Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby GonzaloP » 2020-01-27 12:33

Hi,

I just installed bumblebee following the instructions in the debian page (running debian buster) and when I execute:

Code: Select all
optirun --debug glxgears -info -vv

Returns:
Code: Select all
[  286.718083] [DEBUG]Reading file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  286.718457] [DEBUG]optirun version 3.2.1 starting...
[  286.718466] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  286.718468] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  286.718471] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  286.718473] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH:
[  286.718476] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  286.718478] [DEBUG] Accel/display bridge: auto
[  286.718480] [DEBUG] VGL Compression: proxy
[  286.718483] [DEBUG] VGLrun extra options:
[  286.718485] [DEBUG] Primus LD Path: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/primus:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/primus:/usr/lib/primus:/usr/lib32/primus
[  286.725965] [DEBUG]Using auto-detected bridge primus
[  299.402115] [INFO]Response: No - error: [XORG] (EE) NOUVEAU(0): Failed to initialise context object: 2D_NVC0 (0)

[  299.402131] [ERROR]Cannot access secondary GPU - error: [XORG] (EE) NOUVEAU(0): Failed to initialise context object: 2D_NVC0 (0)

[  299.402134] [DEBUG]Socket closed.
[  299.402148] [ERROR]Aborting because fallback start is disabled.
[  299.402151] [DEBUG]Killing all remaining processes.


I uncommented the DBus line in bumblebee.conf yet the error persists.
Also, when I run lsmod | grep nvidia no record is found, I am not sure if that could be related to this issue.

Any suggestions on what to try?

Thanks
GonzaloP
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-01-27 13:03

Looks like you're still using nouveau and the lsmod output suggests that the NVIDIA module wasn't built.

Did the build process complete successfully when you installed the drivers or did it fail? Or did you pay no attention to the output and proceed blithely onward? I'm guessing the latter :)

This will set up the build environment for you:
Code: Select all
# apt install module-assistant
# m-a prepare

And I think this will attempt to rebuild the NVIDIA module:
Code: Select all
# dpkg-reconfigure nvidia-driver # or whichever package you tried to install

Once it has finished run this command in the same terminal before doing anything else:
Code: Select all
echo $?

If the output is anything other than "0" (zero) then the build failed and you should probably post the entire output from the build here for somebody[1] to have a look at.

[1] Not me, I'm not even supposed to be helping non-free loving heathens like you. You didn't see me, right? *Winks and taps nose*
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11204
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby GonzaloP » 2020-01-27 17:09

Thank you very much Head_on_a_Stick, I will keep you out of the records ;)

I followed the instructions and when I do echo $? I get 0, yet, when I try to run glxgears with optirun I keep getting the same error.

Ideas?

Thanks
GonzaloP
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby stevepusser » 2020-01-27 21:47

Are you using the driver that nvidia-detect said was right for your hardware when you ran it?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kodi 18.5, Blender 2.8.2, 5.5 kernels, Openshot 2.5.0, Telegram-desktop 1.9.14, LibreOffice 6.4.1~rc1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11458
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby GonzaloP » 2020-01-28 00:00

I installed it by following the guide in https://wiki.debian.org/Bumblebee, and basically by running:

Code: Select all
apt-get install bumblebee primus


The installation finished without any error, and I don't have nvidia-detect installed.

Suggestions?

Thanks
GonzaloP
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-01-28 18:21

GonzaloP wrote:I installed it by following the guide in https://wiki.debian.org/Bumblebee, and basically by running:

Code: Select all
apt-get install bumblebee primus

Oh, my apologies, you're trying to use Bumblebee with nouveau. I presumed you wanted to use the proprietary drivers.

Is your user in the bumblebee group?
Code: Select all
groups

That's in guide so go back and read it properly this time.

If that doesn't fix things try installing the firmware:
Code: Select all
# apt install firmware-misc-nonfree
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11204
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby GonzaloP » 2020-01-29 00:21

My user is in bumbleebee and firmware installed, yet keep getting the error.... I would prefer to not use the nvidia repository, but I can't make it work with the free ones.
GonzaloP
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Postby stevepusser » 2020-01-29 02:26

Can you install inxi and give us the output of

Code: Select all
inxi -Gxx


so we can see exactly what hardware you do have? And telling us the model of your laptop sure would help too.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kodi 18.5, Blender 2.8.2, 5.5 kernels, Openshot 2.5.0, Telegram-desktop 1.9.14, LibreOffice 6.4.1~rc1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11458
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable