[SOLVED]Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-20 21:33

Great man !!!!! Champagne !

Not so fast. We are close to solution, but I must report this strange behavior. First time when I am issuing the pm-suspend command, everything is working perfectly, The system can be waked up, but If I issue the command second time, the system goes in suspend mode, but after wake up screen is black.
I can say that, if I issue the s2ram command, the command reports device or resource busy.
If I issue the systemctl suspend command system is trying to go into the sleep mode but it is not happening, only the Hard Drive is working non-stop.
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-20 21:36

Ok I understand: no champagne.
I cannot do more for you.
So sorry.
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-20 21:42

Thanks anyway, you are the first who have tried to solve this problem.
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-20 21:54

You now need to experiment a bit more by yourself with your specific configuration (BIOS/Nvidia etc).
Always difficult to reproduce exact same configuration to support efficiently.
You now know where some pieces of the puzzle are hidden !
And may be you'll find a second helper.
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 17:56

Is it possible to report this problem to Debian developers, so they can include patch in next release of Debian?
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-25 19:28

pythagorasmk wrote:How to configure KDE to use pm-suspend, so I can configure KDE after 30 min to suspend the machine?
Did you investigate KDE power systemsettings ?
https://docs.kde.org/trunk5/en/kde-work ... energy.png

pythagorasmk wrote:Is it possible to report this problem to Debian developers

You should first evaluate if you are able to report relevant and very precise information, including hardware configuration.
I don't think it is easy to work on something difficult to reproduce.

However, you are not the only nvidia user, and we see so many glitch descriptions with nvidia, that I would be surprised if you don't find some similarities with other descriptions, and may be solutions (all linux distributions included).
I don't have any experience with Nvidia. I guess someone else can give at least some ideas for investigation.
You should may be try different linux liveCD to see if suspend feature works better, and investigate its configuration.
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 19:46

L_V wrote:However, you are not the only nvidia user, and we see so many glitch descriptions with nvidia, that I would be surprised if you don't find some similarities with other descriptions, and may be solutions (all linux distributions included).
I don't have any experience with Nvidia. I guess someone else can give at least some ideas for investigation.
You should may be try different linux liveCD to see if suspend feature works better, and investigate its configuration.


The bizarre thing is that in log files there is nothing that suggests something is wrong. I don't know where to start. I am not experienced user.
I have tried "Fedora KDE Plasma Desktop" Live CD, and everything is working fine. But that distribution have another kernel, another version of nouveau. I don't know how can I copy their configuration?
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-25 20:02

pythagorasmk wrote:I have tried "Fedora KDE Plasma Desktop" Live CD, and everything is working fine
Good point.
Then first investigate which packages are installed among acpi upower uswsusp pm-utils, and remove those which are not necessary in your current system.
Investigate Fedora configuration files related to power/suspend, kernel boot option etc etc.... and which Fedora kernel version ?
It can take some time, but you at least know that suspend can correctly behave with your hardware which is a key information
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 20:54

L_V wrote:Investigate Fedora configuration files related to power/suspend, kernel boot option etc etc.... and which Fedora kernel version ?
It can take some time, but you at least know that suspend can correctly behave with your hardware which is a key information

Please be nice and tell me which configuration files do I need to look at. I am not experienced user.
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-25 21:03

There are so many files related to power/suspend.
Start by this "Then first investigate which packages are installed in Fedora among acpi upower uswsusp pm-utils"
and check which kernel Fedora is using
Code: Select all
uname -r
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 21:24

L_V wrote:There are so many files related to power/suspend.
Start by this "Then first investigate which packages are installed in Fedora among acpi upower uswsusp pm-utils"
and check which kernel Fedora is using
Code: Select all
uname -r

Only upower is installed.
uname -r returns
5.3.7-301.fc31.x86_64
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-25 21:32

L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 21:49


Firs I will try with Debian testing Live CD. After that I will read the article.
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby L_V » 2019-11-25 21:50

Yes but .... don't forget the firmwares......

..... + as far as I know, you will not find any testing KDE liveCD.
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Postby pythagorasmk » 2019-11-25 22:21

The problem was the firmware file "nvidia/gv100/acr/ucode_unload.bin". I have installed "firmware-misc-nonfree" and "firmware-linux" and now everything is working fine.
Next step is to configure KDE to go in sleep mode after 15-20 min.
pythagorasmk
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40

PreviousNext

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable