Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[solved] USB Stick Bootloader Problems

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
verrain

[solved] USB Stick Bootloader Problems

#1 Post by verrain »

Hello Guys,

I'm an advanced beginner regarding to Debian, but relative new regarding to Linux booting from USB.

While the installation I had problems while installing grub, so I skipped that. When I'm starting my laptop now, I can boot from efi file, and then everything is fine. But the USB Stick can't boot automatically. Few days ago I tried to boot this stick from an old windows 7 desktop pc, but my stick was not found in the boot manager, and on this old PC, there was no option to boot from grub.

The stick is sdb and here my outputs from lsblk

Code: Select all

NAME        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda           8:0    0 465,8G  0 disk 
├─sda1        8:1    0  1023M  0 part 
├─sda2        8:2    0   360M  0 part /boot/efi
├─sda3        8:3    0   128M  0 part 
├─sda4        8:4    0   451G  0 part 
├─sda5        8:5    0   903M  0 part 
├─sda6        8:6    0  10,4G  0 part 
└─sda7        8:7    0     2G  0 part 
sdb           8:16   1  29,4G  0 disk 
├─sdb1        8:17   1   512M  0 part 
├─sdb2        8:18   1  21,7G  0 part /
└─sdb3        8:19   1   7,2G  0 part [SWAP]
mmcblk0     179:0    0    29G  0 disk 
└─mmcblk0p1 179:1    0    29G  0 part 
sdb1 is the efi partition. But I want, that sdb2 will be boot automatically. I tried several things to install manually the bootload while installation, but nothing works and i tried to install the bootloader via syslinux with several commands, but it's still not booting automatically. Please help me.

Thanks a lot