Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot: SOLVED

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot: SOLVED

Postby bentHnau » 2019-11-14 18:33

I have Debian on my primary laptop partition and Hyperbola (an Arch-based distro with Debian security patches) on the other. A week ago, I chrooted into Hyperbola from Debian and updated Hyperbola. Then I upgraded Debian 9 to 10. Ever since then, I have not been able to access Hyperbola. When I choose Hyperbola from the grub menu at boot time, I get this error

Code: Select all
ERROR: device UUID=blah-blah-hyperbola-partition not found. Skipping fsck.
mount: can't find blah-blah
You are being dropped into an emergency shell.
sh: can't access tty: job control turned off


Then I'm at a [rootfs] prompt, but no characters appear on the screen when I type and I can't do anything but hit the power button. When I log into Debian, I can still mount and chroot into Hyperbola, but Hyperbola is never mounted at boot time.

I don't know whether something I did in Debian is the problem, but that's the only OS I have access to at this point and so it's what I'll have to use to fix this, so I'm asking here instead of the Hyperbola forums.
Last edited by bentHnau on 2019-11-25 23:50, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Stretch x64 on a Dell XPS 17 laptop
bentHnau
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2014-01-07 01:43
Location: California

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-14 19:05

First thing I would try is to update grub to make sure it is up to date, and if that doesn't work I would check the UUID of the Hyperbola installation to make sure it is correct both in the grub menu (press e to edit and look at the entry) and also in the fstab of Hyperbola.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby bentHnau » 2019-11-16 00:12

Dai_trying wrote:First thing I would try is to update grub to make sure it is up to date, and if that doesn't work I would check the UUID of the Hyperbola installation to make sure it is correct both in the grub menu (press e to edit and look at the entry) and also in the fstab of Hyperbola.

Neither of those helped. The grub menu entry is correct. Doesn't upgrading grub merely control the entries in the grub menu (rather than mounting)?
Debian Stretch x64 on a Dell XPS 17 laptop
bentHnau
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2014-01-07 01:43
Location: California

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby shep » 2019-11-16 02:55

If you took the defaults on a Debian 10 install and your BIOS is UEFI capable, then you have a GPT partition. If your BIOS is not UEFI capable, then you have MBR partitioning. How you restore your GRUB boot entries depends on UEFI vs MBR.

The first step I would do is check your partition with a partition tool that you are comfortable with. You may have to install one.
https://wiki.debian.org/Partition

If the partitions are intact (an upgrade should not re-part;ion your disk(s), then check the boot entries If you edited /boot/grub/grub.cfg directly to get your initial dual boot system, it was likely replaced during the upgrade. This is the reason direct editing of /boot/grub/grub.cfg is discouraged. If you had a /etc/grub.d/40-custom entry, the contents would be appended to /boot/grub/grub.cfg automatically during an upgrade.
shep
 
Posts: 328
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-16 08:34

bentHnau wrote:
Dai_trying wrote:First thing I would try is to update grub to make sure it is up to date, and if that doesn't work I would check the UUID of the Hyperbola installation to make sure it is correct both in the grub menu (press e to edit and look at the entry) and also in the fstab of Hyperbola.

Neither of those helped. The grub menu entry is correct. Doesn't upgrading grub merely control the entries in the grub menu (rather than mounting)?


You are right updating grub will not affect mounting, unless your current grub is pointing to the wrong UUID and in that case the entry would likely be removed as it is unavailable and also the update would point to the correct UUID as it finds it. The fstab entry of your hyperbola installation should control the actual mounting and so would also need to be correct, but these two things are both quite important for correct booting.

You say neither of those helped but you didn't say if UUID was correct in grub AND in Hyperbola's fstab, or whether you had to change anything, IME it is quite important to let others know what you did or didn't do and any effect it had (or didn't have) for us to be able to suggest anything else.

Simply saying it didn't help is often used when a user thinks it will do no good and so does nothing. I am not saying this is what you have (or havent) done but it is how I often interpret these things when I read them, after all if the user does not supply relevant information we (Debian users) have to start a guessing game which many (including myself) do not want to do.

Maybe you could post the contents of fstab from Hyperbola together with the result of lsblk -o +uuid (from Debian).
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby p.H » 2019-11-16 21:05

Also post at least the contents of the Hyperbola menu entry in /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

Did you try replacing "root=UUID=xxx" in the menu entry with "root=/dev/sda2" (or whatever the Hyperbola partition is) in GRUB ("e") before booting Hyperbola ?
This is not recommended for normal use (unreliable) but may help in this situation.
p.H
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby bentHnau » 2019-11-17 23:35

shep wrote:If you took the defaults on a Debian 10 install and your BIOS is UEFI capable, then you have a GPT partition. If your BIOS is not UEFI capable, then you have MBR partitioning. How you restore your GRUB boot entries depends on UEFI vs MBR.

Ok. Do you think there is a problem with my grub entry? I'm not sure whether you are suggesting this because I didn't give enough information about what I'd done so far or whether what I've posted actually suggests a problem with the grub entry.

The first step I would do is check your partition with a partition tool that you are comfortable with. You may have to install one.

I used gparted. Everything looked normal; the partition showed up and it's UUID iss the same as the one in grub and Hyperbola's fstab. The only strange thing was that gparted threw the error
Code: Select all
Unit tmp.mount does not exist, proceeding anyway.
just before the GUI started up.

If you edited /boot/grub/grub.cfg directly to get your initial dual boot system

I didn't. Just installed the second OS and then updated grub in the first OS.
If you had a /etc/grub.d/40-custom entry

I do have one, but I'm fairly sure that I didn't create it. Besides comments, there is nothing in it except
Code: Select all
exec tail -n +3 $0
./boot/grub/grub.cfg doesn't contain that line, but it does say "Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above."
Last edited by bentHnau on 2019-11-17 23:42, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Stretch x64 on a Dell XPS 17 laptop
bentHnau
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2014-01-07 01:43
Location: California

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby bentHnau » 2019-11-17 23:41

Dai_trying wrote:You say neither of those helped but you didn't say if UUID was correct in grub AND in Hyperbola's fstab, or whether you had to change anything

The UUID was the same in each one. I didn't change anything.

Maybe you could post the contents of fstab from Hyperbola together with the result of lsblk -o +uuid (from Debian).


here is the fstab:

Code: Select all
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>   <dir>   <type>   <options>   <dump>   <pass>
# /dev/sdb2
UUID=b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7   /            ext4         rw,relatime,data=ordered   0 1
# / was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
UUID=ac2b1f54-c797-4f5e-9656-834ae2d6ccbb none            swap    sw          0       0


Here is the output of lsblk -o +uuid

Code: Select all
NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT UUID
sda      8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk           
├─sda1   8:1    0   454G  0 part /          ac2b1f54-c797-4f5e-9656-834ae2d6ccbb
├─sda2   8:2    0     1K  0 part           
└─sda5   8:5    0  11.8G  0 part [SWAP]     ef6867ad-887c-4270-bbb9-6b7b4e28b048
sdb      8:16   0 465.8G  0 disk           
├─sdb1   8:17   0   3.5G  0 part            a56aa0ac-dcf0-4d43-b38b-8fac5979cfbc
└─sdb2   8:18   0 462.3G  0 part /mnt       b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7
sr0     11:0    1  1024M  0 rom       
Debian Stretch x64 on a Dell XPS 17 laptop
bentHnau
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2014-01-07 01:43
Location: California

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby bentHnau » 2019-11-17 23:54

p.H wrote:Also post at least the contents of the Hyperbola menu entry in /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

Code: Select all
menuentry 'Hyperbola GNU/Linux-libre (on /dev/sdb2)' --class hyperbola --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7' {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd1,msdos2'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd1,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,msdos2  b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7
   fi
   linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux-libre-lts root=UUID=b6076c5a-8b2f-4acf-af9a-37a114d389c7 rw quiet nouveau.config=NvBios=PRAMIN
   initrd /boot/initramfs-linux-libre-lts.img
}


Did you try replacing "root=UUID=xxx" in the menu entry with "root=/dev/sda2" (or whatever the Hyperbola partition is) in GRUB ("e") before booting Hyperbola ?

Yes. The same thing happened with almost the exact same error, except it said "/dev/sdb2 not found" instead of "UUID=xxx not found." It also said
Code: Select all
mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Was I supposed to add something else to specify filesystem type?
Debian Stretch x64 on a Dell XPS 17 laptop
bentHnau
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2014-01-07 01:43
Location: California

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-18 07:25

Your swap partition is wrong in your fstab, usually this would result in a 90 second boot delay but maybe you don't wait that long? try changing that to the correct one and see if that helps.

Your fstab entry
UUID=ac2b1f54-c797-4f5e-9656-834ae2d6ccbb none swap sw 0 0

should be
UUID=ef6867ad-887c-4270-bbb9-6b7b4e28b048 swap swap sw 0 0

It looks like you are trying to mount your 454Gb partition as swap.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby p.H » 2019-11-18 09:20

bentHnau wrote:Yes. The same thing happened with almost the exact same error, except it said "/dev/sdb2 not found" instead of "UUID=xxx not found

Hyperbola's kernel (/boot/vmlinuz-linux-libre-lts) or initramfs (/boot/initramfs-linux-libre-lts.img) may be broken and lack some required features or kernel modules. Or the initramfs may contain modules from the wrong (previous) kernel version.
Missing USB modules would explain why the keyboard does not work if you use a USB keyboard.
Missing SATA disk modules would explain why the root partition is not found.

Can you check the contents of the initramfs with lsinitramfs ?

bentHnau wrote:Was I supposed to add something else to specify filesystem type?

Usually, mount is able to find out the filesystem type automatically. Some flavours of mount with limited capabilities (which may be used in the initramfs) may require to specify rootfstype= in the kernel command line.

The swap UUID in fstab is wrong but it is not related with the root partition not found.
p.H
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-18 11:11

p.H wrote:The swap UUID in fstab is wrong but it is not related with the root partition not found.


I beg to differ...
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby p.H » 2019-11-18 12:44

Why ?
p.H
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-18 15:00

Because of the fstab configuration, trying to mount sda1 (454Gb partition) as a swap partition without a mount allocation (set as none) which I would say is pretty much the whole issue. I am not 100% certain but I cannot see any other reason for OP's issue.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Upgraded, now my other distro not found at boot

Postby p.H » 2019-11-19 14:42

Your theory does not match the messages reported in post #1.
p.H
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable