Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Cannot do an nfs mount using a new release

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
jjanderson5
Posts: 19
Joined: 2014-09-10 01:58

Cannot do an nfs mount using a new release

#1 Post by jjanderson5 »

Hi,

I'm running the Bunsenlabs distribution, Helium release and my PC, named 'campy'. When I run:

Code: Select all

uname -a
I get

Code: Select all

Linux campy 4.9.0-9-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.168-1+deb9u3 (2019-06-16) x86_64 GNU/Linux
I am unable to mount a file system from my internal network on 'campy'. When I run:

Code: Select all

mount -t nfs snider:/mnt/jjaLibrary /mnt/jjaLibrary
I get the message:

Code: Select all

mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting snider:/mnt/jjaLibrary
I then ran mount with verbose option and get the following:

Code: Select all

mount.nfs: timeout set for Sat Nov 30 10:50:51 2019
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4.2,addr=192.168.0.250,clientaddr=192.168.0.24'
mount.nfs: mount(2): Permission denied
mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting snider:/mnt/jjaLibrary
The client address is not correct. On 'campy', I have assigned a static address of 192.168.0.229.
My server is looking for this address, not 192.168.0.24. So it makes sense that access is denied.

My next step was to run:

Code: Select all

ip addr
with the following results:

Code: Select all

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 5c:26:0a:4b:82:3d brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.0.24/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global dynamic eno1
       valid_lft 85621sec preferred_lft 85621sec
    inet 192.168.0.229/32 brd 192.168.0.229 scope global eno1
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::e2e7:3eb7:8ac5:5dd5/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: wlp2s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether e6:c2:9e:94:c0:07 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

For my ethernet port, I see 2 addresses shown, 192.168.0.24 and 192.168.0.229.

I looked at my /etc/network/interfaces.d/eth0 file and it has the following:

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.229
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.0.1

I am expecting the 192.168.0.229 address will be used by the system, not 192.168.0.24. The iface name used is 'eth0', but when I look at the results of 'ip addr' above, the name used is 'eno1'. I suspect this is part of my problem and I plan to do some research it this area.

As a side note, the Bunsenlabs Helium release is the first Bunsenlabs release that has used network manager and the /etc/network/... directory, at least the first that I am aware of, so I am on a learning curve on how to properly use network manager.

Can anyone help explain why 192.168.0.24 shows up and all? And more importantly, how can I delete this address and force the system to use the intended static ip address?

A minor secondary question is what does the '32' on the address 192.168.0.229/32 indicate?

Thanks for any help!!

Jim A

jjanderson5
Posts: 19
Joined: 2014-09-10 01:58

Re: Cannot do an nfs mount using a new release

#2 Post by jjanderson5 »

A bit more information about my problem.

The host is question is a dual boot PC, booting to either Windows 10 or Linux. I needed to boot the PC up in Windows and when I looked at the networking on Windows 10, it turns out the IP address is 192.168.0.24. So that explains part of the mystery regarding why the address shows up. But it does baffle me that the Windows IP address would show up when I boot the PC up in Linux.

Jim A.

Dai_trying
Posts: 1101
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Cannot do an nfs mount using a new release

#3 Post by Dai_trying »

jjanderson5 wrote:I'm running the Bunsenlabs distribution, Helium release ...
Have you tried bunsenlabs forum?

tynman
Posts: 132
Joined: 2016-05-03 19:48
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Cannot do an nfs mount using a new release

#4 Post by tynman »

The mount command you are using is

Code: Select all

mount -t nfs snider:/mnt/jjaLibrary /mnt/jjaLibrary
two questions

q1: From the client, can you ping the server successfully? I.e.,

Code: Select all

> ping snider
q2: have you tried this?:

Code: Select all

> mount -t nfs 192.168.0.229:/mnt/jjaLibrary /mnt/jjaLibrary

Post Reply