Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby amandalin » 2018-08-28 02:01

Hi,

Does someone know if i wanna access the grub 2 terminal over a serial port without editing grub configuration, is it possible?
the version is Debian 8.9.
amandalin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-27 08:05

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby debiman » 2018-08-28 06:09

amandalin wrote:Hi,

Does someone know if i wanna access the grub 2 terminal over a serial port without editing grub configuration, is it possible?
the version is Debian 8.9.

there isn't much information or initial troubleshooting in your post.
please improve it.

if all you want is a literal answer to your question, a simple web search seems sufficient.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby amandalin » 2018-08-29 02:44

Hi Debiman,

Sorry for my ignorance, i checked the Remote Serial Console HOWTO.pdf(refer to attachment), and through the document I knew i can complete serial port setting by modifying configuration of grub, am I right?

But I'm wondering if I can output terminal over serial port without changing any configuration(by using default grub)?
amandalin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-27 08:05

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-08-29 05:17

amandalin wrote:by using default grub

The kernel parameters can be changed from the default GRUB menu by pressing "e" with the menu entry highlighted.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby amandalin » 2018-08-29 05:44

Hi Head_on_a_Stick,

i knew the way as you mentioned pressing 'e', can i say it is a one-time use, a temparary usage? because in this way we don't modify any content of grub configuration.

So, if i don't modify anything, even GRUB menu while booting, can i output terminal over serial port?
amandalin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-27 08:05

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby debiman » 2018-08-29 06:28

amandalin wrote:refer to attachment

there's no attachment.
a web link would be better in any case.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby amandalin » 2018-08-29 07:41

thanks for reminder, here's the reference: http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/pdf/Remote-Se ... -HOWTO.pdf
amandalin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-27 08:05

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby debiman » 2018-08-29 17:21

i see.
well, it seems to be possible with editing.
look at the document; does it require you to edit grub configuration to be able to get access over serial port?
if yes, do you think it will work without doing that?
have you tried?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-08-29 18:52

amandalin wrote:i knew the way as you mentioned pressing 'e', can i say it is a one-time use, a temparary usage?

Yes, it is a temporary change and will be lost the next time the image is booted.

EDIT: @debiman, I've used Debian images to install via the serial console (under OpenBSD's hypervisor), it only needs a few kernel parameters added.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Access the GRUB 2 terminal over a serial port

Postby amandalin » 2018-09-04 01:33

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
amandalin wrote:i knew the way as you mentioned pressing 'e', can i say it is a one-time use, a temparary usage?

Yes, it is a temporary change and will be lost the next time the image is booted.

EDIT: @debiman, I've used Debian images to install via the serial console (under OpenBSD's hypervisor), it only needs a few kernel parameters added.


Hi Head_on_a_Stick,

Actually, the question "access without editing grub" is asked from my customer. So, thanks for your feedback, but can anyone tell me whether the answer is possible or not?
amandalin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-27 08:05


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable