[SOLVED] Can't set correct screen resolution.

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-02-13 18:47

Patrik wrote:I could add and see the custom mode with xrandr but I got some crtc 0 and gamma size errors when I did the --output part.

Did you enter the error messages into a search engine and attempt to solve the problem?

Perhaps if you post the exact commands you used then we could spot any mistakes.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10600
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Patrik » 2019-02-13 18:57

Yes, I Googled the errors but found no applicable solution.
I will be pleased to post the exact commands and errors tomorrow.

Must update this today:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8R3ta7KA5Q
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJaWAC-U1bc

Looking forward to solving the resolution problem.
Patrik
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-02-12 04:03

Re: Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Patrik » 2019-02-14 21:37

So, this is what I get from xrandr:

patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 61.0*
800x600 61.0
640x480 60.0
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ cvt 1280 1024 59
# 1280x1024 58.85 Hz (CVT) hsync: 62.50 kHz; pclk: 106.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x1024_59.00" 106.00 1280 1360 1488 1696 1024 1027 1034 1062 -hsync +vsync
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_59.00" 106.00 1280 1360 1488 1696 1024 1027 1034 1062 -hsync +vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr --addmode default 1280x1024_59.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 61.0*
800x600 61.0
640x480 60.0
1280x1024_59.00 58.9
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr --output default --mode 1280x1024_59.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$

I Googled the crtc 0 failure but no one seems to solve it, they just find workarounds that don't apply in my case. That's why I thought that I would be forced to use the .conf file way of solving this.
Patrik
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-02-12 04:03

Re: Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Patrik » 2019-02-14 22:07

This is the xrandr --verbose after I added the mode:

patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr --verbose
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1024x768+0+0 (0x138) normal (normal) 0mm x 0mm
Identifier: 0x137
Timestamp: 18727
Subpixel: unknown
Clones:
CRTC: 0
CRTCs: 0
Transform: 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
filter:
1024x768 (0x138) 48.0MHz *current
h: width 1024 start 0 end 0 total 1024 skew 0 clock 46.8KHz
v: height 768 start 0 end 0 total 768 clock 61.0Hz
800x600 (0x139) 29.3MHz
h: width 800 start 0 end 0 total 800 skew 0 clock 36.6KHz
v: height 600 start 0 end 0 total 600 clock 61.0Hz
640x480 (0x13a) 18.4MHz
h: width 640 start 0 end 0 total 640 skew 0 clock 28.8KHz
v: height 480 start 0 end 0 total 480 clock 60.0Hz
1280x1024-60.00 (0x149) 109.0MHz -HSync +VSync
h: width 1280 start 1368 end 1496 total 1712 skew 0 clock 63.7KHz
v: height 1024 start 1027 end 1034 total 1063 clock 59.9Hz
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$

Maximum is now 1280x1024 but before I added the mode maximum was 1024x768.

This is xrandr --verbose if I boot with the VGA cable:

patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$ xrandr --verbose
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 (0x138) normal (normal) 0mm x 0mm
Identifier: 0x137
Timestamp: 20129
Subpixel: no subpixels
Clones:
CRTC: 0
CRTCs: 0
Transform: 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
filter:
1280x1024 (0x138) 0.0MHz *current
h: width 1280 start 0 end 0 total 1280 skew 0 clock 0.0KHz
v: height 1024 start 0 end 0 total 1024 clock 0.0Hz
1024x768 (0x139) 0.0MHz
h: width 1024 start 0 end 0 total 1024 skew 0 clock 0.0KHz
v: height 768 start 0 end 0 total 768 clock 0.0Hz
800x600 (0x13a) 0.0MHz
h: width 800 start 0 end 0 total 800 skew 0 clock 0.0KHz
v: height 600 start 0 end 0 total 600 clock 0.0Hz
640x480 (0x13b) 0.0MHz
h: width 640 start 0 end 0 total 640 skew 0 clock 0.0KHz
v: height 480 start 0 end 0 total 480 clock 0.0Hz
patrik@debian:/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d$

I stress again that the HDMI cable works fine if I boot with the VGA cable and then switch to the HDMI cable. There must be a (simple) way of tricking the computer but I cannot find it.
Patrik
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-02-12 04:03

Re: Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Patrik » 2019-02-15 20:08

Got it

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
DisplaySize 380 300
HorizSync 24-83
ModeLine "1280x1024" 108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066
#ModeLine "1280x1024" 108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

I am very grateful for the init=/bin/bash trick.
Patrik
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-02-12 04:03

Re: [SOLVED] Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby stevepusser » 2019-02-15 20:59

If your wired USB mouse is causing you to have to use the VESA driver with the long cable, perhaps a wireless mouse would be a better solution. I know that the Logitechs have up to about a 10 meter range.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Chromium 78.0.3904.87, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11234
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: [SOLVED] Can't set correct screen resolution.

Postby Patrik » 2019-02-15 21:15

Thanks, I am using a wireless mouse but I have only tried it with the vesa driver. The wireless mouse (and keyboard) is using a USB receiver so I think it may experience the same problem as a wired USB mouse. Everything seems to work now so I will not touch it. PS2 mice seem to work. I could have used a PS2 mouse but there is a significant chance the customer would change the mouse when I am not there and be disappointed. The mouse cable length was never the problem, it is the VGA signal that cannot travel 15 meters reliably. In the beginning it worked but with bad image quality. It degraded and stopped working.
Patrik
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-02-12 04:03

Previous

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

fashionable