[Solved] High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[Solved] High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby bester69 » 2018-08-20 08:07

Hi,
From sime time ago, Ive got this problem with mount.ntfs-3g (Debian Stretch), for example when I open gparted... I think It might started happening when decided to use hardlinks in ntfs partitions. Might it have to be with big ntfs hardklinked directories?

Any help, please

Thanks.
Last edited by bester69 on 2018-08-21 01:55, edited 1 time in total.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby None1975 » 2018-08-20 13:42

I noticed a similar problem when copying files to removable media (external hard drive), which contains NTFS file system. The CPU is used for about 20-30 percent. However, if you are copying from an external hard disk to a drive located in a computer (internal hard drive), only 5 percent of the CPU is used.
OS: Debian 9.5 / WM: Xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
Linux User #607425
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 654
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby bester69 » 2018-08-20 17:37

None1975 wrote:I noticed a similar problem when copying files to removable media (external hard drive), which contains NTFS file system. The CPU is used for about 20-30 percent. However, if you are copying from an external hard disk to a drive located in a computer (internal hard drive), only 5 percent of the CPU is used.

The thing is, im not copying anything, sometimes When I launch gparted, It takes like 5 minits long to opened due to ntfs partitions (mount.ntfs-3g working with hight cpu for five minits or so)..

I will try with removing hardlinks in ntfs's partitions... I have five retentions folder backups full of hardlinks in those partitions , I used them for recovery undeleted files in ntfs
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby debiman » 2018-08-20 19:53

considering you're dedicated to running a frankendebian (what was it, a ubuntu kernel on debian stable?) - who's to know why that happens, but you?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby bester69 » 2018-08-21 00:18

debiman wrote:considering you're dedicated to running a frankendebian (what was it, a ubuntu kernel on debian stable?) - who's to know why that happens, but you?


Ive seen ive got a hardware issue in some directory I cant remove it anyway.:
user@hall:/media/sda1/.SDA1/6-20180821_02:26:34/BACKINTIME/Youtubes/asa$ ls
ls: reading directory '.': Error Input/output


Perhaps this was the problem that was causing ntfs-3g drivers CPU issues... Im going to investigate how to solve this problem, I guess I must reboot in windows and exec chkdsk and trying to remove thoses bad folders.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby bester69 » 2018-08-21 01:54

ntfsresize v2016.2.22AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda1
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 60001612288 bytes (60002 MB)
Current device size: 60001615872 bytes (60002 MB)
Checking for bad sectors ...
Checking filesystem consistency ...
0,00 percent completed
0,03 percent completed
....
99,95 percent completed
99,98 percent completed
100.00 percent completed
Accounting clusters ...
Cluster accounting failed at 12732863 (0xc249bf): extra cluster in $Bitmap
.....
Cluster accounting failed at 13997687 (0xd59677): extra cluster in $Bitmap
Filesystem check failed! Totally 9 cluster accounting mismatches.
ERROR: NTFS is inconsistent. Run chkdsk /f on Windows then reboot it TWICE!
The usage of the /f parameter is very IMPORTANT! No modification was
and will be made to NTFS by this software until it gets repaired.



Ok , problem solved (I runned chkdsk /f on Windows then reboot it TWICE!)

Thanks.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby p.H » 2018-08-21 08:45

bester69 wrote:Ive seen ive got a hardware issue in some directory I cant remove it anyway.:
user@hall:/media/sda1/.SDA1/6-20180821_02:26:34/BACKINTIME/Youtubes/asa$ ls
ls: reading directory '.': Error Input/output

This error does not mean there is a hardware issue. It can be caused by a damaged filesystem. A hardware issue would show up in the kernel logs.
chkdsk would not fix bad block issues without /r.
p.H
 
Posts: 602
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: High CPU usage by mount.ntfs-3g process

Postby bester69 » 2018-08-21 10:38

p.H wrote:
bester69 wrote:Ive seen ive got a hardware issue in some directory I cant remove it anyway.:
user@hall:/media/sda1/.SDA1/6-20180821_02:26:34/BACKINTIME/Youtubes/asa$ ls
ls: reading directory '.': Error Input/output

This error does not mean there is a hardware issue. It can be caused by a damaged filesystem. A hardware issue would show up in the kernel logs.
chkdsk would not fix bad block issues without /r.

Yeah. Im agree, I tend to explain myself vert badly. sorry!, As you said It means a ntfs damaged filesystem.. I repaired by using "windows disk manager gui (option repair)", so I guess It would use /r. I needed about two reboot or so in windows 10 while chkdsk operations, and now gparted can verify partition is ok. I think mount.ntfs-3g cpu process has gone.

thanks.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable