Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
kobra
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-07 15:20

Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#1 Post by kobra »

Hey folks,
Trying to build a small cluster using few Raspberry Pi. All instances are connected to the switch which is connected to main router through the ethernet cable.

On the "master" I have set up dhcp server, output from ifconfig:

Code: Select all

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 10.0.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
inet6 fe80::c405:7022:93a5:b893 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether b8:27:eb:ba:06:d2 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 3729 bytes 490317 (478.8 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 2319 bytes 363979 (355.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 27 bytes 1690 (1.6 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 27 bytes 1690 (1.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255
inet6 fe80::a4b7:bb19:5516:c72e prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether b8:27:eb:ef:53:87 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 6707 bytes 2629298 (2.5 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 800 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 2782 bytes 421279 (411.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
Also I have enabled WiFi, but I'm able to connect to the outside world even without it.

When I have connected a second instance of Raspberry PI, it has automatically received ip address 10.0.0.2 (that confirms dhcp server works). I'm even able to ssh into that instance from the "master". But unfortunately I can't talk to the outside world from it (even after configuring WiFi), for example I have tried to ping 8.8.8.8 no success.

Here is the output of ifconfig from this instance:

Code: Select all

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 10.0.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
inet6 fe80::4326:21bb:8fc0:92b8 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether b8:27:eb:e6:46:1d txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1963 bytes 168182 (164.2 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 1 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 643 bytes 71336 (69.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 10.0.0.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
inet6 fe80::fa30:58d:9c1a:77da prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether b8:27:eb:b3:13:48 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1357 bytes 273778 (267.3 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 800 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 48 bytes 7045 (6.8 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
What should I do to be able to access something outside on this internal network.

arzgi
Posts: 1183
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#2 Post by arzgi »

kobra wrote:Hey folks,
Trying to build a small cluster using few Raspberry Pi. All instances are connected to the switch which is connected to main router through the ethernet cable.
This is Debian user forums. Try https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums

kobra
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-07 15:20

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#3 Post by kobra »

arzgi wrote:This is Debian user forums. Try https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums
I'm using Raspbian Lite which is based on Debian. I assume that configuration of dhcp and networking overall shouldn't be different.

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#4 Post by bw123 »

I'm using Raspbian Lite which is based on Debian. I assume that configuration of dhcp and networking overall shouldn't be different.
Why would you assume that? Debian uses iproute2 by default instead of ifconfig from net-tools. At least on the arch I am running...
https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/ ... on.en.html
resigned by AI ChatGPT

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5343
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#5 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

kobra wrote:I'm using Raspbian Lite which is based on Debian. I assume that configuration of dhcp and networking overall shouldn't be different.
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfiguration
Find out - and let us know :)
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

tynman
Posts: 131
Joined: 2016-05-03 19:48
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#6 Post by tynman »

For the record, Raspbian 8 installs both the iproute2 and ipconfig software by default, just like Debian 8.

kobra
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-07 15:20

Re: Configuration of dhcp server and nodes

#7 Post by kobra »

You can close this topic, I have found way to resolve this problem.

Post Reply