorant.
Debian 10.2 Stable with i3
Secure your stuff: Securing Debian Manual
Don't break your stuff: Source List Management DontBreakDebian

djevil1
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-04-10 10:53

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#4 Post by djevil1 »

@Hallvor
No, kdesudo does not work with kate and dolphin anymore..

@kopper
Having an editor with syntax highlighting, mouse support, line numbers, 32bit colors, .... need more arguments?
However if you use vi for ten years, I probably cannot convince you.. ;)

User avatar
Hallvor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2029
Joined: 2009-04-16 18:35
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 206 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#5 Post by Hallvor »

djevil1 wrote:@Hallvor
No, kdesudo does not work with kate and dolphin anymore..

@kopper
Having an editor with syntax highlighting, mouse support, line numbers, 32bit colors, .... need more arguments?
However if you use vi for ten years, I probably cannot convince you.. ;)
At least it is possible to use Krusader. It has its own root mode.
[HowTo] Install and configure Debian bookworm
Debian 12 | KDE Plasma | ThinkPad T440s | 4 × Intel® Core™ i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz | 12 GiB RAM | Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4400 | 1 TB SSD

djevil1
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-04-10 10:53

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#6 Post by djevil1 »

krusader, sounds good, thx!

User avatar
roseway
Posts: 1528
Joined: 2007-12-31 22:50
Location: Kent, UK
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#7 Post by roseway »

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/kde4/libexec/kdesu dolphin
That works

I would make this easier by adding a link to kdesu in /usr/bin:

Code: Select all

# ln -s /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/kdesu /usr/bin/kdesu
Eric

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#8 Post by stevepusser »

Kdesu doesn't work with Dolphin on KDE 5 any longer, for some odd reason. The icons turn out to be invisible for when you try that.

Just edit your script in your home folder as a regular user, then copy it in the terminal to its system location.

Well, OK, if you don't want that, you can use the Root Actions service menu package. It adds Root Actions right-click context menus that lets you do what you requested, and uses pkexec to work around the problems with the older tools. It's not in Debian, but is in MX 15/16 for Jessie and mx17 for Stretch:

http://mxrepo.com/mx/repo/pool/main/r/r ... rvicemenu/
MX Linux packager and developer

djevil1
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-04-10 10:53

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#9 Post by djevil1 »

@ roseway
No, kdesu does not work with kate or dolphin anymore

@stevepusser
Haven't tried the root actions menu yet, but I will..

because..

@hallvor
krusader seems to be a good alternative to dolphin and kate,( if not even much better), but will take some time to figure it out..

but thank you all very much!

User avatar
roseway
Posts: 1528
Joined: 2007-12-31 22:50
Location: Kent, UK
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#10 Post by roseway »

Kdesu works fine with Dolphin (and other GUI programs) on Stretch here.
Eric

User avatar
Hallvor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2029
Joined: 2009-04-16 18:35
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 206 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#11 Post by Hallvor »

roseway wrote:Kdesu works fine with Dolphin (and other GUI programs) on Stretch here.
Yes, running the full path does indeed work in Stretch.
[HowTo] Install and configure Debian bookworm
Debian 12 | KDE Plasma | ThinkPad T440s | 4 × Intel® Core™ i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz | 12 GiB RAM | Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4400 | 1 TB SSD

User avatar
roseway
Posts: 1528
Joined: 2007-12-31 22:50
Location: Kent, UK
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#12 Post by roseway »

That's why I suggested adding a symlink to it in /usr/bin.
Eric

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Kate and dolphin as root

#13 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

wizard10000 wrote:wayland doesn't allow privilege escalation in the GUI
Just allow root access, that'll learn it:

Code: Select all

xhost +local:
:mrgreen:

Warning: don't try this at home kids!
deadbang

Post Reply