Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Postby debiofranz » 2018-06-23 16:52

Hi everybody!
I bought a new PC which has a Coffe Lake Intel i5 8400, with an integrated graphics card Intel Graphics 630.
Once installed Debian 9 with UEFI, I proceeded to correct the screen resolution but I can not change resolution from 1024x768px to 2560x1440px (I can only see one option).
I searched the web for possible solutions but the problem is still there.
Under here I'll paste what I did until now:

Using: Debian 9 with kernel 4.9.0-6-amd64
HW: Intel i5 8400 on H310 chipset, no dedicated graphics card
Video ports available: VGA, HDMI and DVI

_________________________
xrandr

Code: Select all
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      76.00*


_________________________
cvt 2560 1440 60

Code: Select all
# 2560x1440 59.96 Hz (CVT 3.69M9) hsync: 89.52 kHz; pclk: 312.25 MHz
Modeline "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync


_________________________
xrandr --newmode "2k_60hz" 312.25 2560 2752 3024 3488 1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
+
xrandr again

Code: Select all
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

Code: Select all
Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      76.00*
  2k_60hz (0x289) 312.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  2560 start 2752 end 3024 total 3488 skew    0 clock  89.52KHz
        v: height 1440 start 1443 end 1448 total 1493           clock  59.96Hz


_________________________
xrandr --addmode default 2k_60hz

Code: Select all
xrandr --addmode default 2k_60hz
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default


_________________________
/etc/default/grub edited as root + update-grub

Code: Select all
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="i915.alpha_support=1 quiet splash"



Am I missing something? A driver maybe?

Thank you guys.
debiofranz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-06-23 16:17

Re: Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-06-23 17:02

Your hardware is far too new for Debian stable, the software versions are frozen six months before the release, as per policy.

Either trade in your shiny new shit for something that actually supports Debian stable, wait for the next release or try to patch together some support using stretch-backports:

https://backports.debian.org/

You will need a newer kernel, mesa drivers and firmware(-misc-nonfree), maybe more.
Charlie don't hack
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Postby stevepusser » 2018-06-23 19:36

My new MSI laptop has similar hardware. I don't think that the firmware is new enough in any version of Debian; Ubuntu has updated their versions, though.

You need the newest kernel you can get--stretch-backports has 4.16.12, and I'm running a backported 4.17.2 right now that I built yesterday. That got rid of a bunch of ACPI errors I was getting when booting 4.16 and 4.15 kernels--YMMV.

Install inxi and run "inxi -G" before and after the following to see if you get your graphics working fully. You want to get rid of "gallium" and have the last line start with something like this:

Code: Select all
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics (Coffeelake 3x8 GT2)


You also need to upgrade to the Mesa 17.3.9 stack that's in stretch-backports to get support for Coffee Lake.

You can get the latest firmware installed by installing build-essentials and git, then running

Code: Select all
mkdir -p ~/linux
cd ~/linux
git clone https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git/
cd linux-firmware


(as root or with sudo)
Code: Select all
make install


Reboot. The newer firmware will also get newer Intel wi-fi working, such as the Intel Wireless-AC 9560 [Jefferson Peak] that often goes comes with Coffee Lake laptops. Debian's firmware needs updating to include the new files...
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.4, Pale Moon 27.9.4, wine-staging 3.12, MPC-QT 18.03, Linux kernel 4.17.8, Krita 4.1.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9729
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-06-24 07:23

stevepusser wrote:Debian's firmware needs updating to include the new files...

Has a bug been reported for this?

Which packages are out of date? I could package new versions for the forum if needed.
Charlie don't hack
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Changing resolution on Intel Graphics 630

Postby stevepusser » 2018-06-24 22:36

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=899101
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=900871
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=898267

Almost all the various non-free firmware packages derive from one set of source files: firmware-nonfree https://packages.debian.org/sid/firmware-iwlwifi

I know that various bug reports have been filed about missing firmware for newer releases lately, since it is ten months old now! Even if the debian/rules file has a get-orig-source target to update the source package from the git repo, it looks like a lot of manual additions need to be made to each package's description if you want to keep up with the detailed listing of included files.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.4, Pale Moon 27.9.4, wine-staging 3.12, MPC-QT 18.03, Linux kernel 4.17.8, Krita 4.1.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9729
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable