Firefox update messed up flash [SOLVED]

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby stevepusser » 2018-09-20 18:44

ckosloff wrote:
stevepusser wrote:
ckosloff wrote:The funny thing is that flash was working perfectly until the freakin Firefox update, so I think it has to do with that, or that I have to move the library to a different location.
Has anybody got flash to work with the latest Firefox.
I don't like Flash , I just need it for work purposes.
The semi automatic method recommended by the wiki fails, that shell script has errors.


Try the MX 17 adobe-flashplugin package, tell me if it doesn't work, or quit complaining. Use gdebi to install a standalone deb package if you don't know how to do that. http://mxrepo.com/mx/repo/pool/non-free ... ashplugin/
Firefox requires that it be restarted, the same as for any added plugin.

Note that the plugin was just updated, so I'm doing the 20180911.1 update right now for the repo.


I followed your suggestion and got this weird message from dpkg, please note that I did not type anything just went to download location in Dolphin and opened terminal there:

Code: Select all
root@crosshair:~# dpkg -i adobe-flashplugin_20190811.1-1mx17+1.amd64.deb
dpkg: error: cannot access archive 'adobe-flashplugin_20190811.1-1mx17+1.amd64.deb': No such file or directory
root@crosshair:~#


Are you sure that downloaded deb file exists in the root of your home directory (~) instead of a subdirectory? Because that's where your output says you're trying to install it from.

I would also suggest you install and use gdebi, or learn how to use the "apt" command to do so, instead of dpkg to install standalone deb packages.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kdenlive 18.08.1, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.17, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Liquorix kernel 4.18-13, Audacity 2.3.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10015
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby milomak » 2018-09-20 22:45

is it possible to know the site in question?

i run sid
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby ckosloff » 2018-09-21 01:05

milomak wrote:is it possible to know the site in question?

i run sid

What site?
packages.debian.org, I presume
Last edited by ckosloff on 2018-09-21 01:16, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 371
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby ckosloff » 2018-09-21 01:15

@steve pusser

I don't want to install gdebi, don't want to mix KDE with gnome packages, I find synaptic to perfectly suit my needs.
Besides dpkg is a true Debian package, and I have installed lots of files with it, without any problem.
But you are right about terminal being in correct location, if you open terminal in dolphin, it will not be in the full path, although Dolphin has an option to view full path, doing ls -al will not show the file, only if you cd the full path, it will find it and move or copy it, that is what i did, then mv or cp to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins both the NPAPI library and the pep one, just in case, as root.
Without rebooting, I got Flash after warning that plugin was outdated, I saved my choice and IT WORKED!
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 371
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby stevepusser » 2018-09-21 20:29

ckosloff wrote:@steve pusser

I don't want to install gdebi, don't want to mix KDE with gnome packages, I find synaptic to perfectly suit my needs.
Besides dpkg is a true Debian package, and I have installed lots of files with it, without any problem.
But you are right about terminal being in correct location, if you open terminal in dolphin, it will not be in the full path, although Dolphin has an option to view full path, doing ls -al will not show the file, only if you cd the full path, it will find it and move or copy it, that is what i did, then mv or cp to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins both the NPAPI library and the pep one, just in case, as root.
Without rebooting, I got Flash after warning that plugin was outdated, I saved my choice and IT WORKED!


You can use gdebi-kde instead:

simple tool to install deb files - KDE GUI

gdebi lets you install local deb packages resolving and installing its dependencies. apt does the same, but only for remote (http, ftp) located packages.

This package contains the KDE user interface.


Though the description is outdated, since we can now use apt to install local deb files, and any number at once, instead of just one at a time. So I wrote (with some help with the coding) and packaged a Dolphin right-click servicemenu that lets you either install a deb file with apt, or check its hash sums: http://mxrepo.com/mx/repo/pool/main/k/k ... stalldebs/
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kdenlive 18.08.1, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.17, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Liquorix kernel 4.18-13, Audacity 2.3.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10015
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby debiman » 2018-09-22 07:12

ckosloff wrote:don't want to mix KDE with gnome packages

aren't ALL desktop environments using gnome packages?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Firefox update messed up flash [SOLVED]

Postby milomak » 2018-09-24 00:53

or you can just use the terminal gdebi
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Firefox update messed up flash

Postby milomak » 2018-09-24 00:55

debiman wrote:
ckosloff wrote:don't want to mix KDE with gnome packages

aren't ALL desktop environments using gnome packages?

kde is quite it's own environment. but installing a package doesn't mean i bring the whole de in.

edit - by this i mean that you get a kde install disk. i would think it is possible that in a distribution there are some applications added from another. but i would think those would take absolute minimum.
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Previous

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable