Xorg error with new kernel

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Xorg error with new kernel

Postby 9WdjioAQ9eWD » 2018-05-09 05:20

Hi. I updated kernel from 4.9 to 4.15 and now when I use Kernel 4.15 it goes to login page and after I type login and password i get logged in for 2 seconds and then I get kicked back to login screen

Xorg error
Code: Select all
(EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)


Using old Kernel all is okay.
I'm using nouveau, I tried to uninstall and install it and reconfigure but it didn't help.


I found on google what I should do

Code: Select all
    What counts is what kernel was running when the nvidia module was built, since it was built using the header files for that kernel, and it was installed where that kernel can find it to load. If you're running a different kernel now than you were when you built the nvidia module, you'll have to rebuild the nvidia module and reinstall it.


But I don't know how to do it


Xorg errors https://pastebin.com/fmgWnZf2

-------
Sorry for my username, I accidentally copy-paste something in username field, I wanted to set my username as zazise
9WdjioAQ9eWD
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-05-09 05:09

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby sunrat » 2018-05-09 06:37

9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:Hi. I updated kernel from 4.9 to 4.15 and now when I use Kernel 4.15 it goes to login page and after I type login and password i get logged in for 2 seconds and then I get kicked back to login screen

Exactly what kernel is it and how did you install it?

Xorg error
Code: Select all
(EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)


Using old Kernel all is okay.
I'm using nouveau, I tried to uninstall and install it and reconfigure but it didn't help.

There is no nv module these days. Basically replaced with nouveau.

I found on google what I should do

Code: Select all
    What counts is what kernel was running when the nvidia module was built, since it was built using the header files for that kernel, and it was installed where that kernel can find it to load. If you're running a different kernel now than you were when you built the nvidia module, you'll have to rebuild the nvidia module and reinstall it.

Doesn't apply to nouveau, that is for the proprietary driver.

Your pastebin is not there. Check journalctl, dmesg and logs in /var/log/ for more clues.
If you're using Gnome, see any of the multiple other posts in the last couple of days for an error that snuck in for GDM. I doubt it's that though as it would't let you boot the old kernel either.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-05-09 12:03

Is there a specific need for newer kernel from backports? 4.9 series is LTS, so it'll get upgrades for a long time.
Why Debian isn't user-friendly?
HOWTO: Install ES3 Morrowind on Debian Sid and Stable
"My computer is a few electrical transistors I flip manually with registers made out of salt water and lemon juice in some cups." - some guy on Reddit
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby sunrat » 2018-05-09 22:42

Wheelerof4te wrote:Is there a specific need for newer kernel from backports? 4.9 series is LTS, so it'll get upgrades for a long time.


True. If 4.9 is working, use it.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby 9WdjioAQ9eWD » 2018-05-13 07:29

sunrat wrote: how did you install it?

Upgraded to testing

sunrat wrote:Your pastebin is not there. Check journalctl, dmesg and logs in /var/log/ for more clues.
If you're using Gnome, see any of the multiple other posts in the last couple of days for an error that snuck in for GDM. I doubt it's that though as it would't let you boot the old kernel either.

https://pastebin.com/5cZsadF9


sunrat wrote:
Wheelerof4te wrote:Is there a specific need for newer kernel from backports? 4.9 series is LTS, so it'll get upgrades for a long time.


True. If 4.9 is working, use it.

If I knew that I will have such errors I wouldn't update to testing, but now seems there is no way back(as I know from testing you cannot switch back to stable). Also if I wanted new kernel I should update only kernel and do not change repositories to testing, but now it's to late :(
9WdjioAQ9eWD
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-05-09 05:09

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-05-13 07:36

9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:Upgraded to testing

Moving from stable to testing is not an "upgrade", the development branches break regularly and are not intended for n00bs — go back to stable.

EDIT: by which I mean reinstall from scratch.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7455
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby 9WdjioAQ9eWD » 2018-05-13 14:28

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:Upgraded to testing

Moving from stable to testing is not an "upgrade", the development branches break regularly and are not intended for n00bs — go back to stable.

EDIT: by which I mean reinstall from scratch.

Is there a way to fix this without reinstalling ?
If I reinstall I will have alot of work then, I will need to set all settings and install all packages I need
9WdjioAQ9eWD
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-05-09 05:09

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby bw123 » 2018-05-13 15:09

9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:Upgraded to testing

Moving from stable to testing is not an "upgrade", the development branches break regularly and are not intended for n00bs — go back to stable.

EDIT: by which I mean reinstall from scratch.

Is there a way to fix this without reinstalling ?
If I reinstall I will have alot of work then, I will need to set all settings and install all packages I need


Sounds like you botched the "upgrade" to testing. You broke it, and you're the only one who knows how. You didn't explain how it got that way.

You said it works okay with the old kernel, so use that for now. In the long run, it's probably going to be hard to use apt and keep the system updated.

Reinstall with stretch won't be all that bad, back up you home and data.

p.s. try creating a new user and see if you can login, maybe it's a config issue with only that user?
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2988
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby 9WdjioAQ9eWD » 2018-05-13 17:17

bw123 wrote:
9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Moving from stable to testing is not an "upgrade", the development branches break regularly and are not intended for n00bs — go back to stable.

EDIT: by which I mean reinstall from scratch.

Is there a way to fix this without reinstalling ?
If I reinstall I will have alot of work then, I will need to set all settings and install all packages I need


Sounds like you botched the "upgrade" to testing. You broke it, and you're the only one who knows how. You didn't explain how it got that way.

You said it works okay with the old kernel, so use that for now. In the long run, it's probably going to be hard to use apt and keep the system updated.

Reinstall with stretch won't be all that bad, back up you home and data.

p.s. try creating a new user and see if you can login, maybe it's a config issue with only that user?



I just changed in sources.list all to testing and use apt-get update upgrade

It's not a user config issue
Sometimes if I go with new kernel to TTY and then back to login screen and login it's okay and I can run new kernel but if I start Kernel Virtual Machine it kickes me to Login screen.
9WdjioAQ9eWD
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-05-09 05:09

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby sunrat » 2018-05-14 00:21

9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:I just changed in sources.list all to testing and use apt-get update upgrade


For a start, you probably need to do apt dist-upgrade after doing that. And there are things that can go wrong when upgrading release versions.
It's much safer to use backports if you just want new packages in Stable. And it's much easier to run Stable, as Testing has an eternal upgrade cycle so is hard work to maintain. Testing is more likely to break without warning. I only remember one time when Stable broke - last week. :shock:
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Xorg error with new kernel

Postby 9WdjioAQ9eWD » 2018-05-14 15:45

sunrat wrote:
9WdjioAQ9eWD wrote:I just changed in sources.list all to testing and use apt-get update upgrade


For a start, you probably need to do apt dist-upgrade after doing that. And there are things that can go wrong when upgrading release versions.
It's much safer to use backports if you just want new packages in Stable. And it's much easier to run Stable, as Testing has an eternal upgrade cycle so is hard work to maintain. Testing is more likely to break without warning. I only remember one time when Stable broke - last week. :shock:

I've done dist-upgrade as well
If Iit's almost impossible to fix this would be a solution to repositories to backports and do a apt-get upgrade update dist upgrade and use the working kernel
9WdjioAQ9eWD
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-05-09 05:09


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable