aptitude no longer running

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

aptitude no longer running

Postby morgon » 2018-10-06 22:32

Hi,

I've updated quite a bit of packages via aptitude and rebooted.

Now I get this:

/home/mh > sudo aptitude
aptitude: relocation error: aptitude: symbol _ZN3URIcvNSt7__cxx1112basic_stringIcSt11char_traitsIcESaIcEEEB5cxx11Ev version APTPKG_5.0 not defined in file libapt-pkg.so.5.0 with link time reference

/home/mh > sudo apt-get update aptitude
apt-get: relocation error: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libapt-private.so.0.0: symbol _ZN3URIcvNSt7__cxx1112basic_stringIcSt11char_traitsIcESaIcEEEB5cxx11Ev version APTPKG_5.0 not defined in file libapt-pkg.so.5.0 with link time reference



So it seems libapt-pkg.so has a problem now.

What can I do?

Many thanks!
morgon
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby morgon » 2018-10-06 22:56

I went into /var/cache/apt/archives and installed the latest apt I could find via
sudo dpkg -i --auto-deconfigure apt_1.7.0~rc2_amd64.deb


Then I ran

sudo apt --fix-broken install


So now I have a working apt-get back.

However this remains:

/var/cache/apt/archives > sudo aptitude
aptitude: symbol lookup error: aptitude: undefined symbol: _ZN6Xapian4MSetC1EOS0_



EDIT:

For what it is worth:

/home/mh > sudo apt-get install aptitude
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
aptitude is already the newest version (0.8.11-3).
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
apt-transport-https libgconfmm-2.6-1v5 libglademm-2.4-1v5
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1614 not upgraded.
morgon
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby sunrat » 2018-10-06 23:18

morgon wrote:
... 1614 not upgraded.
:shock:

What kind of system are you running that reports that many upgrades?
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2495
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby morgon » 2018-10-06 23:45

stretch, but I only update if I have a real need for it...
morgon
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby morgon » 2018-10-07 00:00

I ran

sudo apt-get install libxapian30


And now aptitude is working again. I don't really understand what happend and would be interested if anybody could shed some light on this...
morgon
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby debiman » 2018-10-07 08:51

morgon wrote:I don't really understand what happend and would be interested if anybody could shed some light on this...

maybe:
morgon wrote:stretch, but I only update if I have a real need for it...

i think your system does have a real need for it....
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby sunrat » 2018-10-07 11:26

debiman wrote:
morgon wrote:I don't really understand what happend and would be interested if anybody could shed some light on this...

maybe:
morgon wrote:stretch, but I only update if I have a real need for it...

i think your system does have a real need for it....

Indeed. I suspect you don't have a pure Stretch system but have other repositories and/or packages. Stretch has had about 426 security updates in its whole lifetime. Not 1614. Of course there may be some non-security upgrades but Debian is very conservative with those.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2495
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby CwF » 2018-10-07 14:01

I don't get what you guys are talking about? That 1614 means he has 1614 packages total in the system, not 1614 packages that should be, need to, or could be upgraded. The results of the command could have simply read 'nothing to do'.
CwF
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-10-07 14:03

@OP: please post the full output of
Code: Select all
apt-get --simulate dist-upgrade

Be sure to use code tags because it will be lengthy.
dbruce wrote:Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle. Debian forums strive for the charm and ambience of a skinhead bar in Bacau. We intend to keep it that way.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8322
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby sunrat » 2018-10-07 21:52

CwF wrote:I don't get what you guys are talking about? That 1614 means he has 1614 packages total in the system, not 1614 packages that should be, need to, or could be upgraded. The results of the command could have simply read 'nothing to do'.

We're both right and wrong here. It seems to refer to the number of held packages, of which 1614 would still be a disturbing number. By your reasoning I have a total of 2 packages on my system:

Code: Select all
apt-get -s dist-upgrade
...
The following packages have been kept back:
  libsane-common sane-utils
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.


@morgon - please post what Head_on_a_Stick requested.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2495
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby stevepusser » 2018-10-08 00:26

Stretch only has aptitude 0.8.7 in the repo, yet the OP wrote:

Code: Select all
aptitude is already the newest version (0.8.11-3)


Image

Actually, just about every post here with problems similar to yours is a result of mixing incompatible repositories, so it's not hard to make the call.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Flightgear 2018.2.2, 4.19.5 kernel, wine-staging 4.0~rc1, Pale Moon 28.2.2, Mesa 18.2.6, Midori 7.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10278
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby stevepusser » 2018-10-08 00:34

CwF wrote:I don't get what you guys are talking about? That 1614 means he has 1614 packages total in the system, not 1614 packages that should be, need to, or could be upgraded. The results of the command could have simply read 'nothing to do'.


Wrongo bongo, sir or madam. The message means that that there are 1614 possible upgrades left unperformed, clearly because something like the testing and/or Sid repostories are enabled.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Flightgear 2018.2.2, 4.19.5 kernel, wine-staging 4.0~rc1, Pale Moon 28.2.2, Mesa 18.2.6, Midori 7.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10278
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby CwF » 2018-10-08 01:08

I learn new, I didn't read it that way, I pay attention better.
CwF
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby MagicPoulp » 2018-11-05 21:34

I got the same error.

Here is how anyone can get the error.

Install a fresh debian version stretch.
set up pinning

sudo apt-get install -t testing emacs25 emacs-goodies-el elpa-markdown-mode

now apt is corrupted. Trying to dpkg stable packages for apt and libapt-pkg* does not fix it.

$ apt-get
apt-get: relocation error: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libapt-private.so.0.0: symbol _ZN3URIcvNSt7__cxx1112basic_stringIcSt11char_traitsIcESaIcEEEB5cxx11Ev version APTPKG_5.0 not defined in file libapt-pkg.so.5.0 with link time reference
MagicPoulp
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2018-11-05 21:30

Re: aptitude no longer running

Postby None1975 » 2018-11-06 14:48

MagicPoulp wrote:sudo apt-get install -t testing emacs25 emacs-goodies-el elpa-markdown-mode

Everyone with their system does what they want. But. Debian Stable should not be combined with other releases. If you're trying to install software that isn't available in the current Debian Stable release, it's not a good idea to add repositories for other Debian releases. The problems might not happen right away, but the next time you install updates.

Image
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable