how not to use a specific sound output device

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby rumpumpel1 » 2019-10-20 10:29

Hi,

how can I configure debian 10 NOT (in fact NEVER) to use my monitor as sound output device?
rumpumpel1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-20 10:24

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-10-20 10:45

Depends on your desktop. GNOME has a audio GUI that's quite simple to use.

For the command line see pacmd(1).
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10599
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby sunrat » 2019-10-20 10:57

For an easy GUI way, Pulse Audio Volume Control (pavucontrol). In Configuration tab, drop down the menu box for the device and select "Off".
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2868
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby rumpumpel1 » 2019-10-20 16:48

pavucontrol did the job. Thank you!
rumpumpel1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-20 10:24

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby sunrat » 2019-10-20 22:07

Excellent! :wink: 8)
I've had to deal with this regularly as audio seems to always default to HDMI rather than any other sound card. Most annoying!
Last edited by sunrat on 2019-10-21 22:48, edited 1 time in total.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2868
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby shep » 2019-10-21 22:27

For those who do not use pulseaudio
https://www.alsa-project.org/wiki/Setting_the_default_device

Since pulseaudio is a sound server that outputs to alsa, this should also work for pulseaudio users.
shep
 
Posts: 323
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: how not to use a specific sound output device

Postby sunrat » 2019-10-21 22:47

shep wrote:For those who do not use pulseaudio
https://www.alsa-project.org/wiki/Setting_the_default_device

Since pulseaudio is a sound server that outputs to alsa, this should also work for pulseaudio users.


Indeed I used to do that before PulseAudio. PA makes it easier. A more comprehensive guide to ALSA config is at - https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad ... sound_card
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2868
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable